Product Reviews

Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection

A feast for tomato lovers. This premier collection offers Burpee's four best tomato varieties for taste, flavor and size. You get one plant each of
  • Black Krim—tomatoes with gorgeous dark color and tangy flavor.
  • Burpee's Supersteak hybrid—the original "giant" tomato with beefsteak flavor.
  • Big Rainbow—sweet, mild beauties with striking yellow and red streaked flesh.
  • Brandywine—considered the best-tasting heirloom tomato of all time. Enjoy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Review 1 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CountryGirl60
From:Iowa
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 17, 2014
Submitted By:CountryGirl60
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomatoes!
Reviewed On:September 17, 2014
"This was my first time planting heirloom tomatoes. We had a lot of rain this year and did not have any bottom rot. I have had tons of tomatoes from all four plants. I would cut the different tomatoes up for a wonderfully colored salad. I would plant them again."
Review 2 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:ChickenFarmer
From:Rhode Island, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 11, 2014
Submitted By:ChickenFarmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best tomatoes
Reviewed On:September 11, 2014
"I ordered these plants with pretty high expectations, as they are advertised to be some of the best tomatoes you can buy. And they were 100% what i expected. The Big Rainbow was good tasting, and looked good. The Black Krim was delicious. The Supersteak was giant, 1+ pound. And lastly, the Brandywine was the most delicious of the four. If you don't like the Brandywine, you don't like tomatoes."
Review 3 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:EE205
From:Leesburg, VA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:August 12, 2014
Submitted By:EE205
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gift that keeps on giving!
Reviewed On:August 12, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have ordered this collection for the past few years and I have to tell you that these tomatoes never disappoint. Burpee does such a great packaging the plants for shipment. When they arrived, I let them rest a day or two then put into the ground. The amount of tasty tomatoes these plants produce just stun me every year. The size these plants achieve are staggering and the fruit is simply eye catching and delicious. I am the envy of friends and family who ask me where I get my plants. My little secret. :) Only problem this year was that they sent me black pearl instead of black krim. No worries, because I love them too!"
Review 4 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:lvinva
From:Virginia
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 14, 2014
Submitted By:lvinva
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All died
Reviewed On:July 14, 2014
"These plants all looked promising and set a lot of fruit. Now (July) they all have blight (or wilt??) and are all dying from the ground up. I'm staying away from heirlooms in the future."
Review 5 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:DrDeb
From:Montgomery, AL, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 13, 2014
Submitted By:DrDeb
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plants were healthy!
Reviewed On:May 13, 2014
"The plants I received were very healthy. I was unable to plant for 2 weeks due to big storms and days of rain, but I got them in last Sunday and they are mostly very vigorous and healthy. I lost one tomato plant--possibly to transplant shock, and one pepper plant. But I am very pleased overall."
Review 6 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Tomatolover2
From:OR
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:June 9, 2012
Submitted By:Tomatolover2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pretty Disappointing
Reviewed On:June 9, 2012
"My first shipment of these tomatoes ended with a virus. The replacement shipment arrived 2 wks ago and the leaves all died. I realized that the planters are too small for these plants and should have been sent in a size larger. I haven't transplanted them because the shock would probably kill them, but I may as well try to save what I can. After this, I am just going to stick to seeds to play it safe."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Burpee:By Burpee ExpertCustomer ServiceJune 29, 2012
Thank you for informing me of the problem with the shipment of your plants. I am sorry that they arrived in poor condition. I will notify the nursery, as they do like to keep on top of any issues with our packaging and shipping procedures.
Burpee products are guaranteed for one year from the date of purchase.
Please contact Burpee customer service via the Burpee website to resolve this issue.
Review 7 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:nobugshere
From:ohio
Reviewed On:March 19, 2012
Submitted By:nobugshere
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Plants
Reviewed On:March 19, 2012
"Last year (spring 2011) I thought I would try ordering plants from burpee. I decided to try tomatoes and peppers. I bought everything else where I have in the past. The plants I ordered from burpee did far better than everything else. They grew twice as big and produced more fruit."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Sandra
From:Northern New Jersey
Reviewed On:August 17, 2011
Submitted By:Sandra
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better Than Expected
Reviewed On:August 17, 2011
"Plants arrives a bit stressed looking, but no worse than anything else I've had shipped to me. They perked up right away with a bit of sun and water. Once planted all four grew into plants taller than my 6'1" husband! They are producing quite a lot of delicious tomatoes of very good size (most are in the 3" to 4" diameter range). We've actually been giving some of them away; there are just too many tomatoes for us to eat ourselves."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:survivesall
From:Louisville, KY
Reviewed On:July 26, 2010
Submitted By:survivesall
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than expected
Reviewed On:July 26, 2010
"When I received these 4 pitiful looking plants, I thought there was no way they would amount to anything! I was WRONG! While I haven't yet had the pleasure of actually trying these beauties, the Brandywine & Rainbow are producing well and if I can keep the squirrels away, I might actually get to try one. My sister & I split the pack of 4 and so far are pleased with the results and will definately purchase again!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:dirtlover
From:San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed On:April 18, 2009
Submitted By:dirtlover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Absolute Favorites
Reviewed On:April 18, 2009
"I have had a vegetable garden for 12 years. 3 years ago, I bought this collection. The plants were incredibly well-packaged and arrived in excellent condition. They are the best tomatoes I have ever grown. I continue to grow these same tomatoes from seeds collected the year before. The flavor and production are great! I especially love the flavors of the brandywine and Big Rainbow. I eat them like apples. My husband loves the sandwich slices of the Supersteak. While the Black Krim is unusual looking, it is a great salad tomato. Enjoy!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Eileen
From:Outside of Philadelphia
Reviewed On:March 7, 2009
Submitted By:Eileen
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed
Reviewed On:March 7, 2009
"I thought it was me, but after reading the other reviews I feel better. My plants did not produce well at all. The first year my plants arrived in very Sad condition and just weren't worth mentioning. The second year I order two sets and all arrive healthy but I was very disappointed with the yield of the plants.
