Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid

Celebrate the Fourth of July with a plentiful harvest of vine-ripened red, luscious tomatoes. The indeterminate plants produce plentiful 4 oz. tomatoes all season long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
56 out of 60(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:FrankoB
From:Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed On:January 18, 2010
Submitted By:FrankoB
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2009 Tomato Winner
Reviewed On:January 18, 2010
"4th of July was my Tomato Winner for 2009. It not only was a fast grower - tolerating early planting here in Minnesota - but it also was the biggest producer of the year. I started plants indoors in early March, and brought them outdoors into protected boxes May 1st. The plants were very hardy and thrived in my EarthBoxes witha soil heating cable for warmth. The plants produced the first Tomatoes by July 10th even with a cold spring in the Northland. Production was huge for both in-ground and those plants in boxes. Tomatos were the size of a small tennis ball - in bunches of 5 to 8, with each plant producing more than a hundred. Flavor was great with a blend of taste of both cherry and full size flavor. I'm just waiting to start this years group!!"
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Mater Lover
From:Providence
Reviewed On:February 26, 2006
Submitted By:Mater Lover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(No title)
Reviewed On:February 26, 2006
"I started these from seeds. They grew far better than any other tomatoes I have planted for the past 3 years running. They don't have the best flavor ever, but they are still very good, and superior to anything I could buy. They grew well in very poor soil. I gave away some plants which were successfully grown in pots. The plants had a very high yield and good germination rates, even when I used old seed. Pretty good tomato overall. "
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:thebull
From:Fl.
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:January 11, 2014
Submitted By:thebull
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't Stop !
Reviewed On:January 11, 2014
"This tomato grew even in the hottest summer months of Florida ! Early January now, still getting new blossoms / tomatoes from plants in the hoop house !"
Review 4 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:kiteemama
From:central Illinois
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 23, 2013
Submitted By:kiteemama
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Producer!
Reviewed On:September 23, 2013
"Started these from seed. Had cold wet spring season. Replanted all my seed starts but kept these in ground to see how they would do. Am I glad I did! Best producing tomato I have ever had. I only had two plants, but I have already canned juice, tomato sauce, spaghetti sauce, salsa, and just tomatoes. The fruit is red all the way through, and even with a drought, (though I watered), not one of these tomatoes cracked. Today I made tomato sauce. I added nothing to the sauce, and it is some of the sweetest tasting I have ever made. I L-O-V-E this tomato! They are a smaller tomato, but they make up for it in production! Get ready for some of the tallest tomato plants you or anybody else has ever seen. I had a neighbor come over just to see what I was growing that was almost 7 ft. tall!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:preppygirl56
From:Midland, MI, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 5, 2013
Submitted By:preppygirl56
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect size tomato
Reviewed On:September 5, 2013
"i love these tomatoes. they are abundant on my three plants today. i have been harvesting tomatoes for about 3 weeks now and i still have so many on my plants.
i would say that these tomatoes are some of the best. the flesh of the tomatoes is nice and sturdy. i have had no problems with pests or insects.
these tomatoes have been used this year for everything from BLT's to pasta sauce. i even made a coq au vin and simply used these tomatoes instead of canned ones. it was delicious.
i highly recommend these plants."
Review 6 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:newtsx3
From:Lubbock, TX
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:August 31, 2013
Submitted By:newtsx3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best of both worlds
Reviewed On:August 31, 2013
"This is my favorite tomato. It has the sweetness of a cherry tomato, but is big enough to slice for BLTs. Grows in clusters like cherry tomatoes and produces tons of fruit. The plants I received were very healthy, and have grown better than any lives plant that I have ever bought at local nurseries. I will be ordering these every year."
Review 7 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:stormshadow
From:CT
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:stormshadow
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4th keeps coming and coming
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"I've grown these tomatoes for the past three years, and never had a disappointment from them yet. This year in CT, we had a very rainy and cold spring; some would say we didn't have a spring at all. These tomatoes did not come by July 4th, and I didn't expect them to this year. Still, they produced with wreckless abandon, and they taste great!!!! Make sure you cage them. They continue to produce until frost. I won't garden without them--a mainstay."
