Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid

Mama Mia! The new standard in home-grown paste tomatoes. These beauties are plum-shaped, incredibly meaty, and enormous—up to 5" long and 3" across. Skin peels away easily after par-boiling, which means less fuss, less mess and more delicious, thick, creamy sauce!
Average Customer Rating:
4.054 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
29 out of 40(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Review 21 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TracyAnn
From:Middletown, NY 10940, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 1, 2013
Submitted By:TracyAnn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICE!!!!!
Reviewed On:January 1, 2013
"For my 2012 growing season, this plant was was producing huge tomatoes. One huge tomato was yeilding 1 pint jar of diced tomatoes, and then some. It was the meatiest tomato I've come across."
Review 22 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Skid
From:Upper Falls, WV, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 29, 2012
Submitted By:Skid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Paste Tomato!!!
Reviewed On:September 29, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I started these a little late and we had a very hot, dry spell early in the season so are harvest was delayed. However, once they started Big Mamas were unbelievable. We picked about 60 pounds of mature fruits the first week they ripened from about 20 plants. We canned ~175 pounds into salsa and pasta sauce. We also gave away several buckets full to friends. If you want paste tomatoes for sauces these are highly recommended."
Review 23 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:jbacheller
From:West Newbury, MA, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
Submitted By:jbacheller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new favorite
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
"I was hesitant to purchase 3 plants for this price (I ordered the plants) and when they arrived they were smaller than the ones we already had ready for the garden. I was worried as we have a short growing season. I am shocked by the amount the produced and the size! I used them all for making over 30 qts of sauce. I will not grow any ROMA's next year but rather replace with these. They all had great form, taste and the skins easily came off. I find the Roma's dont always come off and the tomato cooks while attempting to skin. I will try from seed next year along with plants to be safe but if you are unsure-these are by far a great choice. Did better than many others we have in the garden. We have over 80 different plants- multiple varieties and these by far produced very well and are the best. They have held up the best and still producing. Great!!!!"
Review 24 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:RonL
From:Albuquerque, NM, USA zone7
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
Submitted By:RonL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blossom end rot!
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
"Three fourth of my tomatoes had blossom end rot. Last year I planted La Roma III tomatoes with a much larger crop and no rot."
Review 25 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:JetFarmJohn
From:Belmont MI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 17, 2012
Submitted By:JetFarmJohn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big yield despite disease
Reviewed On:September 17, 2012
"Grew 7 of these from seed. All but one developed severe disease with withered leaves , all of my other tomatoes were fine (about 25 plants) without disease . Despite this disease the plants still produced an abundant crop of really big paste tomatoes. The fruits are tasty, easy to process and have good meat to seed ratio."
Review 26 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:okiemastergardener
From:Blackwell, OK 74631, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 12, 2012
Submitted By:okiemastergardener
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blossom End Rot Terrible!!
Reviewed On:August 12, 2012
"I have grown this tomato for several years and love the size for canning, but this year I threw away 3/4 of the crop due to blossom end rot. I grew 16 different varieties of tomatoes, and Big Mama was the only variety that had blossom end rot.. I will have to look for a different paste tomato. Does anyone have a suggestion for an alternative?"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jemimapuddleduck
From:North Central Washington (the dry, hot side)
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 8, 2012
Submitted By:Jemimapuddleduck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Does What Burpee Claims!
Reviewed On:August 8, 2012
"I started these from seed this year and they germinated quickly, with a high rate of success. The fruit is huge, firm and tasty. Like another reviewer, we've had a problem with blossom end rot, but I plan on pruning the plant back more heavily next year to see if that rectifies it.
I've really enjoyed growing this variety and cooking with it. I will be planting more next year, along with the Polish Linguisa. :)
"
Review 28 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:msdazy
From:Novi, MI, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 1, 2012
Submitted By:msdazy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Big Mama Roma
Reviewed On:August 1, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have grown Big Mama from seed for 3 seasons now. The plant had produced HUGE tomatoes which were great in sauces, freezing and eating fresh off the vine. That being said...I have also had a problem with end rot all three years. The first two seasons, the plants corrected themselves after the first rush of tomatoes. After that, they produced great tomatoes. This season, the problem is persisting. All my other tomatoes are thriving in spite of the heat and water conditions. My brother is having the same problem in his garden with the Big Mama versus other brands. Lucky for us both, we both produce plenty of tomatoes to get us through the season. Hope Burpee can breed out this problem."
Review 29 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:garnet
From:cedar rapids
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 26, 2012
Submitted By:garnet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practically perfect EXCEPT
Reviewed On:July 26, 2012
"The plants are large and healthy (yes the leaves look curled up and wilted from the beginning, but that is a known trait of this particular tomato). They are loaded with fruit. Taste great. Awesome paste tomato. Love the larger size. Great for canning or slicing. I had a huge storm knock off a bunch of green tomatoes. I thought they were lost, but I set them out on my windowsill and they ripened nicely in just a few days! I really WANT this tomato to work, but it seems that they are highly susceptible to blossom end rot. BOO! I hate to see so much fruit get wasted. The good ones are really great. But I'm probably throwing away 2/3 of my yield. I'm hoping it's just the crazy hot dry summer we've been having. It's really surprising that anything has survived this summer in Iowa. Even so, all my other variety of tomatoes are doing just fine. They are in the same soil and have received the same water/heat conditions. So I can't blame it entirely on the weather. That being said, I still really like this tomato. I may try it again next year, knowing that it is super sensitive to end rot and try to prevent it as much as possible."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:gardengoddes
From:Pittsville, Maryland (Eastern Shore)
Reviewed On:July 16, 2012
Submitted By:gardengoddes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama Mia- Big-Big.
