Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid

Celebrate the Fourth of July with a plentiful harvest of vine-ripened red, luscious tomatoes. The indeterminate plants produce plentiful 4 oz. tomatoes all season long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
56 out of 60(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:FrankoB
From:Minneapolis, MN
Reviewed On:January 18, 2010
Submitted By:FrankoB
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2009 Tomato Winner
Reviewed On:January 18, 2010
"4th of July was my Tomato Winner for 2009. It not only was a fast grower - tolerating early planting here in Minnesota - but it also was the biggest producer of the year. I started plants indoors in early March, and brought them outdoors into protected boxes May 1st. The plants were very hardy and thrived in my EarthBoxes witha soil heating cable for warmth. The plants produced the first Tomatoes by July 10th even with a cold spring in the Northland. Production was huge for both in-ground and those plants in boxes. Tomatos were the size of a small tennis ball - in bunches of 5 to 8, with each plant producing more than a hundred. Flavor was great with a blend of taste of both cherry and full size flavor. I'm just waiting to start this years group!!"
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Mater Lover
From:Providence
Reviewed On:February 26, 2006
Submitted By:Mater Lover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(No title)
Reviewed On:February 26, 2006
"I started these from seeds. They grew far better than any other tomatoes I have planted for the past 3 years running. They don't have the best flavor ever, but they are still very good, and superior to anything I could buy. They grew well in very poor soil. I gave away some plants which were successfully grown in pots. The plants had a very high yield and good germination rates, even when I used old seed. Pretty good tomato overall. "
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:moonview
From:Virginia, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:October 5, 2014
Submitted By:moonview
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NO FLAVOR!
Reviewed On:October 5, 2014
"I started from seed and transplanted in spring. Good grower's, but they had no flavor!!"
Review 4 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:elshello
From:East Troy, WI, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 4, 2014
Submitted By:elshello
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will never be without this plant. Ever.
Reviewed On:October 4, 2014
"If I have to move to an apartment someday and I can only grow one plant on my balcony, this would be it. Is it the most complex tasting tomato I grow? No, but I get a constant supply of delicious homegrown tomatoes from mid July until frost in Wisconsin. The flavor competes favorably with all other reds in my opinion. I can't eat them all as they come in, so I simply split the extras in half and dry them in my oven for flavorful "sun" dried tomatoes without preservatives. If I was allowed a second plant, sure, I'd get a fancy black tomato. But this is my definition of a summer tomato."
Review 5 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:briof
From:Rochester, mn use
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 21, 2014
Submitted By:briof
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fouth of July? Not in Minnesota
Reviewed On:September 21, 2014
"I starter these from seed in March. Didn't produce until August and then the fruit was about the size of a golf ball. Not worth the effort."
Review 6 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:OutdoorAnnie
From:Levittown, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 21, 2014
Submitted By:OutdoorAnnie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prolific!
Reviewed On:September 21, 2014
"After growing this tomato for three years now, I have decided that this is the only one for me. It has never succumbed to tomato wilt or any other disease in my garden (unlike pretty much every other variety I've tried) It lives up to its name. The first tomatoes were picked fourth of July week! I purchased two plants this year and there were enough tomatoes to satisfy a family of four. Its a plant that keeps on giving. It is the most productive tomato plant I've ever grown."
Review 7 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:UncleBob
From:Vienna, West Virginia
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:September 21, 2014
Submitted By:UncleBob
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small, but delicious
Reviewed On:September 21, 2014
"This plant produces small but delicious fruits. The plants produce prolifically all summer long. They are prone to split open after ripening."
Review 8 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CountryPumpkin
From:Maine, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 19, 2014
Submitted By:CountryPumpkin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:September 19, 2014
"First time planting these, started them from seeds and had very hardy plants. Ended up with a ton of tomatoes, they were perfect for canning. they had good flavor and good shape. I will definally make these a annual purchase."
Review 9 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Barbm1020
From:New York
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 6, 2014
Submitted By:Barbm1020
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Favorite
Reviewed On:September 6, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Fourth of July tomatoes are a new family favorite here. In March I started my plants from seed on the kitchen table, with a Grow Light from Burpee's. Almost every seed germinated and I had so many plants I added a row of containers on the patio alongside my small garden space. They proved to be good producers and after I corrected the soil in the containers with some crushed eggshells (the first picking had blossom end rot) the fruits were almost all usable. We had a lot of rain but these little tomatoes did not get watery. They taste wonderful and I have put some up in the freezer after roasting them with a dab of olive oil. I will plant this variety again."
Review 10 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:emmers
From:Wilmington, DE, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
Submitted By:emmers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
"What a hard worker this tomato plant is. We harvested our first tomato on July 1st, what a great taste. All summer long I went out every morning with a basket and picked as many as 20 at a time. Although tomato time in our area is almost done this hard worker is still producing! This is definitely a winner."
Review 11 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:poultryman
From:ME
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
Submitted By:poultryman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
favorite tomato
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
"4th of july has been my favorite early tomato since I discovered it. This variety has the yield of a cherry tomato but the flavor of the slicers. Very reliable, I expect it to remain a favorite for a long time."
Review 12 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:MiserableOldFart
From:Catskill Mountains, United States
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
Submitted By:MiserableOldFart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Modest size, decent taste, early yield.
Reviewed On:September 5, 2014
"I have had varying size results with these tomatoes. In previous years, I got decent numbers of mid-sized tomatoes. This year, with the same garden, I got an enormous crop of slightly-larger-than-cherry tomatoes.
