Product Reviews

Vigna, Corkscrew Vine

Take a trip to the tropics and find these vines clustered with the exotic, fragrant, oddly coiled 12" corkscrew flowers in purple, cream and yellow. Picturesque cut flowers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Customer Reviews for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Review 1 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JustJoan
From:Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed On:September 25, 2010
Submitted By:JustJoan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the wait
Reviewed On:September 25, 2010
"Started my 5 seeds indoors in Feb. Just one sprouted and grew. I now know that the seeds need to be nicked and soaked overnight in the hottest tap water you have, then planted in a seed starter mix & given bottom heat for more successful germination! Anyway, I planted my one success on a tall tiered shepards hook and kept watching all summer. Thought this plant was a dud until finally in Aug it started bud. Didn't bloom until the beginning of September but wow. It's like having wisteria in September only better ... a real conversation piece!"
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MarkVk
From:Roanoke, VA, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 1, 2014
Submitted By:MarkVk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnificent vine and flower!
Reviewed On:June 1, 2014
"A friend purchased the seeds from Burpee and asked me to grow them this spring. He knew I had grown these for years in Hawaii and thought maybe I would have better luck. All five seeds germinated fast, put pots on radiator in living room, they need bottom heat to germinate and now they are 2 feet outside. These vines love sun and heat and may not grow fast until the hot summer heat arrives so have patience and you will be rewarded. I was surprised to see they were being offered here and glad they are. Can be grow indoors if you have a sunny spot. Give it a try, well worth it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:jogarden16
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:May 10, 2014
Submitted By:jogarden16
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Corkscrew Vine
Reviewed On:May 10, 2014
"I first saw these at the National Cathedral in the Bishop's garden and have attempted to grow them here in SW Ohio. Planted 12 seeds with no germination results. SO disappointing! These were to be the centerpiece of my sun garden.
Last year and this year, I've purchased 6 packets (shared some with friends). Not one told me theirs did nothing,
Followed directions carefully--no results. Falling in love with this vine and being disappointed is so frustrating and dashes my hopes for that compelling centerpiece.
Chose a 2-star rating because I love the plant so much but don't want people to stop trying to grow it!
I think these two year seed purchases should qualify for a refund.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:LeahDVM
From:Detroit area, MI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:February 9, 2013
Submitted By:LeahDVM
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no germination
Reviewed On:February 9, 2013
"Bought these seeds, scratched and soaked them, no germination. Considering trying the plants..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CrazyColleen
From:Quartz Hill, CA, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:September 17, 2014
Submitted By:CrazyColleen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! What a Great Flowering Vine.
Reviewed On:September 17, 2014
"I live in the high desert, and not many plants can survive the extreme harsh weather here. It comes with three plants and was hoping that one of them would survive. One was put in the full sun and two under trees in part sun. To my surprise, all three of them are growing so well, that I am considering on purchasing an arbor for them to grow on each summer.
It is a vigorous growing vine with unique flowers that have a wonderful sweet scent similar to pikake. They are a conversation piece in my garden.
I will definitely purchase this each year."
Review 6 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Bootsie
From:Keyport, NJ, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 31, 2014
Submitted By:Bootsie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful flowers
Reviewed On:August 31, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I ordered three plants in July. The flowers are really popping now at the end of August. The flowers are beautiful and have a tropical look. Will order them again next year."
Review 7 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:LSLG
From:Cincinnati, OH
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:June 7, 2014
Submitted By:LSLG
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
re: disappointed
Reviewed On:June 7, 2014
"I too had no germination of all seeds. I called Burpee and they were replaced. Again, I was disappointed as I had no germination with the replacements.
I grew these last year with all seeds germinating with good results. I have used all the tricks as mentioned in the
comments sections too.
"
Review 8 for Vigna, Corkscrew Vine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:sandynesbit
From:Kathleen GA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
Submitted By:sandynesbit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this flower like the "sea shell" it resembles
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
"I love this plant and I enjoy Burpee Products. This time however, only 2 seeds grew and I am disappointed. I'm moving back to Charleston SC and I would like this to go with me since I started this plant collection at the beach."