Reviewed On:July 16, 2012
"Planted in May, Picking now~~ 60 days . steaked/tied up -vines are 5 ft. tall and hanging heavy like grapes with big tomatoes. Added 10-10-10 at planting, added straw-horse manure June, and now Epsoma Tomato food. Each tomatoe is 3" + long and big, expect 6 to fill a qt. when canning begins. Have eaten on salad, sliced. All Meatly , mild flavor. The vines appered wilted even with daily watering- but is characteristic of the plant. This is a very solid tomato for saucing, eating. Have pictures but they will not load on this site."
Review 31 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Sika57
From:Florida, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
Submitted By:Sika57
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great canning Tomato
Reviewed On:May 12, 2012
"This is my second year buying this tomato, they are great for eating and salads. But they are super for canning! Large size few seeds lots of pulp. My wife loves them and made sure I purchased more this year, even our friends brought some this year and can't wait to harvest. If you cann then this is one tomato you have to get. Ten Stars!"
Review 32 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:goliath
From:albany oregon
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:goliath
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
big mama
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"seemed to start well will do another review when they are grown"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:clayven
From:la.
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:clayven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best ever
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"largest,best tasting ROMAS i have ever had."
Review 34 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:50inwillowcreek
From:CA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
Submitted By:50inwillowcreek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Germination
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
"The Big Mama Hybrid had a 100 % germination rate this year in our greenhouse. This tomato was not available in seeds from Burpee last year. It is by far the best of the Romas I have grown. They are huge and they make wonderful sauce!"
Review 35 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:St Louis, MO, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:April 17, 2012
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dont know how to rate this tomato!
Reviewed On:April 17, 2012
"I've been growing this tomato for 4 or 5 years now. Love, love, love the tomato, but have had major problems the last two years and this year doesn't look good. Two years ago leaf curl affected every one (over 20 plants) of the BMRs, but none of my several other varieties. Last year seeds were not available so I ordered 6 plants and while all lived not one matured and produced tomatoes. Never had that happen before. This year I had about 75% germination and at about 6+" tall the leaves are already curling badly. Only 3 other varieties this year and no problems with them. I just don't get it. So, bottom line, the tomatoes are a ten, growing them is very difficult of late so if you are growing them make sure you have a backup plan."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Burpee:By Burpee ExpertCustomer ServiceApril 23, 2012
The Big Mama tomato plants have this as a very unusual plant characteristic, where the leaves curl up- especially during hot weather. It is normal for this variety to look like there is a problem but it is doing exactly what the traits are. The plant is not very full in foliage, it appears spindly. It is a late ripening tomato, so there are no signs of flowers when others are showing flowers. This in no way affects production; the plant has always produced a good yield of tomatoes, and is rated as a customer favorite.
The 75% germination is well above the legal standard.
Review 36 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Bigi
From:Walla Walla, WA, USA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:April 10, 2012
Submitted By:Bigi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Mama
Reviewed On:April 10, 2012
"I LOVE this tomatoe. It has a very low germination rate and seems to be really picky compared to the other 6 types of tomatoes I grew from seed this year. Last year I ordered plants and called to send them back but was encouraged to wait another week. They got a late start but did produce wonderful tomatoes....as did my other 13 varieties. These made the most wonderful salsa and tomatoe sauce. I just wish they were better at germination....I only got 50% germination and then they succumbed to some type of curling disease after they did come up. All with special seedling plugs, heating mat, grow light and greenhouse. So sad..."
Review 37 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:wdw3264
From:Maryland
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:March 18, 2012
Submitted By:wdw3264
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
save your money
Reviewed On:March 18, 2012
"Last year I was really excited about these tomatoes, until, they started producing.... they're not what I expected, they are slightly above average in size flavor is ok, but, I get higher yeilds on the heirloom Romas, in fact all the hybred I planted last year didn't yeild a whole lot, I'll stick with old fashion heirlooms, they've never let me down."
Review 38 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:KCat
From:Ocean County, NJ
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:March 8, 2012
Submitted By:KCat
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrating, and ultimately, disappointing.
Reviewed On:March 8, 2012
"I'd hoped Big Mama and I would've gotten along a little better; I've grown heirloom Romas with few issues, so I was looking forward to working with this bigger!better!more! version. Big Mama, does, in fact, set fruit with stunning speed and profusion, but every single tomato was attacked by blossom end rot. I read up a bit, noted that some other folks had the same problem, tried controlling the watering, etc, and the matter improved slightly; I got roughly five or six tomatoes out of all the plants and all the pounds of fruit I had to throw away. Ultimately, I don't think Big Mama's for me."
Review 39 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:gardensrock
From:Norwood, MA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:December 1, 2011
Submitted By:gardensrock
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding
Reviewed On:December 1, 2011
"I've tried them all over the years. Relatively small garden (600sq.ft). Grow wide range of vegetables for home consumption. This year I planted 15 Big Mammas (started with under light system in cellar). By the end of the season which is not terribly long here in Massachusetts, Was able to harvest over 200 lbs of good sized tomatoes...most between 6 and 12 ounces! Great tomatoe for sauce. Froze enough packages of marinara sauce to last us through the winter into next season. Plants were vigorous and clean. Staked all plants which grew over 8 feet tall. This is the tomato for those who love to make their own sauce. Meaty texture and minimal water content. It'sa winner!!"
Review 40 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Chilli
From:Tolono IL
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:November 16, 2011
Submitted By:Chilli
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:November 16, 2011
"This tomato help me win the 2011 Missouri State Salsa Championship! Great flavor and the perfect tomato for salsa's and sauce's. Thick,meaty,few seeds. I always plant one new tomato each year in addition to my four "standards" I haven't changed any of the four standards in 12 years. In 2012 "Big Mama" will be one of my standard's."