Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid

Generous crop of large side shoots, about 5" across, prolongs the harvest for weeks. Good for freezing. Proven a winner for productivity, flavor and wide adaptability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Review 1 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:LaGrange
From:La Grange, TX
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:November 6, 2014
Submitted By:LaGrange
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for our spring garden
Reviewed On:November 6, 2014
"We've grown Bonanza broccoli in the spring for several years, and it is a fantastic producer. Each plant produces a head between 8 and 10 inches across for us, and the flavor and tenderness is outstanding. Each plant also produces a round of secondary large heads, followed by side shoots for several weeks afterwards."
Review 2 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HJoy
From:Willamette Valley, Oregon
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
Submitted By:HJoy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Favorite Broccoli to Date
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
"Reliable 95-100% germination in a fantastic broccoli that tastes wonderful fresh and freezes beautifully. I have had success planting this for spring, summer and fall harvest. It didn't bolt on me even during the 100 + degree dog days of summer. This is definitely my favorite variety so far and will be planted instead of or with any other varieties I may try in the future."
Review 3 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:joeri
From:Limestone, TN 37681, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 19, 2013
Submitted By:joeri
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Broccoli!
Reviewed On:July 19, 2013
"I will try other varieties, but in combination with this one! :-)
In a nutshell:
- 100% Germination
- Easy to grow
- Lot of yield (first the big head, later all the side sprouts)
- Excellent taste (though the smell is quite ... intense) :-)
Will be growing more of them this fall and see how that goes :-D"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:coast302
From:southern oregon coast
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:February 21, 2013
Submitted By:coast302
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful seedlings
Reviewed On:February 21, 2013
"I just planted the seedlings that I started inside in January. Extremely strong and large with large root system. If these don't do the trick, I quit trying the broccoli thing. (yeah, sure, ha ha)"
Review 5 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:VegMan
From:Near Houston
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:February 9, 2013
Submitted By:VegMan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boron lovin' broccoli
Reviewed On:February 9, 2013
"I can't wait for another harvest....I just replanted! Whoop Whoop!"
Review 6 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CentralIndyGardener
From:Central Indiana
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:January 27, 2013
Submitted By:CentralIndyGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Broccoli
Reviewed On:January 27, 2013
"Grew very well even with the 100F temps we got last summer. Produced lots of large heads and many side shoots. Definitely planting again this year. I started indoors in March then transplanted."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CromwellGardener
From:Cromwell, CT, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
Submitted By:CromwellGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great germination
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
"Seeds sprout in 10-21 days per the packet. Well we started to see them in 3! What's more. I planted 48 seeds -- 4 each in 12 compartments in a seed starting tray (a Burpee Eco-Friendly Seed Starter 36 Cell Greenhouse Kit, though I give 95% of the credit to the seeds). This was about half the packet -- may try a second crop a bit later. They have been sitting on a counter, not very near a window, with only a regular household lightbulb in a drop light a couple feet over head which is on most of the day. Today, a week after planting, it was finally very warm and not too windy so they spent the day in real sunshine. Meanwhile, under those conditions, in a week's time I have 45 of the the 48 sprouted -- an outstanding percentage -- and most are over a good two inches high already. Meanwhile, a couple are just breaking through today, so in a few more days we might even have the full 48. Fantastic"
Review 8 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:mjragusa
From:Florida, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:mjragusa
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
only half of the seeds germinated
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"still awaiting the results of these seeds. Only half germinated, those that did are surviving but not what I expected out of a hybrid."
Review 9 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:ClaireyBear
From:Rochester, NY
Reviewed On:April 4, 2011
Submitted By:ClaireyBear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent thus far
Reviewed On:April 4, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I haven't yet harvested any heads from these broccoli plants, just planted in the ground yesterday, but as a seedling these have WAY outperformed any and every broccoli I've ever grown! The seeds germinated in 4 days with a 100% germination rate (I only planted 1 seed per cell). Amazing!! The stems are extremely strong and straight, not a bit of leggyness, or twisting. If they produce as well as the other reviewers have mentioned I will never ever buy another variety as long as I live!"
Review 10 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:mtngardengal
From:Bayfield, Colorado
Reviewed On:January 11, 2011
Submitted By:mtngardengal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stellar performer
Reviewed On:January 11, 2011
"I live in the mountains at 8100 feet, with a short growing season but with some weeks of temps in the 90's. This broccoli produces beautiful central heads ( probably 6-7 inches up here). It is the only variety that does not have serious problems with bolting when we get a sudden hot spell. The amount of smaller side heads was amazing. It produces and produces. The only variety my neighbors and I will ever try."
Review 11 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:justinemtp22
From:SE Massachusetts
Reviewed On:July 12, 2010
Submitted By:justinemtp22
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Broccoli
Reviewed On:July 12, 2010
"This Broccoli is a sure fire winner. Great big initial heads and then so many side shoots we had more broccoli then we knew what to do with."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Parco
From:Boise, ID
Reviewed On:March 30, 2010
Submitted By:Parco
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!
Reviewed On:March 30, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We love broccoli. Thus I have tried everyone available. Bonanza has exceeded every other variety in every way so far. It germinated quickly, grew fast with a STRAIGHT stem, most unusual in broccoli. I am telling everyone about this very special hybrid. From previous reviews I am sure it will produce with the great vigor it has shown so far."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:newhouston
From:Houston, TX
Reviewed On:January 2, 2010
Submitted By:newhouston
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unbelievable!
Reviewed On:January 2, 2010
"I have tried for years to grow broccoli here in the south with little luck. If lucky, I could get the main head before the plant would bolt, due to the heat. "Broccoli Bonanza" was a complete shock for me and was also going to be my last attempt to grow any broccoli. Not only did I get a main head from each plant, but the florets from each plant was a little overwhelming. This broccoli didn't start to bolt on me until the temperatures started hitting the upper 90s near mid-day. I planted where the plants would get afternoon shade, as usual."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:ToughGeek
From:Long Island
Reviewed On:December 5, 2008
Submitted By:ToughGeek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From June till Thanksgiving and beyond
Reviewed On:December 5, 2008
"Largest first heads from such an early variety. The side shoots just keep on coming. From the spring planting, still good size side shoots after Thanksgiving."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Broccoli, Bonanza Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Honeybeenc
From:Zone Seven, Charlotte, NC
Reviewed On:January 12, 2008
Submitted By:Honeybeenc
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Produces "forever"
Reviewed On:January 12, 2008
""Bonanza" is a great name for this broccoli because after we picked the enormous first heads, these beauties continued to put out side shoots all summer long. We cut the last shoots for our Christmas dinner plates! Have ordered more seeds for 2008."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.