Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon

This pepper from the markets of Ecuador ripens to a pure lemon yellow in about 80 days, but it is delightfully flavorful when green. The skin is tender and the aroma is spicy, with a hint of pine woods. As hot as any cayenne but with a truly unique flavor. Best used fresh, but it's sensational in sauces too. The fruits are narrow, 3-4" long and distinctively wrinkled.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Review 1 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:andre2
From:Morris Co., NJ
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:November 11, 2013
Submitted By:andre2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this pepper!
Reviewed On:November 11, 2013
"Great flavor Disease and frost resistant"
Review 2 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:karla
From:Bloomington, IL, US
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 15, 2013
Submitted By:karla
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hot Lemon!
Reviewed On:October 15, 2013
"This is one very hot pepper. Great lemon taste."
Review 3 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:bpowell
From:Two Rivers, WI, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 15, 2013
Submitted By:bpowell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ornamental and hot
Reviewed On:September 15, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Grew these last year from a greenhouse plant and they did very well in a hanging basket. Grew a couple of these plants from seed this year and the peppers have recently reached their ripe yellow color. Great pepper for container gardening."
Review 4 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:GHZSD
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
Submitted By:GHZSD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hot and delicious
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
"We planted our peppers back in March indoors and after a month transferred them to 7 gallon pots on a sunny balcony. Although we have had to deal with Aphids, we have hundreds of delicious yellow peppers coming in and let me tell you we did Ghosts, Scorpions and Habs last year and these are hot like the Habaneros. I like the flavor better and we are doing these again next year."
Review 5 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:formulation
From:Birmingham Metro, AL
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:April 27, 2013
Submitted By:formulation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great producer with unique flavor
Reviewed On:April 27, 2013
"I am currently in my fifth year with the SAME plant. Very productive, bushy plant. I grow mine in a large container and it has a tendency to droop over the edge and below the soil level. I prune it back during the winter and as of April, this plant is 30" tall and covered in blossoms. This pepper is unique in flavor and the heat is good."
Review 6 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:memily
From:Milwaukee, WI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 22, 2012
Submitted By:memily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly Unique, Wonderful producer
Reviewed On:October 22, 2012
"I grew these from plants in 2012 - during the severe drought. They were tiny and seemingly pitiful at first, but grew to about 24" high with tons of flower buds. I watered them through the heat and drought, and while fruit production seemed to be delayed, I finally started getting actual ripe yellow peppers in mid/late August - they're still producing as of late Oct (no frost yet). From my 3 plants, I've probably gotten over 100 of these little peppers. I've used some fresh, some in salsa, and am currently fermenting some to make a tabasco style hot sauce. The flavor is so unique - very citrusy/piney as the description says - and definitely packs some punch. They aren't as versatile as other hot peppers would be for pure hot flavor, but as my first time growing hot peppers, I am definitely pleased!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:VegetableTinker
From:East-Central IL
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:June 30, 2012
Submitted By:VegetableTinker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Pepper ! !
Reviewed On:June 30, 2012
"I bought these as starter plants from Burpee about 5+ years ago and just now doing a review. The fact that these pepper stick out in my mind should tell you something :) These plants where a very heavy producer for me, I couldn't get rid of them fast enough! I At the end of the season I had so many I had to dried batches and batches of them. I think I had about three 1-qt. zip-top bag packed full of them.
Fruit: The peppers are a great color and have a nice aroma. They had a great flavor raw, cooked and dried. A nice addition to any Mexican, Indian and Asian dish and fresh salads.
Plant: I didn't have any disease issues, no real pest problem, not sure on drought resistance I didn't let it get that far.
An all around its a great addition to your garden."
Review 8 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:SalemCat
From:Salem, MA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 23, 2012
Submitted By:SalemCat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Pleasant Surprise
Reviewed On:February 23, 2012
"Late last Spring, I was laughing at them - they were pitiful !