Review 8 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Bandy
From:Norfolk, VA, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 22, 2013
Submitted By:Bandy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A KEEPER
Reviewed On:June 22, 2013
"We have grown Fourth of July for the past several years. We started seeds on March 11, transplanted the plant to an Earth Box on April 12 and had our first tomato on June 13th. For the first time we used a small greenhouse which we took down in May. We also used an Earth Box system for the first time. This tomato is a reliable producer that packs a tangy tomato taste in a small sized fruit the size of a salad tomato. Over the years this has been the first and last to produce, providing us with tomatoes all summer long and into the fall. It is a prolific producer of many clusters of uniform sized, smooth, red tomatoes. Our spring weather here, like so much of the country, has been erratic, with temps in the 90's that then plummet to the 50's and sometimes 40's this May / June. This tomato plant is currently loaded with tomatoes: a few red, many green and lots of buds. Oh, regarding the earth Box, we love it."
Review 9 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Farmermom
From:Memphis, TN, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:December 28, 2012
Submitted By:Farmermom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"OUTSTANDING"
Reviewed On:December 28, 2012
"I really loved this tomatoe. I was expecting them to be a little bigger than they were but they were awesome. They grew very fast, everyday after work I would have to go and pick tomatoes off of the vines. I gave them to neighbors, family and friends. They loved them, I will be planting them again this year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:nwgal
From:Seattle, WA, USA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:November 26, 2012
Submitted By:nwgal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:November 26, 2012
"Growing Tomatos in the Pacific NW is a challenge I tried several varieties and this was the earliest and best producer. My Early Girl has a lot of fruit but never got ripe. This one got ripe the earliest and produced the longest. It didn't have that really wonderful tomato flavor I was looking for however just getting red tomatos in this area is pretty good. I will be growing this variety next year."
Review 11 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JJonesy
From:Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA
Reviewed On:September 27, 2012
Submitted By:JJonesy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best small tomato ever!
Reviewed On:September 27, 2012
"Planted a bunch of these 4th of July from seed. They were the first to produce and are still producing in late September.
Fantastic yield, tremendous flavor, healthy huge plants, disease resistant. A great all purpose tomato for sandwiches, salsa, canning and more. Will be in our vegetable garden every year from now on - another winner from Burpee!
"
Review 12 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BigRedOne
From:Cayuga, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 14, 2012
Submitted By:BigRedOne
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great flavor-Great Tomato
Reviewed On:September 14, 2012
"I have raised "Fourth of July" for several years. They are always early and produce full season. They give a lot of golf ball size tomatoes that everyone that I give them to enjoys. They like the flavor and the size is right for eating out of hand and in salads. They always comment on the flavor. I like having tomatoes in July. I used to get the plants locally but the friendly grower retired so I now buy them directly from Burpee. Nice plants arrive at the right time. I now gift some plants to my friends because they like the early tomatoes with flavor also. We also grow other varieties for other purposes. I can not say enough good about "Fouth of July" because I enjoy them and everyone I give them to enjoys them."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:NYBurpeeFan
From:Westchester NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 13, 2012
Submitted By:NYBurpeeFan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Choice- a real Winner!
Reviewed On:September 13, 2012
"This was my first year trying these tomatoes. I purchased the plants. I planted them later than usual, and still got ripe tomatoes by July 10th -first time I ever had ripe tomatoes that early! My neighbors were amazed. They are a nice size, about the size of a small fist, and they are a great red color. Don't let the smaller size fool you because the best part is the taste - it's just superb! A juicy, sweet, fresh tomato taste! I'm surprised that another reviewer said they were not good for much else -- can't understand that comment, I have used them for everything, in salads, and in cooking, even for tomato sauce, and just for slicing in sandwiches. I think they're outstanding, and I will definitely buy them next year. Also- the plant is a prolific producer. I can't believe how many tomatoes I got from each plant. Today is September 13 and I still have tomatoes on the vines, turning red (and I'm in New York, and it's been in the 50's at night here this past week). I have given these tomatoes to friends and family and they all rave about them. This tomato is a definite winner - you will be amazed!"
