Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid

One of the all-time classic tomatoes is now even better. Brandy Boy captures all the rich flavor of the beloved Brandywine heirloom tomato—long the flavor favorite among heirloom tomatoes—with a more shapely form, tidier growth habit, improved disease-resistance and bigger, earlier yields. Our new hybrid produces loads of large pink fruits up to 5½" across. The fruits ripen evenly and share Brandywine's soft heirloom texture, thin skin and exceptional tangy-sweet taste. Tomato-lovers, Brandy Boy is for you. Indeterminate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Review 21 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:GardenJitsu
From:Astoria, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:GardenJitsu
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even better as a hybrid
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"I love the Brandywine Pinks...but they don't produce as many fruits as I'd like. These were more productive (more so had I caught my aphid infestation earlier) and the fruits tasted just like heirloom Brandywines. Highly recommend."
Review 22 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Chelle
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:August 3, 2013
Submitted By:Chelle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The BEST I've ever had
Reviewed On:August 3, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This tomato lives up the its' description. Very prolific, huge wonderfully delicious fruit. These plants arrived in decent shape and quickly adapted to our weather which is fair but often gloomy in the spring. I ended up with an unusually busy summer and these plants thrived very very well despite their neglect on my part. They were on a drip system and did well with occasional extra watering on hot days. I fertilized once with organic fertilizer and used worm castings once. These were the most amazing fruit! The plants do get large and I bet with some TLC could take over the garden in size and yield.
Highly recommend this variety!"
Review 23 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:bdank
From:Fredericksburg, VA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 9, 2013
Submitted By:bdank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite so far.
Reviewed On:May 9, 2013
"I grow tomatoes in 15 earthboxes. I always try grow many different varieties which include both heirlooms and hybrids. For the last four years I have grown Brandy Boy and it always out preforms everything else. This is why it will probably always be on my grow list."
Review 24 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Dayafterderby
From:Louisville, KY
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:December 10, 2012
Submitted By:Dayafterderby
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big and delicious
Reviewed On:December 10, 2012
"2012 was my first year growing Brandy Boys. The fruit was not as uniformly round as, or you could say they were more creased or fluted than, Burpee's photo of them; but, who cares! They were BIG, and one of the tastiest tomatoes in my garden. Everyone I shared them with raved about the flavor. It's December, and my mouth is watering just thinking about eating them from my garden next summer. BTW, my wife peels all tomatoes she eats (I don't), and the skin of these were easy to peel."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Cynthia
From:Upstate, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 14, 2012
Submitted By:Cynthia
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most delicious tomato I have ever eaten.
Reviewed On:September 14, 2012
"Words can't even express how delicious these tomatoes are. I never ate so many tomato sandwiches in my life. This tomato tasted like my grandfather's tomatoes I would pluck from his garden when I was a child. Thin-skinned and simply luscious, beefy and silky inside.
My punishment for falling in love with Brandy Boy was low yield. Like others said, we hovered over these plants awaiting the next red one. Most of my Brandy Boys were a little goofy to look at, what with their propensity to grow like conjoined triplets, but we didn't care. I had some that looked normal, but for the most part they were definitely growing in Triplet. I picked one that weighed 21+ ounces, and that's no lie. It was as ugly as sin, but who cared? To be honest, these were so good that, after the first Brandy Boy, we wanted to throw rocks at our other tomatoes. I'm telling you, we were arguing over who got to eat the Brandy Boy. Due to the low yield, we just went ahead and got greedy. We didn't share our Brandy Boys and just gave away the other tomatoes.
