Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom

These enormous watermelons are oblong with light green stripes and are ready to harvest just 100 days after sowing. GARDEN HINTS: For early fruiting and to overcome a short growing season, start seeds in a warm, well-lighted indoor area 3 to 4 weeks before last spring frost. Before transfer to garden, accustom plants to outdoor conditions by moving to a sheltered area outside for a week. Grow on plastic mulch to control weeds, conserve soil moisture and protect fruit by keeping it off the ground.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Review 1 for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:GreenthumbRob
From:North Carolina
Reviewed On:August 11, 2011
Submitted By:GreenthumbRob
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Attack of the Mellon
Reviewed On:August 11, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I planted 4 seeds and 4 sprouted and have 4 plants. July 26 my first mellon appeared on a vine *' from the root. It is now over 12 " as of August 11. They have reached across my corn patch and into my cantelope patch. They did ok on 1 gal per day drip irrigation but now I am adding water with the garden hose for extended periods of time. They are growing in a deep mlch of woodchips with a gallon sized hole base of compostred worm and horse manure mixed with sand and miracle grow. 4 stars for growing so fast but cannot give 5 until I taste it!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:dzin
From:North Carolina
Reviewed On:August 1, 2011
Submitted By:dzin
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HELP!!!
Reviewed On:August 1, 2011
"I am growing Carolina cross watermelons. This is my first time ever growing watermelons. I have had 3 get to the size of a soft ball and split on me. I had one that was about 5-6 " long and about as fat as a little kids arm and got really soft so I picked it off thinking it was rotting. Now I have one the size of a soccer ball a little odd shaped not longated and part of it got real soft and seemed to stop growing so I picked it. Of course it is not ripe. Anyone have any tips on the growing process I would greatly appreciate it. I just want at least one good sweet melon I can eat."
Review 3 for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:stevep
From:northeast ohio
Reviewed On:May 25, 2010
Submitted By:stevep
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice size with little care
Reviewed On:May 25, 2010
"i got 47, 28, 78 pound melons with no fertilizer or waterings. im trying for a 100 pounder this year with 10 10 10 fertilizer and regular waterings."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:ThunderBunny
From:Middle of Texas
Reviewed On:April 28, 2008
Submitted By:ThunderBunny
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Any helpful hints?
Reviewed On:April 28, 2008
"My Carolina Cross seeds are finally starting to sprout. I planted them during the first week of April. If I can get them growing, does anyone have any tips on getting some big ones? I want to miracle grow, but don't know how big plants need to be...thank you!"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MasterGardens
Reviewed On:May 22, 2007
Submitted By:MasterGardens
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun to grow
Reviewed On:May 22, 2007
"These Watermelons are very fun to grow. I grew one to 50 pounds recently with a bad year and little care. With a good year and more care I could have easily gotten a 100 pounder. I have grown giant pumpkins for over 10 years and have found they require almost identical growing conditions as giant watermelons do. So if you provide good fertile soil, weekly fertilizer of miracle grow 20-20-20, or 10-10-10, and shade the melons once they reach about six inches long. You should be able to grow a giant! I will deffinitly be growing these melons again this year."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Watermelon, Carolina Cross #183 Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Former farmboy gardener
From:Lennox, SD
Reviewed On:May 5, 2006
Submitted By:Former farmboy gardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Giant Watermelons
Reviewed On:May 5, 2006
"This will be my 3rd year planting the Carolina Cross #183. The first year I grew an 83 pounder and last year a 69 and a 101 pounder. This far north I was concerned about the length of season but the melons mature in plenty of time. Leaving one melon per vine, much water, and horse/mule manure seem to work well. I could not find the seed locally this year so ended up on this web site. Will report this years success in a few months..."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.