Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid

Celebrate the Fourth of July with a plentiful harvest of vine-ripened red, luscious tomatoes. The indeterminate plants produce plentiful 4 oz. tomatoes all season long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
56 out of 60(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:FrankoB
From:Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed On:January 18, 2010
Submitted By:FrankoB
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2009 Tomato Winner
Reviewed On:January 18, 2010
"4th of July was my Tomato Winner for 2009. It not only was a fast grower - tolerating early planting here in Minnesota - but it also was the biggest producer of the year. I started plants indoors in early March, and brought them outdoors into protected boxes May 1st. The plants were very hardy and thrived in my EarthBoxes witha soil heating cable for warmth. The plants produced the first Tomatoes by July 10th even with a cold spring in the Northland. Production was huge for both in-ground and those plants in boxes. Tomatos were the size of a small tennis ball - in bunches of 5 to 8, with each plant producing more than a hundred. Flavor was great with a blend of taste of both cherry and full size flavor. I'm just waiting to start this years group!!"
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Mater Lover
From:Providence
Reviewed On:February 26, 2006
Submitted By:Mater Lover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(No title)
Reviewed On:February 26, 2006
"I started these from seeds. They grew far better than any other tomatoes I have planted for the past 3 years running. They don't have the best flavor ever, but they are still very good, and superior to anything I could buy. They grew well in very poor soil. I gave away some plants which were successfully grown in pots. The plants had a very high yield and good germination rates, even when I used old seed. Pretty good tomato overall. "
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Skyler
From:Pleasant Grove, UT
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 20, 2014
Submitted By:Skyler
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Small tomato
Reviewed On:July 20, 2014
"This is the first year I planted this tomato. I planted them indoor in late March. I took the plant outdoor the first of May 2014. The plant grows fairly quick and produces an amazing amount of fruit. I had ripe tomatoes 2 weeks before the 4th of July which was amazing. I had picked over two dozen ripe tomatoes by the 4 of July. The plant produces vines that produce 8-14 tomatoes on them, however I have only had a few reach 4 ounces most are in the 2 ounce range, for that reason I gave this tomato a 3 star rating. This tomato will produce hundreds of tomatoes and I mean hundreds. On the 1st of July I counted on the tomatoes on the vines I stopped at a 140, the plant had several dozen more flowers on it that I didn't count. It takes a whole vine of the tomatoes to use them on a grill or a salad, however if you want a tomato that is early and don't care about the size then this tomato is for you. The taste is average and the skin is normal, nothing really to brag about on this tomato other than it is a prolific plant."
Review 4 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:MetalLion
From:Rochester, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:July 14, 2014
Submitted By:MetalLion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, So Good!
Reviewed On:July 14, 2014
"I planted a 4th of July into one of my Earth Box's on May 28th and picked my first tomato on July 12th, only 46 days! It is awesome to have a fresh tomato so early in the season. Like others have said, it is about the size of a golf ball. I enjoyed the flavor as it tasted just like a home grown tomato should. I didn't find the skin too thick. It is not the best tomato tomato I have grown, but it serves its purpose of delivering a good quality tomato early in the season until my mid and late season one are ready. The plant is loaded with green tomatoes and now I must wait for the rest to ripen. It purchased the plant locally and it was quite large when I planted it. The plant seems sturdy and does not seem to have any issues. Overall, I would recommend this tomato for those seeking a good early tomato."
Review 5 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:soaringtractor
From:Soap Lake Washington
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:July 3, 2014
Submitted By:soaringtractor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earliest tomato I have found
Reviewed On:July 3, 2014
"Ist time growing this tomato ist tomato 6/29, small but quick and good. Have grown Early girl for years and when I purchased my plant they only had 3 Early girl left so figured what the heck and bought the 4th July also. glad I did. I have already picked a half dozen tomatoes off 3 plants and many more are already formed. They are smaller than early girl but a good tomato...will by more next year."
Review 6 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:ChuckTheGardener
From:New York, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 13, 2014
Submitted By:ChuckTheGardener
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should pre-soak seeds
Reviewed On:May 13, 2014
"I just got these going, so I don't know much about them yet, but the first set of seeds I germinated had an extremely hard time pushing off the seed coat. As a result the seedlings ended up stunted and I had to sow a new set. For the second set, I pre-soaked the seeds for 24 hours in wet paper towels in a small plastic bag, and put it on my heat mat. This made a HUGE difference, and the second set germinated in only 4 days and took off like a rocketship. I would definitely recommend pre-soaking the seeds."
