Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pepper, Hot, Zavory

An exciting breakthrough sure to become the conversation piece of your summer garden. Habanero peppers have a distinctive taste but are the very hottest chili peppers in the world—up to 300,000 units on the Scoville scale. This prevents many people from ever enjoying them—but not anymore. Zavory is the first ever habanero with a mild heat registering only 100 Scoville units! You can bite into one just like an apple and survive to tell the tale. The beautiful shiny, cardinal red fruits appear in large numbers in late summer on vigorous branching 30" plants.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
2 out of 2(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Review 1 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:TevaToes
From:Tampa, Florida
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:March 15, 2014
Submitted By:TevaToes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Extremely prolific!!
Reviewed On:March 15, 2014
"This plant was crazy prolific, and had a good flavor, but, the peppers themselves had a cartilage like membrane that was just too prevalent for my tastes. That said, I 'm giving this 3 stars, the flavor rocked, and it produced like mad,.. but I just couldn't eat them."
Review 2 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:crissycat
From:central Virginia
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:February 25, 2013
Submitted By:crissycat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great for pickling
Reviewed On:February 25, 2013
"These are amazing pickled. I grew them in 2010 and they were slow to germinate and slow to produce, but they did produce beginning in September. We had a record hot and dry fall. They did not produce as much as my other peppers. I did manage to pickle about three jars. I just opened one and WOW! They are stunning. They taste like habeneros, complex and smoky, but no heat. I'm using them on pizzas, in Mexican chicken soup, in salads, chili. (For heat I also use pickled jalepenos.) Zavory is so tasty and has a wonderful orange color even now.
Don't give up on these! Based on the flavor, I'm starting some this year for pickling.
PS - Gave it a 4 star instead of 5 only because of slow germination and slow start.
"
Review 3 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:mchappy
From:Savannah, TN 38372, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:January 25, 2013
Submitted By:mchappy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
soo many peppers
Reviewed On:January 25, 2013
"grew this for my son in law.he loves the peppers that are from the ilands.and are not hot.had great taste not hot at all..i like them a little more heat.we had three plant..got over 100 pepper per plant if not more i stoped picking tem at one point..very good peppers if you are looking for mild this is the one just have a plan to do some thing with them you will get a lot..this year i will dry them so i dont waste some many.."
Review 4 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:LeafLady
From:Western, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 20, 2012
Submitted By:LeafLady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific Little Producer!
Reviewed On:February 20, 2012
"I picked up six of Burpee's Hot Zavory Pepper plants from a local Home Depot in 2011. I must say they turned out to be a real treat. They are lovely to look at while growing, fabulous producers, can well, dry well, and seem to be disease resistant.
These little peppers are a sweet/spicy pepper. I wouldn't consider them to be hot in the least.
When dried, these peppers are an excellent additive to soups for Winter months. I picked and dried them while in 3 different stages: green, orange, and red. They add a nice pop of flavor and color to chicken dishes.
Don't let the word Habanero scare you away from this little delight. One tip...make sure you use a tomato cage to support the weight of each branch. Like most habanero peppers, they are prolific little producers."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:whalenmat
From:Toledo Ohio
Reviewed On:June 10, 2011
Submitted By:whalenmat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On Pepper
Reviewed On:June 10, 2011
"I wanted something new a pepper I haven't tried none popped up yet but getting very close to the prize, Wanted to thank you for some good plants have some of your Little Lettuce and some of your onions there my favorite kind of plants that take care of themselves and just want some water here and there easy to grow great company"
Review 6 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Missy
From:Reno, NV
Reviewed On:April 14, 2011
Submitted By:Missy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too long-season
Reviewed On:April 14, 2011
"We bought these as seed since plants can't ship to Nevada. Even with 8 weeks starting time in the house, these required too long of a season. About the most we can expect from a growing season here is 90 days. Luckily I had planted these in containers, and when it got cold I put them in our bay window, and they finally produced. The tiny peppers were very tasty, but we won't grow them again. I recommend them for someone with fertile soil and a LONG growing season!"
