Product Reviews

Stevia, Sweet Leaf

Leaves are 30 times sweeter than sugar. Single plant yields up to a ½ lb. of dried leaf. All parts of the plant are sweet, but pick the herb's short-stemmed leaves for fresh use. Leaves can be sun-dried, powdered and stored in an airtight container for future use. Burpee Exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Review 1 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:digison
From:Maricopa, AZ, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:November 5, 2014
Submitted By:digison
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Germination rate not so great...
Reviewed On:November 5, 2014
"I planted 5 seeds per starting container, only 2 seeds germinated. I would recommend they include a lot more seeds for the price, with a germination rate this low and unreliable. The plants are still less then an inch high, so I don't know how they'll do yet. I grow bananas, a mango I started from seed, a papaya tree, ginger, and tumeric, so I know a little about growing tropicals. I was hoping to plant these among the rose bushes in the spring."
Review 2 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Kim1983
From:Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
Reviewed On:October 22, 2014
Submitted By:Kim1983
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not germinate
Reviewed On:October 22, 2014
"We have a lot of sun and warmth here. I poured them on the soil (enoying little seeds!) and watered them frequently. But after 3 weeks still no germination.
I am sad about this. Because I live on an island in the Caribbean, I cannot order the Stevia plants, so I have to do it myself.
"
Review 3 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Homesteader
From:Virginia, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:October 10, 2014
Submitted By:Homesteader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keep in mind...
Reviewed On:October 10, 2014
"The plants are sub-tropical, and will likely require a heating pad, or some other kind of bottom heat, to germinate. It would probably be best to grow your stevia in a greenhouse if you live in Zones 5-7 that you keep well humidified."
Review 4 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:MimiFL
From:Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:August 3, 2013
Submitted By:MimiFL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware, Waste of Money/Time
Reviewed On:August 3, 2013
"0% germination. Followed instructions to the letter and waited and waited, and waited. No luck. I would stay away from seeds."
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Burpee:By Burpee ExpertCustomer ServiceAugust 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Stevia seed is a bit of a challenge to grow from seed. The seed should be lightly pressed into the growing medium but Not covered with it. The stevia seed needs light to germinate; if covered, it would not get the required amount of light needed for germination.

Place containers in a south facing window or under grow lights until seedlings emerge. Seedlings usually emerge in 7-14 days.

The soil should be kept moist, but not wet. If the soil is too wet or dry, the seed may not germinate.