For upwards of three months they grew no more than 1-1/2 inches tall, the absolute runts of the litter. Every other plant soared above these weaklings. More than once I was ready to toss them away. As it turned out, I'm glad I stayed my hand.
For as August approached something happened - these tiny sprouts began to thrive, and when they reached three feet tall small peppers appeared everywhere. By Halloween I had harvested dozens of delicious yellow peppers, and as I had grown fond of these little miracles I brought them in for the season.
I placed them in a window in a warehouse, cold, though not freezing, where they strained to capture as much sun as a New England Winter can provide. It is now mid-February, and they are looking quite well. They were never bare of leaves, and even in early January new growth had appeared.
The fresh leaves are now prospering, and I'm betting that when I place them back in my garden they'll be fresh peppers before July 4th !"
Review 9 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:donnyboy
From:Sioux Falls, SD
Reviewed On:September 13, 2011
Submitted By:donnyboy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great pepper
Reviewed On:September 13, 2011
"I grew this pepper in South Dakota in 2011. Started from seed and it turned out to be one of the best peppers that I grew this year. Unfortunately only a few turned yellow, but the green ones were great. The plants are robust with lots of fruits that are very good in salsa. I will grow these again next year, God willing."
Review 10 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:ChilliLover
From:NJ
Reviewed On:May 15, 2011
Submitted By:ChilliLover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent germination
Reviewed On:May 15, 2011
"As the title states i got pretty good germination out of mine. Out of 20 planted 16 have germinated and are currently beginning their 2nd set of true leaves.
The seeds looked a little extra dry and shriveled up compared to what i'm used to, and i did not expect that many to germinate.
Germination tip for this pepper: Keep seeds moist and at a steady 80-85f degrees. 70-75f may not be good enough to get a good germination rate out of this variety. Find a warm place in your home, perhaps above a furnace/water boiler, or near the ceiling in the hottest room of the house. Use a thermometer to verify, don't assume it'll be "warm enough" because you may end up with a bunch of moldy un-germinated seeds."
Review 11 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:zephyr
From:Washington DC
Reviewed On:February 12, 2011
Submitted By:zephyr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Personal favorite!
Reviewed On:February 12, 2011
"My husband is a hot pepper enthusiast and I am an avid gardener. Bottom line, we've experimented with a lot of peppers!
Last year (2010) we ordered several Hot Lemon Pepper plants from Burpee and gave them a try. End result: This is easily my new favorite pepper. We had them in 18-24" containers, which they seemed to love. Every plant was extremely prolific. At their peak production, I was picking several peppers every day. Despite using these all the time in curries and stir-frys, we finished the summer with a few hundred leftovers. But that was fine, because they dry well!
And the flavor -- well, the name says it all. If you like heat and you like a little citrus taste, you'll love these. I didn't find either the heat or the flavor to be overwhelming; they complimented each other really nicely. Very versatile. I'll grow these again and again."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:backyardgardener
From:Alabama
Reviewed On:August 22, 2010
Submitted By:backyardgardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pepper
Reviewed On:August 22, 2010
"First time grower, grew from seed. Grew in two locations: partial shade, full sun. Full sun definitely better yield. Great taste with a lot of heat. Will grow again. Attractive compact plant."
Review 13 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Mudhen15
From:Northern Virginia
Reviewed On:April 20, 2010
Submitted By:Mudhen15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Hot Lemon Taste
Reviewed On:April 20, 2010
"Great taste and prolific producer. Used one plant in garden in 2009 and was pleasantly surprised with the number of peppers -- supplied the whole neighborhood. Used raw and in homemade tomato soup. Froze the soup but wasnt smart enough to freeze the pepper from the garden nor preserve the plant in the house for the winter. Couldnt find either plant or seed in VA so far this year so ordered direct ship from Burpee -- hasnt arrived yet. This year, we will try freezing the peppers and at the end of the season, will try to bring the plants into the house (maybe only one due to size) and see if I can save it like my hybiscus plants. If you like gardening and hot peppers, this is the item to use."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:reprise8
From:Northern NJ
Reviewed On:March 13, 2010
Submitted By:reprise8
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Pepper Ever
Reviewed On:March 13, 2010
"I've grown them for 3 or 4 years now. My all time fav pepper. Great in omelets, chopped liver, on fish. Every pepper has the exact same level of heat. I bring the potted plants inside and prune the back - just over 50% survive the winter in a state of semi-dormancy. Gives a great head start the next season."