Next year I will outsmart the potential low yield by planting nothing but Brandy Boys. They were that good."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:growmyown
From:Massachusetts
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 12, 2012
Submitted By:growmyown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brandy Bust
Reviewed On:September 12, 2012
"Im sitting here wondering what went wrong with my brandy boy tomatoes this year. I started growing them last year and I cant tell you how great they were. I have been growing tomatoes for over 40 years. I am organic as possible and only fight back if Im going to lose everything. I use organic fertilizers,,, computer water and use raised beds to grow most of my veggies. I usually pick one or two new tomatoes a year to add to my favorites. I had this on the top of my list last year . This year all started out fine. Under lights in basement then moved to greenhouse. Planted when everything said to and sat back. The first and second set of fruit were as they were last year , huge tasy fruits and I mean TASTY. I have never tasted a tomatoe as good as Brandy Boy. It produced as advertised and as some of the other posts we stood around waiting for each one to ripen. I almost made it the only tomatoe I grow. Then the late second and third tomatoes set on. None were big and they lost their looks . Small highly ribbed and pasty. Nothing changed in my garden and all other tomatoes continued to produce and do well. Keeping in mind I computer water , organic fertilize and if it rains to much will add some 10 10 10 sparingly. NO diseases , good leaft growth , all else was fine on the plant but the fruit from 10 plants small and uuuuuugly,,, My personal uneducated opinion is that it lost its genetic mind and could find the right tomatoe to put on the vine. I will give it another shot and in meantime I will be emailing Burpee and asking them their opinion . I dont have any pictures yet but will post some in the near future."
Review 27 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Featherquest
From:Oregon, USA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 15, 2012
Submitted By:Featherquest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an amazing Tomato
Reviewed On:August 15, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This tomato is stellar. I started the seed indoors and then moved to the greenhouse in late February. The plant stayed in the greenhouse longer than usual because we had unusual rains this year. The plants are now doing very well in the garden, with no signs of blight and are now turning red and have a full shape. i cant wait to harvest."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:dave123456
From:New Jersey, usa
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 9, 2012
Submitted By:dave123456
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
world's best tomato
Reviewed On:August 9, 2012
"fifty years of growing tomatoes in NJ and this year I tried Brandy Boy. It is flawless, huge, prolific, heavy producer, disease resistant and has the old time taste of beef steaks from the 1930's
I grew 12 plants and have given away over a hundred and this is still early August. crop ready by 4 July and plants exceed 7 feet. POUNCE
"
Review 29 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:sooner
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
Submitted By:sooner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from seeds
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
"each seed grew very well under a grow light was very pleased"
Review 30 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
From:Topeka, KS, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Advertised
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
"This tomato has the heirloom look, feel, and flavor as advertised. It also produces in excess of the original heirloom that it's named after. The only drawback is that heatwaves will cause periods of low or no production. It has excellent disease resistance. The tomatoes can get quite large: more than one pound if soil conditions and weather are good. If you compliment this with a smaller, earlier producer (4th of July, Early Girl), you can buffer the gaps in production. Watch out for fruit worms and horn worms as they will target tomatoes that take time to mature and ripen."
Review 31 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Tomatohobbyist
From:Sarasota, FL
Reviewed On:September 27, 2011
Submitted By:Tomatohobbyist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remarkable tomato
Reviewed On:September 27, 2011
"I was a little leery of growing this in the spring in FL, which is not ideal tomato country ( major disease pressure ), but Brandy Boy produced a big crop of extremely flavorful, sweet tomatoes. ( grown in earth box). Only difficulty was slight cracking. This was my mom's favorite this year, and I will definitely grow it again. I am amazed this tomato did so well in Florida. Another remarkable Burpee hybrid."
Review 32 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Disappointed1
From:Central PA
Reviewed On:September 2, 2011
Submitted By:Disappointed1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful tomato!
Reviewed On:September 2, 2011
"There isn't a thing I can complain about. Flavor, yield, shape, color, texture are all outstanding. As soon as seeds are available, I'll try my hand at starting my plants myself."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:negardener
From:Nebraska
Reviewed On:August 19, 2011
Submitted By:negardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tomato
Reviewed On:August 19, 2011
"The Brandy Boy tomato is by far the best tomato I have planted in years. It has the wonderful heirloom taste of the Brandywine tomato but a rounder shape without the cracking and odd shape which I have sometimes experienced with the Brandywine. Next year it may be the only tomato I plant."
Review 34 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Orchidman
From:Southeastern PA
Reviewed On:August 18, 2011
Submitted By:Orchidman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time grown - pleasantly surprised
Reviewed On:August 18, 2011
"I liked the pedigree on this one, and found it to be a good grower, and the first to produce out of a dozen varieties. Flavor was good, better than Brandy wine, and consistent size. Now putting on a second flush of tomatoes 2nd week of August. Only downside for me was the internal stemy structure at the top of the tomato. I did supplement soil with Bumper Crop, and tomato fertilizer."
