Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid

One of the all-time classic tomatoes is now even better. Brandy Boy captures all the rich flavor of the beloved Brandywine heirloom tomato—long the flavor favorite among heirloom tomatoes—with a more shapely form, tidier growth habit, improved disease-resistance and bigger, earlier yields. Our new hybrid produces loads of large pink fruits up to 5½" across. The fruits ripen evenly and share Brandywine's soft heirloom texture, thin skin and exceptional tangy-sweet taste. Tomato-lovers, Brandy Boy is for you. Indeterminate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Review 21 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:dave123456
From:New Jersey, usa
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 9, 2012
Submitted By:dave123456
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
world's best tomato
Reviewed On:August 9, 2012
"fifty years of growing tomatoes in NJ and this year I tried Brandy Boy. It is flawless, huge, prolific, heavy producer, disease resistant and has the old time taste of beef steaks from the 1930's
I grew 12 plants and have given away over a hundred and this is still early August. crop ready by 4 July and plants exceed 7 feet. POUNCE
"
Review 22 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:sooner
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
Submitted By:sooner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from seeds
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
"each seed grew very well under a grow light was very pleased"
Review 23 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
From:Topeka, KS, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Advertised
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
"This tomato has the heirloom look, feel, and flavor as advertised. It also produces in excess of the original heirloom that it's named after. The only drawback is that heatwaves will cause periods of low or no production. It has excellent disease resistance. The tomatoes can get quite large: more than one pound if soil conditions and weather are good. If you compliment this with a smaller, earlier producer (4th of July, Early Girl), you can buffer the gaps in production. Watch out for fruit worms and horn worms as they will target tomatoes that take time to mature and ripen."
Review 24 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Tomatohobbyist
From:Sarasota, FL
Reviewed On:September 27, 2011
Submitted By:Tomatohobbyist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remarkable tomato
Reviewed On:September 27, 2011
"I was a little leery of growing this in the spring in FL, which is not ideal tomato country ( major disease pressure ), but Brandy Boy produced a big crop of extremely flavorful, sweet tomatoes. ( grown in earth box). Only difficulty was slight cracking. This was my mom's favorite this year, and I will definitely grow it again. I am amazed this tomato did so well in Florida. Another remarkable Burpee hybrid."
Review 25 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Disappointed1
From:Central PA
Reviewed On:September 2, 2011
Submitted By:Disappointed1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful tomato!
Reviewed On:September 2, 2011
"There isn't a thing I can complain about. Flavor, yield, shape, color, texture are all outstanding. As soon as seeds are available, I'll try my hand at starting my plants myself."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:negardener
From:Nebraska
Reviewed On:August 19, 2011
Submitted By:negardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tomato
Reviewed On:August 19, 2011
"The Brandy Boy tomato is by far the best tomato I have planted in years. It has the wonderful heirloom taste of the Brandywine tomato but a rounder shape without the cracking and odd shape which I have sometimes experienced with the Brandywine. Next year it may be the only tomato I plant."
Review 27 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Orchidman
From:Southeastern PA
Reviewed On:August 18, 2011
Submitted By:Orchidman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time grown - pleasantly surprised
Reviewed On:August 18, 2011
"I liked the pedigree on this one, and found it to be a good grower, and the first to produce out of a dozen varieties. Flavor was good, better than Brandy wine, and consistent size. Now putting on a second flush of tomatoes 2nd week of August. Only downside for me was the internal stemy structure at the top of the tomato. I did supplement soil with Bumper Crop, and tomato fertilizer."
Review 28 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TNOrganicGardner
From:Tennessee
Reviewed On:April 30, 2011
Submitted By:TNOrganicGardner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Tomato Flavor and Production
Reviewed On:April 30, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am a organic gardner (20+ years) from Tennessee and have been growing Brandywine tomatoes for about the last 15 years. The taste of a good ripe brandywine tomato is just HEAVEN on earth. But the problem with Brandywine is they are sort of finikey - when it gets a bit too hot they stop producing, they are also prone to disease, and well you just don't get a real good steady/dependable crop off the brandywine tomato.
