Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid

Mama Mia! The new standard in home-grown paste tomatoes. These beauties are plum-shaped, incredibly meaty, and enormous—up to 5" long and 3" across. Skin peels away easily after par-boiling, which means less fuss, less mess and more delicious, thick, creamy sauce!
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
29 out of 40(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Review 21 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:jmdel
From:Wales, Maine
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
Submitted By:jmdel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new favorites
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
"A friend from CT recommended I try the Big Mamas and I did last year. The plants were big and produced the most wonderful plum tomatoes. I had planted a few varieties and quickly found I didn't want to bother peeling those tiny ones anymore. This is the way to go!! I used them fresh on rustic pizzas and canned a lot of them too. My son in MA saw the plants and asked if I was going to grow them next year. I did and gave him several tiny plants. I saw his last week and they are huge and starting to ripen. Mine haven't ripened yet this year, but the plants are vigorous and loaded with lots of huge tomatoes. I've been saving eggshells and putting a handful crushed into the hole when I plant my tomatoes, peppers and eggplant. No blossom end rot at all on any of the tomato varieties and all plants are very productive. So here in ME I can say that these plants do well in our soil and cooler temps. I can't wait for them to ripen this year. I don't mind the curly leaves as it makes them easier to differentiate when they are small. They certainly don't look sickly or spindly as some reviewers have said. They must be doing something wrong. These are real winners."
Review 22 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:stormshadow
From:CT
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:stormshadow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great producer!!!
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"Tried this tomato for the first time this year. Haven't had luck with plums very much in the past. The majority of these tomatoes were HUGE. Decent taste for a plum tomato--better than the store's for sure, but lacking in acidity compared to say, a delicious tomato. Not the perfect tomato, but close to it. Skins come off nicely when roasted!!! It's nice when you only have to use about 6-8 for a double recipe of something. Will try these again next year."
Review 23 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HokieHort
From:Richmond, VA, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:August 14, 2013
Submitted By:HokieHort
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Sure Winner!
Reviewed On:August 14, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was a great performing sauce/paste type tomato. Size of plant was not too overwhelming (less prone to fall over, cage and all in summer storms), yield was outstanding (over 50 fruit from one plant thus far) and the fruit size was surprising! Makes a San Marzano look like it's not worth the effort. Very meaty inside, not a lot of seeds, combined with a few tastier heirlooms, makes a delectable sauce. The only drawback I saw from this variety was it was slower to get growing in spring than the rest of my rows, and it has a constant "wilted" or weeping, appearance, which may lead some other gardeners to worry about the plants health. Otherwise, overall winner for trial varieties this year and will certainly grow again, and more of them too!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Angie
From:Maryland, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:August 4, 2013
Submitted By:Angie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huge Plum tomato
Reviewed On:August 4, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I grew these this season for the first time. I make my own sauce and thought I would try a bigger plum tomato this year. Wow! these are so big and beautiful! I won't have to prepare so many for my tomato puree for a quart each, than I would the smaller plum tomatoes. I would grow these again.
Here's a photo of a few I harvested today - and one that is really weird..we named it Pinocchio!"
Review 25 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:hessianguy1
From:North Mississippi
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 17, 2013
Submitted By:hessianguy1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spindly looking plant- Don't be fooled!
Reviewed On:June 17, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Don't be fooled by the spindly wilted diseased looking plant. Yes, the plant looks "diseased" but it it NOT. It seems to be a characteristic of this variety, looking diseased and wilted when actually healthy and vigorous. I have grown this variety for three years now and the plants have always look diseased but the growth rate is good despite the diseased look, and the yield of big wonderful tomatoes is always bountiful. Furthermore, this variety seems to love to produce high quality large sized fruit right up to the first hard freeze, unlike many other varieties.
For those of you who have problems with blossem-end rot: Calcium, Calium and more CALCIUM!. Put some bone meal or crushed limestone into the soil before planting, Or if you have already planted, fertilize them with pouring on some skim milk to their roots.
Please view my photo of a healthy Big Mama plant growing to the left of a healthy Burpee Big Daddy plant. Both were grown and planted by me from seed in identical fashion in identical soil and identical timing. The Big Mama looks spindly next to the much fuller and more vigorous looking Big Daddy tomato plant to the right. This photo was taken approximately 6-7 weeks after the plants were set out in the garden. Both plants have about a dozen golfball sized green tomatoes growing on them.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:nettiej426
From:Rector Pa
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:June 1, 2013
Submitted By:nettiej426
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW
Reviewed On:June 1, 2013
"Mountain area, kept in greenhouse until the weather warmed enough.