Review 35 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TNOrganicGardner
From:Tennessee
Reviewed On:April 30, 2011
Submitted By:TNOrganicGardner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Tomato Flavor and Production
Reviewed On:April 30, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am a organic gardner (20+ years) from Tennessee and have been growing Brandywine tomatoes for about the last 15 years. The taste of a good ripe brandywine tomato is just HEAVEN on earth. But the problem with Brandywine is they are sort of finikey - when it gets a bit too hot they stop producing, they are also prone to disease, and well you just don't get a real good steady/dependable crop off the brandywine tomato.
I tried this brandyboy a couple years ago and WOW - this solved the brandywine problem for sure.
Brandyboy produced at least 4x the tomatoes as I ever got off a brandywine plant and they were large meaty juicy and I could not tell any difference in the taste and It also produced earlier (by at least a couple weeks). Just an Outstanding Tomato and very nice improvement over the original.
I usually break my garden up early (in Feb) and mix in some bone meal & gypsum and then when planting tomatoes I also add my home grown compost and some epson salt. My brandyboy plants grew over 8' tall and some of the fruit were in the 2 lb range (16-18' circumfrence). Covered a slice of bread and then some.
Can't wait for more of these this year !
I included a pic of a few nice brandyboy tomatoes we picked early that year."
Review 36 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:buzzer
From:Long Beach Island, NJ
Reviewed On:February 27, 2011
Submitted By:buzzer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brings back memories
Reviewed On:February 27, 2011
"I picked up one of these at Home Depot last spring. OMG...it was the best tasting tomato I have had since I was a child. I have stopped at NJ farm stands for years in hopes of finding the great Jersey tomato, with no luck. I will be growing at least 6 of these this year. All my friends and neighbors want the great tasting tomato I grew last year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Foose
From:Eastern Shore MD
Reviewed On:February 23, 2011
Submitted By:Foose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Move over Brandywine!
Reviewed On:February 23, 2011
"Very hearty and vigorous plants with good disease resistance. These have been a must grow in my garden for the past 5 years or so. I have grown Brandy Boy side by side with Brandywine each year and they easily outproduce them by a long shot! Much earlier too. Taste is nearly the same. These are so close in flavor and produce so much better, that I have chosen not to bother with Brandywine at all this year."
Review 38 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:michael01
From:Missouri
Reviewed On:December 11, 2010
Submitted By:michael01
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandy Boy
Reviewed On:December 11, 2010
"Great tomato. One of the earliest beafsteak sized tomatoes. Plants are much bigger than stated......mine grow 6-1/2 to 7 feet tall, and about 5 feet wide. I grew these and Brandywine side by side last year. Brandy Boy produced bigger tomatoes (up to 3lbs....Yes I did weigh them). Bigger tomatoes overall than Brandywine. Couldn't tell a difference in taste. This one is a keeper in my garden! Cut off with scissors at the stem. Very hard connection, and easy to marr the thin skin if you don't."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Chas
From:New Jersey
Reviewed On:October 30, 2010
Submitted By:Chas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great surprise
Reviewed On:October 30, 2010
"It was a great year for tomatoes in NJ. First time planting Brandy Boy. Planted it along with Brandywine and others. Brandy Boy produced more tomatoes, of large size, with great taste. It beat Brandywine unanimously in a number of blind taste tests with my friends. I plan to grow it as one of my primary producing varities along with the Moreton F1 variety which was excellent also. You can't go wrong with Brandy Boy. I have no need to grow the Brandywine."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tomato, Brandy Boy Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:JoeL
From:Southeastern PA
Reviewed On:September 26, 2010
Submitted By:JoeL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
improvement on Brandywine
Reviewed On:September 26, 2010
"Well, size just a touch smaller than the Brandywine but the Boy put out more. Taste is still the same, but ripening wasn't too uniform in some. Most ripened great though. Shapes in most were irregular. All together, would definitely raise these over the Brandywine. Should be called Brandywine II as these have more 'flaws' fixed over the Brandywine. If you want Brandywine, you should get these instead and you won't be dissapointed, especially if you ever raised Brandywine.
I raised Brandywines for a few years. I love the taste but HATE the small yield. These surpass the Brandywines. Thanks.
"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.