Review 15 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:Lisle Illinois
Reviewed On:May 26, 2009
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great producer
Reviewed On:May 26, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I grew this one last year in a 3 gallon pot, It grew tons and tons of peppers. At the end of the season I brought the planter inside and placed it in front of the sliding doors ( it still had fruit on it) I kept up my regular nutrient schedual and it flowered and produced all winter. I just recently brought it back outside and I can't give them away fast enough, I still have a freezer bag full from the winter harvest."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:buckiii1
From:San Antonio
Reviewed On:October 18, 2008
Submitted By:buckiii1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hot Lemom Pepper
Reviewed On:October 18, 2008
"I grew mine from seed. Germination was slow. Did not produce real well here in the hot Texas sun. Now that the sun is not so intense my plants are loaded. They are a good tasting hot pepper. I will continue to grow these."
Review 17 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:Nashville
Reviewed On:September 10, 2008
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prolific and vigorous plant
Reviewed On:September 10, 2008
"My husband loves hot peppers and so I'm always looking for new varieties to try. This season I found this plant and ordered three plants (NOT seeds). I am very very impressed with this plant, have recommended it to friends, and will be ordering it again next year. All three plants grew prolifically and are covered with LOTS of peppers which turn a beautiful yellow upon maturing. I am a wimp when it comes to hot peppers, so they are a bit too hot for me, but my husband and son think they're great. I've begun stringing the excess peppers for drying, but it's too early to tell if they will dry as nicely as habanero and some other peppers."
Review 18 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:psc2874
From:Grantsboro, NC
Reviewed On:January 26, 2008
Submitted By:psc2874
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pepper
Reviewed On:January 26, 2008
"Great and easy pepper to grow and very productive. I'm a beginner, so this guy was on it's own. I will say the heat index should be in the "oh my, I shouldn't have put that in my mouth" category. I used several of these peppers with several yellow sweet peppers and made the best yellow hot sauce. They are also great for canning and didn't lose color."
Review 19 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jefferson
Reviewed On:October 8, 2007
Submitted By:Jefferson
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our favorite--prolific and great flavor
Reviewed On:October 8, 2007
"Three plants have produced enough peppers for an entire year (and we cook a lot of spicy food). They seem to do well in the mid-Atlantic states. As has been pointed out, you can chose the heat level by watching the color. The flavor does have a mild citrus element to it. We freeze them in freezer bags (whole straight from the garden). We also freeze small containers with peppers chopped in the food processor (look out for the fumes!!). You can make a nice hoagie spread by chopping them and putting them into boiling vinegar. Our chile-loving friends line up for their share, too. These are not just hot--they have flavor. We bought these as plants from Burpee."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hot Pepper, Hot Lemon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:T-Rex
From:Alexandria, VA
Reviewed On:April 18, 2006
Submitted By:T-Rex
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What to do with this pepper?
Reviewed On:April 18, 2006
"I grew my first batch of hot lemon peppers last year from live stock. Plants were hardy, yield was high, flavor was tangy and hot. They took a while to mature to yellow and, in my judgement, they were beyond a "two chili" rating. These are thin skinned peppers, think of a large Thai pepper in yellow tasting of citrus overtones. I used a few for stir fry but most were ornamental. Didn't really get to use most of them (family doesn't share my taste for hot). Lots of peppers. Next time I'll pack some in vinegar brine and age for a hot sauce."
10 of 10 found this review helpful.