Product Reviews

Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid

Large clusters of 5 oz. fruits are borne extremely early, continues longer than most varieties. Globe to slightly flattened shape. Bright red and meaty with a lot of flavor and aroma. A prodigious producer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Snuffy
Reviewed On:May 28, 2008
Submitted By:Snuffy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They Are Early & Delicious
Reviewed On:May 28, 2008
"It's true. Early Girl does give early, very tasty tomatoes. Here in Maryland, about midway between Baltimore and DC, I get my first ripe Early Girls a little before July 15, about six weeks after the weather gets "Summery" around here. Side by side with Celebrity and Rutgers and a few other varieties, Early Girl always gives ripe tomatoes 2 weeks sooner. (I've started the seeds indoors around March 1st for the past four years)
This year I got confused and over excited, and started my seeds on January 24, 2008, and they are ridculously advanced, i have two 2 inch diameter Early Girl tomatoes already! (May 28, 2008) I'll be eating a tomato by June 15 this year, Yum Yum!So always grow at least one Early Girl, because:
Ripens 2 weeks earlier than other good tasting tomatoes
Will grow well in 14 inch pots on a South East facing patio with about 7 hours of direct sunlight (that's how I grow 'em, less than optimal conditions)
I tried "4th of July" variety one year, they ripen even earlier, but I didn't like the flavor at all."
Review 2 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:dovdox
From:Western Massachusetts
Reviewed On:November 22, 2008
Submitted By:dovdox
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better Boy was Better - And Earlier
Reviewed On:November 22, 2008
"2008 was a horrible year for gardens here in Western Massachusetts: a cold, wet spring followed by a summer that featured weeks of monsoon-like rains interrupted only by occasional days of blazing heat. "Gardening" meant dashing out between downpours, grabbing a few fruits, yanking a few weeds, then dashing back inside before the next deluge.
Under those admittedly extreme conditions, Early Girl was a disappointment. Our Better Boy hybrids yielded earlier tomatoes and much greater numbers of them, and continued producing long after the few Early Girl fruits were gone. Maybe it wasn't a fair trial, but I think we'll skip the Early Girls next year and just stick with the Better Boys for our full-size hybrids."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Timothy
From:Southwest Oklahoma
Reviewed On:August 9, 2008
Submitted By:Timothy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best All Around
Reviewed On:August 9, 2008
"This is perhaps the most overlooked and under appreciated hybrid in existence. The Burpee Early Girl will produce early and often. The plant can set fruit in daytime temperatures higher than 95 degrees. In my garden, it is usually the earliest producer, the longest producer, and the most consistent producer. In hot years, it tends to be the best yielder as well.
Don't expect 8oz fruits, however, I think you'll find an abundance of 3.5oz fruits to be satisfactory. When the neighbors are struggling with their random greenhouse tomato, you'll be thriving with this Burpee classic.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
From:Topeka, KS, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Classic All Around Producer
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
"Early Girls are early producers and will produce throughout the season. They will give you lots small to medium sized fruits. The plants withstand heatwaves about as well as anything although the fruit size will decrease toward the end of the summer. They have above average resistance to disease. I find them the perfect size to use for single meals and to use as a side dish. This plant is similar in personality to the 4th of July hybrid although it produces fewer but larger fruits. I will probably always grow at least one of these in my garden."
Review 5 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:shady
From:Omaha, NE
Reviewed On:April 21, 2010
Submitted By:shady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the Race
Reviewed On:April 21, 2010
"This is the tomato that has help me win the race for the first red tomato for the last 10 years!! The compatition is insane between my friends. In zone 4 i get tomatos red tomatos every year with in the first 10 days of june. They handle cold nights well when hardend off early. Blight resistant and preform well till the first frost. They work well for canning and for slicing. They are always a staple of my garden with wonderful germination."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:dumbdumb
From:Sterling, CO
Reviewed On:December 31, 2009
Submitted By:dumbdumb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solid performer
Reviewed On:December 31, 2009
"consistent performance...hot or cold summer the tomatoes keep coming. Last summer was a colder than normal summer in my area. The majority of my tomato plants were slower than normal producers. leave it to this baby to step up to the plate and deliver. Plus it's a space saver and stays on the small side for an indeterminate plant. I have had numerous seasons with this plant and haven't yet found a more productive or flavorful early tomato."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:ken429h
From:Metro Atlanta, GA area
Reviewed On:January 25, 2009
Submitted By:ken429h
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Early Girl
Reviewed On:January 25, 2009
"This is the flag ship of my tomato line. I plant shortly after Easter, and eat ripe tomatoes days before the 4th of July in zone 7A.
This cultivar has a very unique dieses resistance.
The very smallish fruit is a bit tart, and acetic.
Perfect for slicing in the south as well as canning. If you are looking for an 8 pound sweet slicing tomato, then keep looking!
"
Review 8 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:CentralIllinoisian
From:Central Illinois
Reviewed On:August 1, 2010
Submitted By:CentralIllinoisian
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Strong plant, fruit lacking in taste
Reviewed On:August 1, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Although the plants are strong, and the fruit is early as promised, it does not taste half as good as "Big Boy" and sometimes the fruit is not very juicy, and half empty. I grow these next to the "Big Boy" plants, and they just don't taste as good."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Kimba
From:Sandown, NH
Reviewed On:August 12, 2009
Submitted By:Kimba
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Plant is loaded!
Reviewed On:August 12, 2009
"If you are looking for a plant that produces a lot of tomatoes, than this is the plant you want.
The fruits are small to medium sized, at best. For me this is great because it makes for less waste.
If you want a big tomato, keep looking."
Review 10 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Peewee
From:Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
Submitted By:Peewee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does Well
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
"Profuse verdant growth which yields early very tasty fruit. Heavy yields continue throughout the summer but the size of the fruit gets smaller during hot weather. Plants stay relatively healthy and produce under very hot (100+) conditions."
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:sooner
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
Submitted By:sooner
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tomato
Reviewed On:May 8, 2012
"were very wilted when recieved kept them indoors for 48 hours Planted iearthbox they have not recovered yet I still have hopoe but very slim"
Review 12 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:CandyK
From:East Haven, CT
Reviewed On:August 10, 2007
Submitted By:CandyK
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent Early Tomato
Reviewed On:August 10, 2007
"Good early tomato, but didn't do as well as the Early Girl non-bush variety in my garden. The tomatoes themselves were good size and flavor."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Irishman
From:NE
Reviewed On:July 17, 2010
Submitted By:Irishman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delicious!!!
Reviewed On:July 17, 2010
"This is the first year I tried these tomatoes. Great taste! Living in Zone 4 I had tomatoes ready to eat by the middle of June."
Review 14 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Yardner
From:Southern Ohio
Reviewed On:October 22, 2008
Submitted By:Yardner
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Early and good quality
Reviewed On:October 22, 2008
"Still a favorite in my neighborhood. A good early and often tomato provider. Easy to grow."
Review 15 for Tomato, Early Girl Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Dissatisfied
From:California
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:Dissatisfied
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disaster
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"The plants all developed bacterial speck which may be carried on the seed."