Review 14 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Salsalover
From:Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
Submitted By:Salsalover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Samal
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
"This tomato has good flavor and produces plentifully, and is a good size for salads, but for any other purpose, it is not good.
In my garden, the average size is about that of a golf ball. I'm going to have to buy tomatoes to do my salsa.
Next year, one plant will do.
"
Review 15 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Wyoming
From:Cheyenne, WY, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
Submitted By:Wyoming
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a Surprise
Reviewed On:September 2, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased my plant at a local grocery store in May, hoping to have fresh tomatoes by July 4th. Well, it was July 6 when I picked the first one - unheard of in my area. It is now September 2 and the plant measures 5 feet, 10 inches tall. We have had over 100 tomatoes off the plant with more coming on every day. This plant has received no special treatment. It has grown and flourished with the same treatment as every other plant in the garden.
Most of the crop has been apricot to plum size. I use two to a personal salad.
I would not recommend this variety for container planting."
Review 16 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:LynnJ
From:Dublin, OH
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 19, 2012
Submitted By:LynnJ
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average Tomato
Reviewed On:July 19, 2012
"This was my first year growing this variety. I bought a plant at a local nursery, and grew it in a very large container. I had my first ripe tomatoes in late June so it did live up to the name and produced ripe fruit by the Fourth of July. So far the plant has been a prolific producer. The tomatoes are more of a large cherry size. The flavor is okay, but the skins are somewhat tough and bitter. I also have a beefsteak type and a true cherry tomato growing in containers. Fourth of July is my least favorite of the three for flavor. The true cherry is sweeter, and the beefsteak has a much more complex flavor. I'm not sure I'd grow Fourth of July next year as I think there are better tasting early producing varieties."
Review 17 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:mcpartland44
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:March 29, 2012
Submitted By:mcpartland44
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Favorite Tomato
Reviewed On:March 29, 2012
"I have been growing tomatoes for 10 years and this is my favorite variety. It produces TONS of medium sized tomatoes that look perfect. With the 4 plants I grew, I yielded HUNDREDS of tomatoes (starting early). Very disease resistant.
I gave a plant to my father, and he complainted that his tomatoes were only cherry sized. He stuck his plant right into plain Ohio clay soil without any soil amendments in a location against his condo with average sun. My garden was started with a dump truck of "super soil" from a garden store and I amend it every year with peat moss, hummus, and a granular fertilizer.
Start with a good soil and you cannot go wrong with this variety."
Review 18 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:swcomm
From:Madison, WI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:March 5, 2012
Submitted By:swcomm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Somewhat disappointing
Reviewed On:March 5, 2012
"Tried this tomato for the first time in 2011. Wasn't early at all and fruit was very small - large cherry tomato size. Flavor was good and harvest abundant, but I far prefer Northern Exposure for early season, size and excellent flavor. Returning to Northern Exposure for 2012."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:SuzanneMcG
From:Boston Area, MA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 22, 2012
Submitted By:SuzanneMcG
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best tomato and a must have
Reviewed On:February 22, 2012
"I've grown this tomato for about 5 years now. I was put off by the size originally but since I try at least one new plant a year, I went for it. I am so glad I did. The flavor is simply outstanding. On top of it, this plant gives off fruit!!! It by no means starts by the 4th, even in a great tomato year. But it does start early and it keeps going. It's usually these tomatos and the beefsteaks that are my last precious tomoatoes of the season. The plant uses every last ounce of strength to keep putting out fruit. The taste really is wonderful and they are so easy to quarter for a quick salad. Delicious and abundant. I hight reccomend them."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KOKelly
From:South Bethlehem, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 22, 2012
Submitted By:KOKelly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never "say die" tomato
Reviewed On:February 22, 2012
"Produced July - Oct - even after all leaves died."