Please contact customer service to provide us with the lot number that is printed on the back of the seed packet. We will forward the information to our research and quality control teams to investigate the germination issue.
Review 5 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Misha
From:Montgomery, AL
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:Misha
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stevia seeds
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"I bought stevia seeds only a couple of weeks ago. Waiting for them to sprout as we speak. Delivered in a timely manner is all I can say at this time. I am looking forward to my stevia leaves."
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Lori16
From:Houston, TX, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:Lori16
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stevia
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"I started the seeds in my Aerogarden indoor garden. Three of seven pods germinated. The three plants I have are thriving and I have already used some fresh and dried and ground the leaves. When the plants get too large for the Aerogarden I'll transplant them outdoors. Very satisfiedl"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:robbie
From:Keithville La.
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:robbie
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"pretty cut a dry. didn't get one seed up. i even took some to my dad whom has green thumb he also wasn't able to get them up either. we were hoping for these, because dads a diabetic an this looked like a good choice for him. can't say i'll be purchasing these again."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:katland
From:northern NJ
Reviewed On:August 9, 2011
Submitted By:katland
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
low germination rate
Reviewed On:August 9, 2011
"I started a half-dozen plants. Only 2 survived to transplant, neither one did well."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:wdw3264
From:Maryland
Reviewed On:June 29, 2011
Submitted By:wdw3264
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not too happy
Reviewed On:June 29, 2011
"I ordered a packet of seed, it said 3 mg which came out to be 8 seeds (not 15) and out of those 8 seeds I finally did get 1 to take off. Thank God it is sweet (not too sweet, not 30 times sweeter than sugar) I've read on several sites its an iffy thing starting them from seeds, that you should start them from an established plant, that most of the time from seeds the plant won't be sweet (mine is)."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:soilangel
From:Douglasville, Ga
Reviewed On:April 8, 2011
Submitted By:soilangel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Home Sweet Leaf
Reviewed On:April 8, 2011
"I bought the actual plant last year and it was a very easy plant to take care of. It just basked in the sun in my little garden and it grew and grew and grew. I had to watch it because it grew at least 3 feet tall and I had to cut it down to avoid a bitter taste in some of the older leaves. However, this plant was great! I had no problems whatsoever. I watered when it was hot and I treated the soil with the regular nutrients before I planted (organic soil, cow manure and peat moss) All in all, I had a ball with this plant. Every kid that entered my garden got a taste of natural sugar and they were all amazed. I even got use to picking a leaf and chewing it and I can say that i felt as though it gave me a pick-me-up after strenuous gardening. Thanks again Burpee. I am a satisfied customer with all of your products!"
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Reba
From:Tacoma, WA
Reviewed On:November 25, 2010
Submitted By:Reba
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm satisfied!
Reviewed On:November 25, 2010
"I know past reviewers have mentioned difficulty starting the Stevia plants from seed, so I was a bit nervous, but I decided I'd experiment and see what happened. I ordered a packet of the seeds from this website. I planted a few seeds in pots (filled with moisture control potting soil) and set them outside, and I started others indoors in peat pellets, germinating them in a small plastic greenhouse under shop lights and watering them with warm water. Although I must confess that the ones I started indoors grew most quickly, almost all the seeds I planted (indoors and out) germinated. Not bad for a newbie gardener!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:jets500
From:Long Island, NY
Reviewed On:September 28, 2010
Submitted By:jets500
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stevia Grows Strong
Reviewed On:September 28, 2010
"Stevia is tough to start from seed. You will probably be best off buying two packets. I was only able to get one of the seeds to grow, but I've had fresh stevia for over 3 years and i've given away plenty of plants. All the plant needs is a sunny spot and it will thrive. Once its established pick leaves at your leisure. Once the plant is established to propagate another simply bend over one of the stems and bury its midsection in moist fertile soil. The plant will send out new roots and after a few weeks it can be cut so you have two plants. Also you can cut the plant down at the end of summer and bring it inside to a sunny window. It will grow scraggly but can survive to the following spring in which case you cut it down again and add some compost just in time for the summer temperatures. I've grown it like this for two seasons successfully."
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Doctor
From:Brooklyn, NY
Reviewed On:June 15, 2010
Submitted By:Doctor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growing wonderfully!
Reviewed On:June 15, 2010
"By the end of February I planted 6 seeds. They all sprouted. I gave all the plants away to friends and family, except one, which I kept. The plant is growing by leaps and bounds - the leaves are extremely sweet. I will definitely purchase this item again!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Gardenbug
From:coastal New Hampshire
Reviewed On:January 27, 2009
Submitted By:Gardenbug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stevia
Reviewed On:January 27, 2009
"I have grown this herb before and found it to be a bit tough to get started but worth it. Very sweet, just a piece of the leaf is all you need in tea or coffee. My plant did not get as big as previously reported but it could be my northern location. I would like to know more on saving the leaf for winter use if anyone has done this."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:CookD
From:Atlantic City, NJ
Reviewed On:November 3, 2008
Submitted By:CookD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tough to start
Reviewed On:November 3, 2008
"15 seeds to a packet--only 2 plants to show for them. I wanted to grow Stevia to use as an all-natural sugar replacement. The two plants I have produced nicely. I'm bringing one in for the winter. I hope it survives so I don't have to start more from seed next year."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:ChristyACB
From:Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed On:July 15, 2008
Submitted By:ChristyACB
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seeds Don't Start Well but the Plant is Amazing
Reviewed On:July 15, 2008
"I purchased the seed packet this year rather than plants even though I had heard they were difficult to start. Using the appropriate heat and medium, these seeds were still not at all easy to get going. Out of the 15 seeds in the packet, only 2 started well enough to become plants later, while only 4 germinated at all.
While only 2 became plants, they are fantastic specimens. Very sweet and easy to dry and powder, just 2 plants can be judiciously pruned to provide a great deal of usable leaf.
To get just a couple of plants to spread, simply allow a stem to bend and touch ground and then wait for it to root. Eventually, a good many will! This plant is easy to encourage to bush out as well, increasing harvest.
While I was very disappointed with the germination rate, I was very pleased with the plant! It is probably still more cost effective to buy already sprouted seedlings and encourage spread than buy the rather expensive seeds."
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:mytfine
From:Mount Pleasant,Texas
Reviewed On:April 18, 2008
Submitted By:mytfine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stevia
Reviewed On:April 18, 2008
"I was given stevia over 15 yrs ago. Wonderful flalvor. Lost the main one. There great in hanging baskets. Keep in my greenhouse and plant all year.
With the tiny seeds I collect them and plant.
The flavor in tea is also great. Even chewing the leaves is good too. Not sure if they will raise your sugar level. With the runners that hang down, the root also.
"
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:tabbieh
Reviewed On:April 2, 2007
Submitted By:tabbieh
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stevia...
Reviewed On:April 2, 2007
"I used to work in a plant nursery and I used to love to go around trying the different herbs. Stevia is one that I made sure people tried. It is very sweet and has a lot of flavor. I liked chewing on the leaves till the flavor dissappeared. Everyone who tried Stevia, bought Stevia."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:CimarronCutie
From:Boise City, Oklahoma
Reviewed On:October 26, 2006
Submitted By:CimarronCutie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lifesaver....
Reviewed On:October 26, 2006
"I found the herb a little hard to get going, but. Once you do you can cutting propagate it with a little patience! It makes a lovely bush, but don't tell the neighborhood what it really is... the leaves are very sweet, and make a great herb tea additive.
I had a whole low path border hedge of them, they were the only plant that liked our unseasonably hot hot summer (with 1-5 pm tree light shade and LOTS of water). I have one in my greenhouse, a gorgeous thing, and some starts on my windowledge for spring. Remember, as a houseplant they like warm, LOTS of sun, a pot that drains well, and you can trim them to keep them looking nice, and use the trimmings for tea and cooking.
Stevia is a great replacement for sugar, but. It doesn't taste quite the same, it takes experimentation... next year I am going to have even more hedge."
31 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stevia, Sweet Leaf
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jessie
From:East Central Ohio
Reviewed On:August 18, 2006
Submitted By:Jessie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grows well in Ohio
Reviewed On:August 18, 2006
"I planted this on the side of my herb garden this year. It grew from a three inch pot sized seedling into a plant taller than my irises and fuller than my sage. I really like to use this herb in place of sugar in my tea (hot and cold) and in some of my cooking. It tastes a bit different than sugar, but is very sweet. My kids have been caught picking leaves and chewing them with some mint. I did read that you need to bring it inside for winter in my area...and I am not quite sure where it will fit now."
22 of 22 found this review helpful.