I tried this brandyboy a couple years ago and WOW - this solved the brandywine problem for sure.
Brandyboy produced at least 4x the tomatoes as I ever got off a brandywine plant and they were large meaty juicy and I could not tell any difference in the taste and It also produced earlier (by at least a couple weeks). Just an Outstanding Tomato and very nice improvement over the original.
I usually break my garden up early (in Feb) and mix in some bone meal & gypsum and then when planting tomatoes I also add my home grown compost and some epson salt. My brandyboy plants grew over 8' tall and some of the fruit were in the 2 lb range (16-18' circumfrence). Covered a slice of bread and then some.
Can't wait for more of these this year !
I included a pic of a few nice brandyboy tomatoes we picked early that year."
Review 29 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:buzzer
From:Long Beach Island, NJ
Reviewed On:February 27, 2011
Submitted By:buzzer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brings back memories
Reviewed On:February 27, 2011
"I picked up one of these at Home Depot last spring. OMG...it was the best tasting tomato I have had since I was a child. I have stopped at NJ farm stands for years in hopes of finding the great Jersey tomato, with no luck. I will be growing at least 6 of these this year. All my friends and neighbors want the great tasting tomato I grew last year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Foose
From:Eastern Shore MD
Reviewed On:February 23, 2011
Submitted By:Foose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Move over Brandywine!
Reviewed On:February 23, 2011
"Very hearty and vigorous plants with good disease resistance. These have been a must grow in my garden for the past 5 years or so. I have grown Brandy Boy side by side with Brandywine each year and they easily outproduce them by a long shot! Much earlier too. Taste is nearly the same. These are so close in flavor and produce so much better, that I have chosen not to bother with Brandywine at all this year."
Review 31 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:michael01
From:Missouri
Reviewed On:December 11, 2010
Submitted By:michael01
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandy Boy
Reviewed On:December 11, 2010
"Great tomato. One of the earliest beafsteak sized tomatoes. Plants are much bigger than stated......mine grow 6-1/2 to 7 feet tall, and about 5 feet wide. I grew these and Brandywine side by side last year. Brandy Boy produced bigger tomatoes (up to 3lbs....Yes I did weigh them). Bigger tomatoes overall than Brandywine. Couldn't tell a difference in taste. This one is a keeper in my garden! Cut off with scissors at the stem. Very hard connection, and easy to marr the thin skin if you don't."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Chas
From:New Jersey
Reviewed On:October 30, 2010
Submitted By:Chas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great surprise
Reviewed On:October 30, 2010
"It was a great year for tomatoes in NJ. First time planting Brandy Boy. Planted it along with Brandywine and others. Brandy Boy produced more tomatoes, of large size, with great taste. It beat Brandywine unanimously in a number of blind taste tests with my friends. I plan to grow it as one of my primary producing varities along with the Moreton F1 variety which was excellent also. You can't go wrong with Brandy Boy. I have no need to grow the Brandywine."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:JoeL
From:Southeastern PA
Reviewed On:September 26, 2010
Submitted By:JoeL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
improvement on Brandywine
Reviewed On:September 26, 2010
"Well, size just a touch smaller than the Brandywine but the Boy put out more. Taste is still the same, but ripening wasn't too uniform in some. Most ripened great though. Shapes in most were irregular. All together, would definitely raise these over the Brandywine. Should be called Brandywine II as these have more 'flaws' fixed over the Brandywine. If you want Brandywine, you should get these instead and you won't be dissapointed, especially if you ever raised Brandywine.
I raised Brandywines for a few years. I love the taste but HATE the small yield. These surpass the Brandywines. Thanks.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:tomatowhisperer
From:iowa city, IA
Reviewed On:September 22, 2010
Submitted By:tomatowhisperer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff
Reviewed On:September 22, 2010
"Very tough tomato growing season in IA this year. Lots of rain and blight. This variety held up better than others. The tomatoes are really outstanding in flavor."