Review 7 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Goneferal
From:Boise, ID
Reviewed On:December 13, 2010
Submitted By:Goneferal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pepper
Reviewed On:December 13, 2010
"I started these from seed last spring and they were the slowest of all my seeds to germinate. It took about 15 days for most of the to germinate. They were the tiniest plants when it came time to transplant them outside. They eventually grew to about 2 feet in height, and width, and once they produced, they didn't stop. They had great flavor, I will definitely grow these again for 2010."
Review 8 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:NEbigkatz
From:Nebraska
Reviewed On:October 2, 2010
Submitted By:NEbigkatz
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet habanero
Reviewed On:October 2, 2010
"What a lovely plant this pepper has made! It's October and it just keeps on going! I love picking the masses of bright red fruits that hang from the gorgeous foliage, as it's so pretty it looks like a living Yule Tree. I was a bit surprised, however, when I made habanero jelly. It has a wonderful mellow flavor without the heat. I can share this condiment with all my friends, not just the ones that enjoy heat on their tongues! I can't wait to try some in enchiladas."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TheHappyGardener
From:Charlotte, NC
Reviewed On:October 1, 2010
Submitted By:TheHappyGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous On The Vine & More Gentle To The Pallet!!
Reviewed On:October 1, 2010
"These peppers performed great for me because Burpee always has their plants packed in a special
plastic casing so they shift very little during the shipping process.
The soil is usually moist in their individual cells and the plants are in good health.
I normally keep them indoors for about 5 days after they arrive to get them ready for planting in the garden.
This gives me a chance to make the soil in my garden perfect and integrate all the additives before I plant.
I mix in lime, play sand, composted manure, Miracle Gro garden soil, 10-10-10 fertilzer and even a bit
of epsom salts to our heavy red clay soil here in Charlotte, NC and that usually does it!
The zavory is a very delicious hybrid habanero which has that smoky fruity taste which you love in a habanero
but with waaaaayyyy less heat! (-: They are the perfect mild hot pepper.
They are beautiful on the vine with their wrinkled cardinal red fruits and very resistant to disease
and pests, though I still spray all my veggies and flower with Sevin solution every two weeks.
I will grow these every year in my garden until Burpee stops selling them!
"
Review 10 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:flyinlow
From:northwest florida (Destin/Niceville, Flrida)
Reviewed On:September 13, 2010
Submitted By:flyinlow
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hot Zavory Pepper
Reviewed On:September 13, 2010
"I planted these peppers the second week of April 2010, the plants are beautiful, but have not produced one pepper. My wife has a large garden with full sun and a sprinkler system that waters three times a week. We have bell peppers, okra, tomatoes, & corn. No Hot Zavory peppers. I live in zone 9, am at a lost as to why no peppers."
Review 11 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:philly burbs
Reviewed On:July 31, 2008
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
edible habaneros
Reviewed On:July 31, 2008
"these plant showed up as tiny sprigs, healthy but small. i planted them in large containers as i had no more room in the garden. well, i know that container gardening was not recomended but i now have these huge 28 inch bushes 6 weeks later. they are covered with dozens of hearty beautiful peppers! so easy to grow, and for a hab, so easy to eat! great smokey taste with a touch of fire. a great addition to any recipe or vinigrette. one of the nicest peppers i have ever grown. way to go burpee!"
Review 12 for Pepper, Hot, Zavory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BurpeeExpert
From:Doylestown, PA
Reviewed On:January 17, 2008
Submitted By:BurpeeExpert
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic flavor without the typical heat
Reviewed On:January 17, 2008
"A breakthrough – habanero you can actually eat and enjoy. These very large, bright shiny fruits have three one hundredth’s of one percent of the heat of a typical Habanero! They have a sweet, smoky taste that can be used in most anything. The plants yield lots and lots of fruits for all summer harvesting."
2 of 3 found this review helpful.