Started from seed also, but like the pre grown better.
"
Review 27 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MNGardenLuvr
From:Minnesota
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:May 27, 2013
Submitted By:MNGardenLuvr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Sauce tomato
Reviewed On:May 27, 2013
"This tomato is a repeat in my garden every year. They are fairly decent tasting for salads, sandwiches, and burgers. The best use for them is for sauces. I use my tomato mill and make fresh spaghetti sauce and salsas. After milling these tomatoes also freeze very well so in the winter I can continue to make fresh sauces. Fruits are very large and the plants are great producers. Only had issues with end rot one year but otherwise seem to be problem free."
Review 28 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Oldman
From:New Jersey, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 14, 2013
Submitted By:Oldman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Mama
Reviewed On:February 14, 2013
"I have been growing this variety for at least 3 years. It is a high yielding paste tomato and have plenty to can and give away. I normally plant 5 different varities of tomatoes and have had no problem with any of them since I started using lime. For those gardners that are having touble with blossum end rot try lime and remember it takes awhile for lime to work. My soil is very heavy so I also use Gypsum, but the key is lime. I lime when I prepare the soil and lime the hole when I plant. I dig the hole for the plant twice the size needed, put in lime and cover the lime with a layer of soil. Do not let the lime touch the new plants roots. Burpee now has a new paste tomato "Super Sauce" that is probably on the list to plant this year but it will have to go a long way to beat Big Mama."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KMAmbrose
From:Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 13, 2013
Submitted By:KMAmbrose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get Out Your Sauce Pot... Here Comes Mama!
Reviewed On:January 13, 2013
"I am a fairly experienced gardener, particularly when it comes to tomatoes. There's something about the smell of those seedlings that just tells you the long winter is on it's way out. Big Mama is a favorite of mine annually. Last year, even amid less than optimum growing conditions, I had an abundance of beautiful tomatoes that were meaty and had few seeds. The flavor (in my opinion) is better than a Roma tomato and more like San Marzano, but the tomatoes are fatter and longer so you get more yield from each tomato. Last summer, I seemed to be making sauce constantly because I had so many of these and I ended up giving lots away. I am buying this tomato again this year and hopefully for years to come."
Review 30 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:FaithandWorks
From:Columbia City, IN 46725, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:January 10, 2013
Submitted By:FaithandWorks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My New Favorite Sauce Tomato
Reviewed On:January 10, 2013
"I love this tomato. I have planted Big Mama's for 3 years now and they are now the only sauce tomato that I plant. Heavy yields of very large tomatoes (I picked many baseball-sized Big Mamas this last summer#. We can lots of tomatoes, salsa, pasta sauce, etc. and the size of these tomatoes #compared with standard Romas# makes it so much easier. We also do lots of Caprese salad #sliced tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, basil, olive oil and balsamic vinegar) in the summer and Big Mamas are great for this also.
I start my own plants from seed and get decent germination. I had very little problem with the blossom end rot mentioned by several other reviewers. Overall extremely satisfied with this tomato.
"
Review 31 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TracyAnn
From:Middletown, NY 10940, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 1, 2013
Submitted By:TracyAnn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICE!!!!!
Reviewed On:January 1, 2013
"For my 2012 growing season, this plant was was producing huge tomatoes. One huge tomato was yeilding 1 pint jar of diced tomatoes, and then some. It was the meatiest tomato I've come across."
Review 32 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Skid
From:Upper Falls, WV, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 29, 2012
Submitted By:Skid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Paste Tomato!!!
Reviewed On:September 29, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I started these a little late and we had a very hot, dry spell early in the season so are harvest was delayed. However, once they started Big Mamas were unbelievable. We picked about 60 pounds of mature fruits the first week they ripened from about 20 plants. We canned ~175 pounds into salsa and pasta sauce. We also gave away several buckets full to friends. If you want paste tomatoes for sauces these are highly recommended."
Review 33 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:jbacheller
From:West Newbury, MA, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
Submitted By:jbacheller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new favorite
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
"I was hesitant to purchase 3 plants for this price (I ordered the plants) and when they arrived they were smaller than the ones we already had ready for the garden. I was worried as we have a short growing season. I am shocked by the amount the produced and the size! I used them all for making over 30 qts of sauce. I will not grow any ROMA's next year but rather replace with these. They all had great form, taste and the skins easily came off. I find the Roma's dont always come off and the tomato cooks while attempting to skin. I will try from seed next year along with plants to be safe but if you are unsure-these are by far a great choice. Did better than many others we have in the garden. We have over 80 different plants- multiple varieties and these by far produced very well and are the best. They have held up the best and still producing. Great!!!!"
