Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bean, Eureka

Our favorite in Fordhook Farm's test gardens, these full, straight, 5-6" bright yellow beans are exceptionally tasty and appear in abundance atop tidy 12-15" plants. You'll love them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bean, Eureka
Review 1 for Bean, Eureka
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:squeaky
From:Tucson, AZ, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
Submitted By:squeaky
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wax Beans - Eureka
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
"This product did not do well in AZ, nothing came up."
Review 2 for Bean, Eureka
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:ClaireyBear
From:Rochester, NY
Reviewed On:August 31, 2011
Submitted By:ClaireyBear
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Productive and Tasty!!
Reviewed On:August 31, 2011
"I love these yellow beans! I gave them a 4-star rating only because I noticed that they seem to require a much warmer soil to germinate in than some other varities- so be sure you're waiting until a few weeks after LFD to plant. I always plant a few short rows of early bush beans, putting them in the ground a few days before average LFD in our area, and this year all of them germinated and grew except for these. However, the later main crop germinated very well, grew quickly, survived a drought, and are still producing (probably the 4th or 5th large picking off of these!)."
Review 3 for Bean, Eureka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Buddyski
From:Greenville SC
Reviewed On:March 22, 2011
Submitted By:Buddyski
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great producer
Reviewed On:March 22, 2011
"I got lots of yellow beans last year and these were easy to pick since they grow in clusters. Tasty bean!"
Review 4 for Bean, Eureka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:leifler
From:Southern Indiana
Reviewed On:August 24, 2008
Submitted By:leifler
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eureka Beans are abundant
Reviewed On:August 24, 2008
"This is the second year that I have planted Eureka Yellow Bush Beans. Both years they have produced a tremendous quantity of delicious beans. You can pick them by the handful. They are beautiful in the glass mason jars. I will always plant this variety of bean. I don't know how any other variety could be better!"
Review 5 for Bean, Eureka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:RitaPDX
From:Portland, OR
Reviewed On:August 3, 2009
Submitted By:RitaPDX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Easy
Reviewed On:August 3, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I love those beans. Got a burpee seed packet from a local store. I put 10 seeds in the garden, 8 sprouted out. So far have picked at leaast 1 lb and the season just started. Very tidy and healthy looking plants. Will definitely plant again next year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bean, Eureka
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:sddcgardenguy
From:Eastern South Dakota
Reviewed On:July 27, 2008
Submitted By:sddcgardenguy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huge Crops of Beautiful Beans
Reviewed On:July 27, 2008
"The "Eureka" beans are truly amazing! I planted these at a similar time to the "Greencrop" beans. They were a week slower to harvest, but since then wow! These guys keep putting on the beans! These two varieties have been truly awesome!
The overall height of the plant is a bit smaller than other beans plants and tend to be a bit top-heavy, however, this hasn't diminished the gigantic yield at all. As long as I pick, they keep producing. I have about 25' of these and have picked approx. 10 pounds. Definately more next year!
The beans seem to hold well once they reach their perfect picking length. The plants also seem to be rather resistant to disease.
Bring these back next year Burpee!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.