Product Reviews

Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid

This grows exhibition size pumpkins. The colossal fruits and round and covered with smooth, glossy, bright red-orange skin. A packet plants a 10-15' row. Burpee bred. Plant 6-8' apart, sow in rows, thinning to one plant every 2-3'.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Review 1 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Overachievinggardener
From:Humboldt, TN
Reviewed On:September 22, 2008
Submitted By:Overachievinggardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hard work payed off
Reviewed On:September 22, 2008
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"What a great pumpkin variety. Last year a man at our local fair entered a large pumpkin weighing about 60 pounds. I asked him, "What variety is that?" "Prizewinner." He said. "Where did you get the seed?" I asked. He responded, "Burpee." I then went to your website to research this pumpkin. After seeing its enoumous potiential, I had my sights dead on growing this variety. Being only 17 years old, I had ever tried to grow a giant pumpkin in my garden.
During the fall I prepared a bed and the next spring I planted the Prizewinner pumpkin seeds. I planted 6 hills, and selected one to focus all my attention to.
After about two months of doing "neccessary, specialized maintenance", I had a 20 pound pumpkin on the vine. I monitored its growth to find that it was increasing 4 inches in circumference every night. Within two weeks, it weighed nearly 80 pounds! I kept it going until August 2, 2008, when my dad, a friend, and I picked it. The pumpkin weighed 147 pounds! The next day I entered it in the Gibson County Fair along with 34 other entries. It won first place and best of show-as seen in the picture. I then entered it in the West Tennessee State Fair where it won first place and best of show. This pumpkin was in two local newspapers and has made me famous across the county. I thank Burpee for making such a great pumpkin variety. This pumpkin truely lives up to its name.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:blueyz
Reviewed On:August 21, 2007
Submitted By:blueyz
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most exciting plant I've ever grown
Reviewed On:August 21, 2007
"I planted all the seeds and used the method of putting a bag of dirt and a bag of manure in a mound. (I actually used a bag of miracle grow dirt)
I've never done pumpkins before and I was astonished to see them grow so quickly. My husband was very skeptical of the plantings but I think he was more excited than I was. He would bring all the neighbors over and show them how big our pumpkins were. : - ) We had one that was growing so big and fast but I underestimated the amount of room you need so that big pumpkin was on the Watermelon mound and the pumpkin must have turned too much and the stem cracked in half. I ended up cutting it off and putting it in my back yard. When
I took it off it was only light orange but now 2 months later it's bright orange and still hard as a rock. I was heartbroken when I had to take it off the vine but am happy I may be able to use it as fall decoration. My husband is already mapping out space for them next year.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:GardenTime
From:Alabama
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 28, 2012
Submitted By:GardenTime
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded My Expectations!
Reviewed On:June 28, 2012
"I bought 2 packets of seeds and I believe every one of the seeds sprouted! I have always been pleased with the germination rate of Burpee's seeds! The pumpkin plants have proven to be spectacular! The spread is already 10 Ft and continually growing. This variety is proving to be very prolific, the vines are loaded with beautiful pumpkins. I am spraying the vines in hopes of keeping the Squah Vine Borers at bay. I had never had the luck with Atlantic Giant, like I am having with Prizewinner Hybrid. I plan to plant this variety again next year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:jened70
From:Cincinnati,OH
Reviewed On:July 10, 2008
Submitted By:jened70
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewed On:July 10, 2008
"Very disappointing. Not a single of the 5 seeds germinated. I planted well after last frost in peat pots."
Review 5 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MasterGardens
Reviewed On:May 22, 2007
Submitted By:MasterGardens
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for carving
Reviewed On:May 22, 2007
"The Prizewinner pumpkin was among the most enjoyable plants I have ever grown. First of all they grow quickly and mature fast. Second of all I was able to grow a 62 pound pumpkin with a great shape, superb color, and most of all great carving for Holloween in under three months. I was also able to store the pumpkin for about two months to wait to carve until Holloween and it held up very well and didn't bruise or rot. These pumpkin plants are fairly easy to grow. But for best results fertilize weekly with a balanced water soluble fertilizer such as Miracle Grow 20-20-20, or 10-10-10. Keep the soil moist but not soggy, place cardboard or sand under pumpkins to keep from rotting, make sure stem is perpendicular to the vine, also try to thin to only one or two pumpkins per plant this will maximize the size potential for the pumpkins, and finally shade the pumpkins when they reach baseball size. This keeps the skin cool so it can expand and the pumpkin will grow much larger. These simple tips will help make growing a prizewinner pumpkin both a fun and ,most importantly, an enjoyable experiance."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BeginnerGarden
From:Elk River, MN
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 27, 2013
Submitted By:BeginnerGarden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Promising
Reviewed On:August 27, 2013
"All 5 seeds came up and I only kept the strongest plant. The leaves that started to come in were enormous! It started to vine and grow male flowers. Around 2 months later, about 10 feet down the vine, I finally got my first female flower. I pollinated it and the baby pumpkin swelled larger than a basketball 14 days after pollination . Unfortunately a large dog stepped on the vine and broke it, cutting the pumpkin off from the roots and everything! I can only imagine how large it would have gotten. Next year, I am building a fence!"