Review 35 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:browntabby
From:San Diego
Reviewed On:August 28, 2010
Submitted By:browntabby
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic!
Reviewed On:August 28, 2010
"I grew two of the Brand Boy tomato plants this year and was very pleased overall. Though the plants didn't produce a heavy crop, they did produce more than the regular heirloom Brandywine. Flavor is just as good and growth habit is similar."
Review 36 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MarkinMichigan
From:Clawson
Reviewed On:August 18, 2010
Submitted By:MarkinMichigan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic flavor, 7+ ft plant
Reviewed On:August 18, 2010
"This is by far one of the best tasting tomatoes. Huge plant, about 10, 1.5 lb fruits. Some funny shapes, but the taste makes it worth it."
Review 37 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:gt393
From:Hackensack,New Jersey
Reviewed On:August 17, 2010
Submitted By:gt393
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandy Boy Tomato
Reviewed On:August 17, 2010
"I'v been growing Burpee Tomato's for over 30 year. This tomato is great. It's sweeter then anything i have grown and almost as big as beefstake's .without that tuff skin . Great big lief that protects the plant from these hot hot days up here in north jersey. As far as yields ,forget about it . i give bags,and bags away. Our new best Tomato."
Review 38 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:OGTennessee
From:Middle Tennessee
Reviewed On:March 30, 2010
Submitted By:OGTennessee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tomato !
Reviewed On:March 30, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been growing brandywine tomatoes for 15+ years - love the taste - but the plant vigor and fruit production can be less than ideal. When it gets really hot, they often just stop setting fruit. Also don't like the long wait 80-90 days. When I saw Burpee's BrandyBoy Hybrid mentioned last year the write up sure seemed to address all of those issues (and the claim to retain the flavor was also very important to me). I bought a seed packet and started my own (as usual). I set 8 out in my garden on April 24 and the 3rd week in June we had 3 ripe tomatoes and the plants were loaded, and continued to produce nicely all summer long. My cages are 6" and they went out the top and over. They easily produced 2-3 times the fruit of the brandywines I had growing and I could not tell any difference in the flavor at all. Excellent !
2010 will be the first year in 15+ that I do not grow any Brandywine tomatoes in my garden - they have been replaced by the BrandyBoy.
PS - my garden does get full sun (early morning to late evening) and that is very important for full flavor in tomatoes (and lots of other garden goodies).
Included a Picture of 4 that I picked the first week in July 2009.
Wishing you all a happy and productive gardening year for 2010.
OG Tennessee"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:LeeB
From:Greensboro, NC
Reviewed On:March 15, 2010
Submitted By:LeeB
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Tomato Plant
Reviewed On:March 15, 2010
"I grow this tomato in my garden every year. I've always loved the taste of the brandywine heirloom tomato but have been disappointed with the yields and the plants' vigor of the heirloom variety. Burpee has truly addressed these issues with the hybrid. I have found the brandy boy hybrid to be high yielding, very disease resistant, and very vigorous. The tomato tastes as good if not better than the heirloom variety. I would love to see Burpee come out with a hybrid for the cherokee purple like they have for the brandywine variety!!!"
Review 40 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Timothy
From:Southwest Oklahoma
Reviewed On:August 9, 2009
Submitted By:Timothy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As advertised
Reviewed On:August 9, 2009
"This plant displayed the best disease resistance among my plants this year besting Better Boy and Early Girl. I had one tomato in June and it started solid production in July. Fruits were close to a pound even in the immense SW Oklahoma heat where it routinely gets into the 100s for weeks at a time.
Like a lot of big fruit varieties, this plant needs lots of sunlight. The taste of the fruit is excellent as advertised. I will always plant this variety now. I see no reason to plant another big fruit variety since this one can produce large fruits earlier and more often than most large fruit varieties.
"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.