Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod

HEIRLOOM. This Burpee bred bean is entirely stringless; it's brittle, meaty, juicy and has exceptional flavor. Plant yields are early and extremely high; pods are round, about 6" long and slightly curved. Plants are entirely self supporting. A 2 oz. seed pack will plant a 20 ft. row. Our seed is not treated.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Review 1 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:AuntKitty
From:Sarasota, FL, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 13, 2012
Submitted By:AuntKitty
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yummy Beans!
Reviewed On:May 13, 2012
"This is my first time gardening and this was my first plant. 100% germination, rapid growth and super tasting beans. I couldn't get over the great "bean" flavor. You can't get that flavor from a grocery store- it was just amazing! My husband was also impressed, green beans are his favorite veggie. So far, disease-free and with all the blossoms on the plants, I'm sure the harvesting will continue for awhile. We've had an exceptionally hot spring here and the plants seem happy, so far.
To the review asking about containers: I have them planted in a raised bed, so I'm sure they would work in a container if it is big enough. Also, check out Burpee Backyard. It's a forum where you can ask your gardening questions."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:grrrl56
From:Binghamton New York, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
Submitted By:grrrl56
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
question about container
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
"I purchased a packet of these seeds and the packet has a picture of a pot and a check mark in it. Does that mean these can be grown in containers? and if so, how big /deep should the container be?
i'm a very new gardener (this is my first time trying from seeds!)
i started the seeds in a burpee seed tray and they TOOK OFF they are all about 6 inches tall already! its still pretty chilly here and i'm not ready to put them in the ground. I would like to grow them in containers if possible.
IS this possible? what size containers?
thanks!
"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Hypnochyck
From:Bay Area, California
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:February 4, 2012
Submitted By:Hypnochyck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bean!!
Reviewed On:February 4, 2012
"Out of about 50 beans planted, only three sprouted, but it could have been our resident squirrel who dug them up, not sure. What plants did sprout, produced lots of delicious, huge beans! Would defiitely buy again!"
Review 4 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Sendai
From:Marietta, GA
Reviewed On:July 14, 2009
Submitted By:Sendai
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long lasting and prolific
Reviewed On:July 14, 2009
"I planted these shortly after the last frost date. About 85% germination. Nice bushy plants. These beans have been producing stringless beans since May. This is mid July and they are still blooming. We have had high 80's to mid 90 degree days during June and the plants kept on going. Around mid August, if these plants will ever die out, I plan to plant the second crop. The beans are excellent tasting."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:Bremen, GA
Reviewed On:January 5, 2009
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not as productive as some, but great taste
Reviewed On:January 5, 2009
"I live in Bremen, GA, which is NE GA. I think the summer may have been too hot for this bean. They germinated well, produced fairly well, but I only canned 23 quarts and ate fresh twice (total probably 25 quarts) out of 40 row feet. Only had 2 big harvests, then the plants were done. But the flavor was exceptional, and has held up well after canning, so I would recommend this bean to anyone north of GA, or in the mountains, as long as your summer doesn't get too hot for too long."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Schlippe
From:NE Ohio
Reviewed On:August 1, 2008
Submitted By:Schlippe
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Good Choice for the Beginning Gardener
Reviewed On:August 1, 2008
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Incredibly easy to grow, very tasty, extremely high yielding bush bean. The color is white to medium green. Seedlings emerge in only 4-5 days. Only problems are that Japanese beetles LOVE to eat their leaves and it's not very tolerant to summer heat. Would not recommend to anyone south of the Mason-Dixon line."
Review 7 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:ChristyACB
From:Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed On:July 17, 2008
Submitted By:ChristyACB
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tasty and Easy...I love 'em!
Reviewed On:July 17, 2008
"Everyone always said to grow bush beans because they are easy, fun and fast but until this year I never had since prices for them remained low in the stores. This year I took the plunge and planted 6 different varieties, this one being my primary crop plant.
This bean germinates like a champ and grows exceptionally well with little work by me. Since I use Square Foot Gardening, my beans are planted 9 to a square foot and I did notice a little cramping after the second round of harvesting as the plants took on more size, but even then, they produced well.
My bean size wasn't as large as other reviewers indicate, probably because of the close spacing in SFG and I'll adjust that next year as a test.
The flavor is wonderful and more like a pole bean for that great green bean taste. Easy to harvest completely and keep the plant productive. These beans canned very well also."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JeanWK
From:Elkton, SD
Reviewed On:July 14, 2008
Submitted By:JeanWK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality beans
Reviewed On:July 14, 2008
"All of my beans came up this year, which is unusual. The plants have resisted the usual rust, mildew, etc. They are huge with tons of blossoms and beans. I've planted a second planting for the fall, but I don't know if I will need it! They taste great and are easy to clean and prepare."
Review 9 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Ernie
From:Baltimore, MD
Reviewed On:August 15, 2007
Submitted By:Ernie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Bean Ever
Reviewed On:August 15, 2007
"I have been growing several different beans for the last 7 years and none have tasted as good as these. These are the best tasting and very easy to grow. They germinated easily. These are the number one bean variety in taste!"
Review 10 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:diana
From:North, OH
Reviewed On:November 14, 2006
Submitted By:diana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed On:November 14, 2006
"clean pick the vines at least every other week and they'll keep producing all summer into the first frost. I'm in North Ohio and I got 6 large pickings off mine with a couple of smaller ones (when it was dry, etc.)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Rita
From:Staten Island
Reviewed On:August 28, 2006
Submitted By:Rita
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy and productive
Reviewed On:August 28, 2006
"I am very happy with the performance of the stringbean plants. I just put the seeds in soil and within a few days, they sprouted leaves and within two months, I got stringbeans. Very sweet and tasty. Very little work for a lot of yield."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:Fiddletown, CA
Reviewed On:August 17, 2006
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delicious!!!
Reviewed On:August 17, 2006
"I have been trying different varieties of green beans and these are my taste test winner hands down! They are tender, without strings, with a sweet melting flavor. Not a speck of mildew, and no rust. They even held up to an occasional goat stomping!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:kywebfoot
From:Marysville, IN
Reviewed On:July 20, 2006
Submitted By:kywebfoot
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Old time bean flavor
Reviewed On:July 20, 2006
"Always a stable in my garden. One of the few beans left with that old bean flavor. Not as big of a yielder as some other varieties but if its quality you are looking for this is your bean."
Review 14 for Bean, Burpees Stringless Green Pod
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Wanda
From:Middletown, CT
Reviewed On:June 22, 2006
Submitted By:Wanda
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yummi Stuff
Reviewed On:June 22, 2006
"Excellent for green bean lovers. My kids eat them raw, fresh picked off the plants. I have a hard time keeping enough to preserve them for the winter. They're that sweet!"