Review 34 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:RonL
From:Albuquerque, NM, USA zone7
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
Submitted By:RonL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blossom end rot!
Reviewed On:September 19, 2012
"Three fourth of my tomatoes had blossom end rot. Last year I planted La Roma III tomatoes with a much larger crop and no rot."
Review 35 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:JetFarmJohn
From:Belmont MI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 17, 2012
Submitted By:JetFarmJohn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big yield despite disease
Reviewed On:September 17, 2012
"Grew 7 of these from seed. All but one developed severe disease with withered leaves , all of my other tomatoes were fine (about 25 plants) without disease . Despite this disease the plants still produced an abundant crop of really big paste tomatoes. The fruits are tasty, easy to process and have good meat to seed ratio."
Review 36 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:okiemastergardener
From:Blackwell, OK 74631, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 12, 2012
Submitted By:okiemastergardener
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blossom End Rot Terrible!!
Reviewed On:August 12, 2012
"I have grown this tomato for several years and love the size for canning, but this year I threw away 3/4 of the crop due to blossom end rot. I grew 16 different varieties of tomatoes, and Big Mama was the only variety that had blossom end rot.. I will have to look for a different paste tomato. Does anyone have a suggestion for an alternative?"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jemimapuddleduck
From:North Central Washington (the dry, hot side)
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 8, 2012
Submitted By:Jemimapuddleduck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Does What Burpee Claims!
Reviewed On:August 8, 2012
"I started these from seed this year and they germinated quickly, with a high rate of success. The fruit is huge, firm and tasty. Like another reviewer, we've had a problem with blossom end rot, but I plan on pruning the plant back more heavily next year to see if that rectifies it.
I've really enjoyed growing this variety and cooking with it. I will be planting more next year, along with the Polish Linguisa. :)
"
Review 38 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:msdazy
From:Novi, MI, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 1, 2012
Submitted By:msdazy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Big Mama Roma
Reviewed On:August 1, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have grown Big Mama from seed for 3 seasons now. The plant had produced HUGE tomatoes which were great in sauces, freezing and eating fresh off the vine. That being said...I have also had a problem with end rot all three years. The first two seasons, the plants corrected themselves after the first rush of tomatoes. After that, they produced great tomatoes. This season, the problem is persisting. All my other tomatoes are thriving in spite of the heat and water conditions. My brother is having the same problem in his garden with the Big Mama versus other brands. Lucky for us both, we both produce plenty of tomatoes to get us through the season. Hope Burpee can breed out this problem."
Review 39 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:garnet
From:cedar rapids
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 26, 2012
Submitted By:garnet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practically perfect EXCEPT
Reviewed On:July 26, 2012
"The plants are large and healthy (yes the leaves look curled up and wilted from the beginning, but that is a known trait of this particular tomato). They are loaded with fruit. Taste great. Awesome paste tomato. Love the larger size. Great for canning or slicing. I had a huge storm knock off a bunch of green tomatoes. I thought they were lost, but I set them out on my windowsill and they ripened nicely in just a few days! I really WANT this tomato to work, but it seems that they are highly susceptible to blossom end rot. BOO! I hate to see so much fruit get wasted. The good ones are really great. But I'm probably throwing away 2/3 of my yield. I'm hoping it's just the crazy hot dry summer we've been having. It's really surprising that anything has survived this summer in Iowa. Even so, all my other variety of tomatoes are doing just fine. They are in the same soil and have received the same water/heat conditions. So I can't blame it entirely on the weather. That being said, I still really like this tomato. I may try it again next year, knowing that it is super sensitive to end rot and try to prevent it as much as possible."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tomato, Big Mama Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:gardengoddes
From:Pittsville, Maryland (Eastern Shore)
Reviewed On:July 16, 2012
Submitted By:gardengoddes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama Mia- Big-Big.
Reviewed On:July 16, 2012
"Planted in May, Picking now~~ 60 days . steaked/tied up -vines are 5 ft. tall and hanging heavy like grapes with big tomatoes. Added 10-10-10 at planting, added straw-horse manure June, and now Epsoma Tomato food. Each tomatoe is 3" + long and big, expect 6 to fill a qt. when canning begins. Have eaten on salad, sliced. All Meatly , mild flavor. The vines appered wilted even with daily watering- but is characteristic of the plant. This is a very solid tomato for saucing, eating. Have pictures but they will not load on this site."