I planted this variety exclusively this year due to our cool spring and fall weather, late spring/early fall frosts and many cold summer nights. I grew from seed and planted 14 plants. Had tomatoes this year by Aug. 1 or so, which is a record for me here. Now, after Labor Day, I am drowning in tomatoes. They are small, but good.
Normal tomato varieties hit their peak here this time of year, which is to say, when frost can come any time. I need to cover them with tarps at night to get any kind of decent productions. Next year I might try a few normal plants, but keep the Fourth of July as my main crop."
Review 13 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:DianeB
From:Hudson, MI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 26, 2014
Submitted By:DianeB
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy with this Tomato!
Reviewed On:August 26, 2014
"I grew these tomatoes from seed this year and I couldn’t be happier with the results. They ripened about 10 days before my Bush Early Girls and are prolific producers. Nice flavor, beautiful texture and appearance! Even though these tomatoes are small with a slightly thick skin as other reviewers mentioned, this wasn’t an issue for me. I’m certainly going to grow them again next year!"
Review 14 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BooBoo
From:Sparks, Nevada
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:July 21, 2014
Submitted By:BooBoo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4th of July is a Sparkler!
Reviewed On:July 21, 2014
"We've had great results with the 4th of July tomato. We have a short season. I put them in early with water walls. While I didn't have tomatoes ready to pick ON the 4th of July I picked my first ripe tomato just one week later. My bushes are huge and they're loaded with tomatoes. I chose this variety after meeting a couple at a tomato growing seminar. He had won the best tomatoes at the state fair the previous year, so I asked what is your favorite tomato? He told me 4th of July from Burpee. Now it's my favorite too!"
Review 15 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Skyler
From:Pleasant Grove, UT
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 20, 2014
Submitted By:Skyler
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Small tomato
Reviewed On:July 20, 2014
"This is the first year I planted this tomato. I planted them indoor in late March. I took the plant outdoor the first of May 2014. The plant grows fairly quick and produces an amazing amount of fruit. I had ripe tomatoes 2 weeks before the 4th of July which was amazing. I had picked over two dozen ripe tomatoes by the 4 of July. The plant produces vines that produce 8-14 tomatoes on them, however I have only had a few reach 4 ounces most are in the 2 ounce range, for that reason I gave this tomato a 3 star rating. This tomato will produce hundreds of tomatoes and I mean hundreds. On the 1st of July I counted on the tomatoes on the vines I stopped at a 140, the plant had several dozen more flowers on it that I didn't count. It takes a whole vine of the tomatoes to use them on a grill or a salad, however if you want a tomato that is early and don't care about the size then this tomato is for you. The taste is average and the skin is normal, nothing really to brag about on this tomato other than it is a prolific plant."
Review 16 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:MetalLion
From:Rochester, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:July 14, 2014
Submitted By:MetalLion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, So Good!
Reviewed On:July 14, 2014
"I planted a 4th of July into one of my Earth Box's on May 28th and picked my first tomato on July 12th, only 46 days! It is awesome to have a fresh tomato so early in the season. Like others have said, it is about the size of a golf ball. I enjoyed the flavor as it tasted just like a home grown tomato should. I didn't find the skin too thick. It is not the best tomato tomato I have grown, but it serves its purpose of delivering a good quality tomato early in the season until my mid and late season one are ready. The plant is loaded with green tomatoes and now I must wait for the rest to ripen. It purchased the plant locally and it was quite large when I planted it. The plant seems sturdy and does not seem to have any issues. Overall, I would recommend this tomato for those seeking a good early tomato."
Review 17 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:soaringtractor
From:Soap Lake Washington
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:July 3, 2014
Submitted By:soaringtractor
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earliest tomato I have found
Reviewed On:July 3, 2014
"Ist time growing this tomato ist tomato 6/29, small but quick and good. Have grown Early girl for years and when I purchased my plant they only had 3 Early girl left so figured what the heck and bought the 4th July also. glad I did. I have already picked a half dozen tomatoes off 3 plants and many more are already formed. They are smaller than early girl but a good tomato...will by more next year."
Review 18 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:ChuckTheGardener
From:New York, NY
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 13, 2014
Submitted By:ChuckTheGardener
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should pre-soak seeds
Reviewed On:May 13, 2014
"I just got these going, so I don't know much about them yet, but the first set of seeds I germinated had an extremely hard time pushing off the seed coat. As a result the seedlings ended up stunted and I had to sow a new set. For the second set, I pre-soaked the seeds for 24 hours in wet paper towels in a small plastic bag, and put it on my heat mat. This made a HUGE difference, and the second set germinated in only 4 days and took off like a rocketship. I would definitely recommend pre-soaking the seeds."
Review 19 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:hcppam
From:Sugarloaf, califorina
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 4, 2014
Submitted By:hcppam
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered More!
Reviewed On:May 4, 2014
"I planted these last year, I had decided if I didn't get more than one or two so, so tomatoes (like I have in the past with others) before frost came, I was done with vegetable gardening in the mountains. The only place I can garden only gets 4 1/2 hours of full sun and my season is short. I got tons of great tasty tomatoes, starting about the end of July that in it's self is a miracle. Tomato and mayo sandwiches, salsas, spaghetti sauce. I canned and gave them to fresh home grown tomato starved friends. I am sold on these and I'm going to give other Burppe early varieties a try this year, summer girl being one. My order is in. One happy mountain gardener.,"
Review 20 for Tomato, Fourth Of July Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:thebull
From:Fl.
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:January 11, 2014
Submitted By:thebull
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't Stop !
Reviewed On:January 11, 2014
"This tomato grew even in the hottest summer months of Florida ! Early January now, still getting new blossoms / tomatoes from plants in the hoop house !"