Review 7 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:hcppam
From:Sugarloaf, califorina
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 4, 2014
Submitted By:hcppam
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered More!
Reviewed On:May 4, 2014
"I planted these last year, I had decided if I didn't get more than one or two so, so tomatoes (like I have in the past with others) before frost came, I was done with vegetable gardening in the mountains. The only place I can garden only gets 4 1/2 hours of full sun and my season is short. I got tons of great tasty tomatoes, starting about the end of July that in it's self is a miracle. Tomato and mayo sandwiches, salsas, spaghetti sauce. I canned and gave them to fresh home grown tomato starved friends. I am sold on these and I'm going to give other Burppe early varieties a try this year, summer girl being one. My order is in. One happy mountain gardener.,"
Review 8 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:thebull
From:Fl.
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:January 11, 2014
Submitted By:thebull
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't Stop !
Reviewed On:January 11, 2014
"This tomato grew even in the hottest summer months of Florida ! Early January now, still getting new blossoms / tomatoes from plants in the hoop house !"
Review 9 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:kiteemama
From:central Illinois
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 23, 2013
Submitted By:kiteemama
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Producer!
Reviewed On:September 23, 2013
"Started these from seed. Had cold wet spring season. Replanted all my seed starts but kept these in ground to see how they would do. Am I glad I did! Best producing tomato I have ever had. I only had two plants, but I have already canned juice, tomato sauce, spaghetti sauce, salsa, and just tomatoes. The fruit is red all the way through, and even with a drought, (though I watered), not one of these tomatoes cracked. Today I made tomato sauce. I added nothing to the sauce, and it is some of the sweetest tasting I have ever made. I L-O-V-E this tomato! They are a smaller tomato, but they make up for it in production! Get ready for some of the tallest tomato plants you or anybody else has ever seen. I had a neighbor come over just to see what I was growing that was almost 7 ft. tall!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:preppygirl56
From:Midland, MI, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 5, 2013
Submitted By:preppygirl56
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect size tomato
Reviewed On:September 5, 2013
"i love these tomatoes. they are abundant on my three plants today. i have been harvesting tomatoes for about 3 weeks now and i still have so many on my plants.
i would say that these tomatoes are some of the best. the flesh of the tomatoes is nice and sturdy. i have had no problems with pests or insects.
these tomatoes have been used this year for everything from BLT's to pasta sauce. i even made a coq au vin and simply used these tomatoes instead of canned ones. it was delicious.
i highly recommend these plants."
Review 11 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:newtsx3
From:Lubbock, TX
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:August 31, 2013
Submitted By:newtsx3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best of both worlds
Reviewed On:August 31, 2013
"This is my favorite tomato. It has the sweetness of a cherry tomato, but is big enough to slice for BLTs. Grows in clusters like cherry tomatoes and produces tons of fruit. The plants I received were very healthy, and have grown better than any lives plant that I have ever bought at local nurseries. I will be ordering these every year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:stormshadow
From:CT
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:stormshadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4th keeps coming and coming
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"I've grown these tomatoes for the past three years, and never had a disappointment from them yet. This year in CT, we had a very rainy and cold spring; some would say we didn't have a spring at all. These tomatoes did not come by July 4th, and I didn't expect them to this year. Still, they produced with wreckless abandon, and they taste great!!!! Make sure you cage them. They continue to produce until frost. I won't garden without them--a mainstay."
Review 13 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Bandy
From:Norfolk, VA, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 22, 2013
Submitted By:Bandy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A KEEPER
Reviewed On:June 22, 2013
"We have grown Fourth of July for the past several years. We started seeds on March 11, transplanted the plant to an Earth Box on April 12 and had our first tomato on June 13th. For the first time we used a small greenhouse which we took down in May. We also used an Earth Box system for the first time. This tomato is a reliable producer that packs a tangy tomato taste in a small sized fruit the size of a salad tomato. Over the years this has been the first and last to produce, providing us with tomatoes all summer long and into the fall. It is a prolific producer of many clusters of uniform sized, smooth, red tomatoes. Our spring weather here, like so much of the country, has been erratic, with temps in the 90's that then plummet to the 50's and sometimes 40's this May / June. This tomato plant is currently loaded with tomatoes: a few red, many green and lots of buds. Oh, regarding the earth Box, we love it."
