Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid

Supersweet Hybrid (Sh2) corns can be twice as sweet as others and stay sweet for days if chilled promptly. For best taste, isolate from non-Sh kinds to stop cross-pollination. An All-America Selections winner, Early Xtra-Sweet is 2 weeks earlier than Illini Xtra Sweet. Its 9" ears have 12-16 rows of golden kernels. Height 6 ft. Ready to harvest in 71 days. GARDEN HINTS: Plant corn in blocks, at least four rows wide, for cross-pollination and well-filled ears. Grows best in full sun (at least 6 hours of direct sun per day). Cultivate carefully to avoid damaging surface roots.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid
Review 1 for Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jedediah
From:New York State
Reviewed On:October 7, 2008
Submitted By:Jedediah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described
Reviewed On:October 7, 2008
"This year the stalks were short but the ears were long...long and full. Very full. Lives up to the name, that's for sure. Great for anything, maybe even making shine."
Review 2 for Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:northwoods
From:Central Minnesota
Reviewed On:June 8, 2012
Submitted By:northwoods
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great germination rate!!
Reviewed On:June 8, 2012
"Planted Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid Corn exactly as you recommend ...I planted on June 1st. The germination rate on this corn is outstanding. It is up and looking wonderful!"
Review 3 for Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:BrewBelly
From:Central FL
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
Submitted By:BrewBelly
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Will try again...
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
"The squirrels demolished the plants, stems and all, right at flowering. They are gone to heaven now so I'll try again in the Fall."
Review 4 for Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:vic1911
From:Phoenix
Reviewed On:June 6, 2010
Submitted By:vic1911
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic flavor!!
Reviewed On:June 6, 2010
"For years I have enjoyed the flavor of the SU varieties (Early Sunglow), but, this one has them beat!! The flavor is a perfect balance of tradional corn and extra sweet! In my opinion, the taste is out of this world!! Productivity is average as each plant produces just one ear, although a few of my plants have produced two. Plant vigor is good, although I did have a problem early on with corn borers which was handled with an addequate application of pesticide. so far, the plants have handled the AZ heat quite well. The ears themselves are between 8-9" and loaded with kernals and have a good thick husk. So, if the SU varieties are too much like field corn for your taste, give this one a try!! Highly reccommended!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Corn, Early Xtra-Sweet Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
Reviewed On:April 8, 2006
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
early extra sweet corn
Reviewed On:April 8, 2006
"My husband and i have grown this corn for years. It is the best and sweetest we have found. We have tried several others but Burpee's brand is the best."
5 of 6 found this review helpful.