As others indicated some did not produce at all or only had small fruits that rotted before maturity. I'll go back to seeds and start my own plants. Might have better luck.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Backyardener
From:Kansas City
Reviewed On:September 6, 2008
Submitted By:Backyardener
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixed Results - Wow to Wah!
Reviewed On:September 6, 2008
"Burpee consistently sends tomato plants to me later than I would like (Kansas City area). I received these in June. The Black Krim arrived nearly dead and did not survive, but the others were in relatively good shape. By start of September I had a couple of HUGE ripe Big Rainbows (the healthiest plants on arrival), a couple of really nice ripe Brandywine, and a number of green ones on all the surviving plants. The Big Rainbow were so large I had to use two hands to carry them. They were very pretty, mild and meaty with few seeds. I have yet to taste the Brandywine because my dog stole the ripest one right off the vine (he is an accomplished tomato thief), but they are pretty and healthy looking. I hope the Supersteaks ripen before it frosts. I would buy this mix again if I knew I would receive them in early May."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:delilah
Reviewed On:February 13, 2008
Submitted By:delilah
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heirloom Tomato Collection
Reviewed On:February 13, 2008
"In my northeast Ohio garden I got a good yield of the Black Krim, Brandywine and Rainbow. The Supersteak didn't do well. Keep in mind that Heirlooms almost never seem to yield as much as hybrids but the taste more than makes up for the smaller yields. If you want more tomatoes, just plant more plants. Having good weather conditions also seems to make more of a difference with the heirlooms too. Keep them watered. These three are by far some the best tomatoes I've ever eaten. They'll be on my permanent growing list forever! I had trouble getting my co-workers to try the Black Krim because it is so ugly. Their loss! It's my favorite of the bunch!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:SamsMom
Reviewed On:September 10, 2007
Submitted By:SamsMom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not Very Pleased.
Reviewed On:September 10, 2007
"Okay, the Brandwine didn't make it. The Black Krim is just there, not doing much except taking up space, the Rainbow has produced some beautiful tomatoes, not alot. The Supersteak is there, but not doing much either. Would never do this again."
Review 15 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:dearxing
Reviewed On:August 16, 2007
Submitted By:dearxing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heirlooms
Reviewed On:August 16, 2007
"They are so nice and tasty and the colors make my gourmet sandwiches just a bit different. I really like them and will grow again."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:jerseygirl
Reviewed On:August 11, 2007
Submitted By:jerseygirl
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Heirloom tomato plant collection
Reviewed On:August 11, 2007
"Expected a much better yeild from these plants-dissapointed in their performance"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Denvergardener
Reviewed On:August 11, 2007
Submitted By:Denvergardener
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heirloom tomatoes
Reviewed On:August 11, 2007
"Received the 4 heirloom tomato varieties and planted them on Memorial Day. (Much earlier in Colorado would be a recipe for frozen disaster.) It is now August 11 and no ripe fruit, or anything even close, in spite of 8 hours of direct sun daily. I am afraid that the time needed for the heirlooms will exceed Colorado's growing season. Wish I understood that these plants needed 80-90 days. My fault as a first time gardener. Hope I can find realy good tasting tomatoes that can ripen in Colorado."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plant performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:IllinoisGardener
Reviewed On:February 15, 2007
Submitted By:IllinoisGardener
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plant performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Heirloom Collection
Reviewed On:February 15, 2007
"I'm not sure if this will be a fair rating because I had poor results with the tomatoe plants I ordered last year. But, most of the people I have spoken with also said they had poor results here. It seems that my plants arrived later than I would have liked.
Anyway, the only plant that produced fruit that was usable was the Black Krim. They were awesome but the yield wasn't anything to smile about. The Rainbow didnt ripen before the end of the season, and the other two plants produced fruit but it all cracked and rotted before it ripened.
A note...I grew the Rainbow from seed the previous year and we LOVED it. The flavor, yield and appearance were noteable.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:greenishthumb
From:Southern Tier, NY
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
Submitted By:greenishthumb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good so far...
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
"The plants were small but very healthy and perky upon arrival (although the packaging is hard to get open without making a mess!). I planted them two days later in raised beds with rich garden soil, and they "took" right away. Despite a TERRIBLE season (including flooding in June), and a less-than-ideal location (with less than 6 hrs of continuous sun) the plants are very vigorous and seem to be bearing reasonably well. I have about 50 tomatoes in all (some huge, some small, none ripe YET) among 4 plants. The vines grow very tall (9-10 ft) and need creative staking, and all are late-season varieties. Can't wait to eat them!"
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomato, Heirloom Taste Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Joel C.
From:GA
Reviewed On:March 8, 2006
Submitted By:Joel C.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heirloom tomatos
Reviewed On:March 8, 2006
"These tomatos were so much fun to grow and each had wonderul and unique taste."
13 of 14 found this review helpful.