Review 14 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Farmermom
From:Memphis, TN, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:December 28, 2012
Submitted By:Farmermom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"OUTSTANDING"
Reviewed On:December 28, 2012
"I really loved this tomatoe. I was expecting them to be a little bigger than they were but they were awesome. They grew very fast, everyday after work I would have to go and pick tomatoes off of the vines. I gave them to neighbors, family and friends. They loved them, I will be planting them again this year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:nwgal
From:Seattle, WA, USA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:November 26, 2012
Submitted By:nwgal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:November 26, 2012
"Growing Tomatos in the Pacific NW is a challenge I tried several varieties and this was the earliest and best producer. My Early Girl has a lot of fruit but never got ripe. This one got ripe the earliest and produced the longest. It didn't have that really wonderful tomato flavor I was looking for however just getting red tomatos in this area is pretty good. I will be growing this variety next year."
Review 16 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JJonesy
From:Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA
Reviewed On:September 27, 2012
Submitted By:JJonesy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best small tomato ever!
Reviewed On:September 27, 2012
"Planted a bunch of these 4th of July from seed. They were the first to produce and are still producing in late September.
Fantastic yield, tremendous flavor, healthy huge plants, disease resistant. A great all purpose tomato for sandwiches, salsa, canning and more. Will be in our vegetable garden every year from now on - another winner from Burpee!
"
Review 17 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BigRedOne
From:Cayuga, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 14, 2012
Submitted By:BigRedOne
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great flavor-Great Tomato
Reviewed On:September 14, 2012
"I have raised "Fourth of July" for several years. They are always early and produce full season. They give a lot of golf ball size tomatoes that everyone that I give them to enjoys. They like the flavor and the size is right for eating out of hand and in salads. They always comment on the flavor. I like having tomatoes in July. I used to get the plants locally but the friendly grower retired so I now buy them directly from Burpee. Nice plants arrive at the right time. I now gift some plants to my friends because they like the early tomatoes with flavor also. We also grow other varieties for other purposes. I can not say enough good about "Fouth of July" because I enjoy them and everyone I give them to enjoys them."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:NYBurpeeFan
From:Westchester NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 13, 2012
Submitted By:NYBurpeeFan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Choice- a real Winner!
Reviewed On:September 13, 2012
"This was my first year trying these tomatoes. I purchased the plants. I planted them later than usual, and still got ripe tomatoes by July 10th -first time I ever had ripe tomatoes that early! My neighbors were amazed. They are a nice size, about the size of a small fist, and they are a great red color. Don't let the smaller size fool you because the best part is the taste - it's just superb! A juicy, sweet, fresh tomato taste! I'm surprised that another reviewer said they were not good for much else -- can't understand that comment, I have used them for everything, in salads, and in cooking, even for tomato sauce, and just for slicing in sandwiches. I think they're outstanding, and I will definitely buy them next year. Also- the plant is a prolific producer. I can't believe how many tomatoes I got from each plant. Today is September 13 and I still have tomatoes on the vines, turning red (and I'm in New York, and it's been in the 50's at night here this past week). I have given these tomatoes to friends and family and they all rave about them. This tomato is a definite winner - you will be amazed!"
Review 19 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Salsalover
From:Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
Submitted By:Salsalover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Samal
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
"This tomato has good flavor and produces plentifully, and is a good size for salads, but for any other purpose, it is not good.
In my garden, the average size is about that of a golf ball. I'm going to have to buy tomatoes to do my salsa.
Next year, one plant will do.
"
Review 20 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Wyoming
From:Cheyenne, WY, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
Submitted By:Wyoming
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a Surprise
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased my plant at a local grocery store in May, hoping to have fresh tomatoes by July 4th. Well, it was July 6 when I picked the first one - unheard of in my area. It is now September 2 and the plant measures 5 feet, 10 inches tall. We have had over 100 tomatoes off the plant with more coming on every day. This plant has received no special treatment. It has grown and flourished with the same treatment as every other plant in the garden.
Most of the crop has been apricot to plum size. I use two to a personal salad.
I would not recommend this variety for container planting."