Review 7 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:alex26i
From:Michigan
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 18, 2013
Submitted By:alex26i
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What did I get?
Reviewed On:August 18, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I got this package because I wanted pumpkins. What I have growing is a plant that seems to have spread out 25 feet looks like a pumpkin plant. And is growing what looks like yellow squash. I have heard in the past that some of these HUGE pumpkins are not pumpkins but huge gourds. The seeds look like pumpkin seeds but a little darker. I remain optimistic but I can't believe that I would have ended up with the wrong seeds in the package. At first thought maybe I made a mistake, but Nope I don't even have squash seeds. Pretty much pumpkins and that is it. One other small thing, I noticed, bees seem to die inside the flower of this plant. I don't know if it has anything to do with this plant, and I don't spray anything on them."
Review 8 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Jones
From:Fullerton, CA, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:October 25, 2011
Submitted By:Jones
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not live up to the promise
Reviewed On:October 25, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"we tried the "Prizewinner" this summer with the "Big Max" side by side (truthfully 20ft apart) and were very disappointed with the Prozewinner. The vine is maybe 6' long and only produced one baseball sized pumpkin. The big max produced a dozen 50-75lb pumpkins"
Review 9 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:NWCustomer
From:Lynden, Washington
Reviewed On:August 26, 2011
Submitted By:NWCustomer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good for cooler summers
Reviewed On:August 26, 2011
"Will try again but this summer was a bust for the Prizewinner (irst try). Other pumpkin varieties always produce well here no matter how much rain or cooler temps we have, but PW had trouble setting, and the few pumpkins that did set were slow to expand and aren't going to reach even the size of a regular variety. Some of them sloughed off their outer, brightly-colored layer, exposing a white inner surface, so I culled them. The plants weren't as vigorous as with other varieties. It was unusually rainy and cool up until early August. This variety is gorgeous in the photos, so I will try again and hope for our normally good summer."
Review 10 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:pumpkincholo
From:Bloomington, IN
Reviewed On:January 19, 2010
Submitted By:pumpkincholo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Pumpkin
Reviewed On:January 19, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The first time I grew this variety in '08 I had never even grown a pumpkin before and didn't know what I was doing and still ended up with two pumpkins at 40 and 46 pounds. This past year ('09) with a better understanding of how to grow them big, I started one seed, grew one plant, and got one 147 pound pumpkin. The plant was really easy to take care of, and the pumpkin was nicely ribbed and orange to the point of being almost red. The trick-or-treaters loved it! And yes that is a five gallon pail in the picture. :)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Steezeven
From:Broomfield, CO
Reviewed On:January 2, 2010
Submitted By:Steezeven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Pumpkins
Reviewed On:January 2, 2010
"I bought these pumpkins last year hoping I could get large pumpkins but not ones that would take an entire garden to grow. I ended up planting 10 or so plants around my yard. My biggest pumpkin was 70 pounds, I was hoping for more, but I am no expert pumpkin grower either. Regardless I ended up with a huge harvest and one of my bigger pumpkins was lucky if it got water once a week and it still grew to 40 pounds."
Review 12 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:pumpkinmaster
From:Northeast OH
Reviewed On:October 22, 2007
Submitted By:pumpkinmaster
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed On:October 22, 2007
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I planted two seeds and only one made it. This plant was very good to me though. It grew both of my big pumpkins right on my deck. Growing these pumpkins was very exciting."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pumpkin, Prizewinner Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:wetzel
Reviewed On:August 16, 2007
Submitted By:wetzel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
highly recommend
Reviewed On:August 16, 2007
"i have been gardning for a long time. these pupkins didnt do so well this year. but let me explain yes i do water every day but actually we really havent had as much rain as we usually get. i have growed these for about 5 years. so lack of rain will give you a bad result so dont give up, i wont i will plant these every year"