Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid

These great tasting tomatoes perform exceptionally well in the most intense summer heat even at 95 F. The round, 6 to 7 oz. fruits on compact plants are extremely disease resistant.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HummingbirdFavorites
From:Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed On:November 11, 2008
Submitted By:HummingbirdFavorites
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised
Reviewed On:November 11, 2008
"Being concerned with the drought we're having in the South, I purchased Heat Wave II seeds in 2008 as an "insurance policy" against the summer heat. Of the six varieties that I grew last year, the Heat Wave II tomatoes ripened first and continued to produce until the very end of the growing season. And they're easy to grow. But the texture, consistency and flavor were a pleasant surprise! These are beautiful tomatoes, very meaty with few seeds and a terrific flavor! Most definitely, this was my best producing tomato last year. I'll be expanding my garden in 2009 to include an entire row of Heat Wave II tomatoes. What we can't eat we'll sell at our local farmers market on the weekends. The folks that buy these tomatoes will be in for a real treat!"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Kaptin Jack
From:Punta Gorda, FL
Reviewed On:February 17, 2006
Submitted By:Kaptin Jack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heatwave / Great Overall Performance
Reviewed On:February 17, 2006
"I recently planted several Heatwave tomato plants in my Southwest Florida garden and found them to be exceptional! Their taste was great and the yeild was very good. Being from New Jersey, where great tomatoes are the norm, I was pleasantly suprised with how the Heatwave performed here in Florida."
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:PonyLovinGardener
From:Central Valley, California
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:November 20, 2013
Submitted By:PonyLovinGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Keeper
Reviewed On:November 20, 2013
"It gets very hot in the Central Valley of California and even though this is major agricultural land, I have had troubles with growing tomatoes myself. I get a lot of splitting no matter how I water. I get a lot of blossom drop as well. And I have issues with blossom end rot despite trying several things. One of my favorites this year was Juliet but I don't use the small tomatoes much. I think next year, I will only grow a few Early Girl and all the rest will be Heatwave. They really tolerated the heat and keep trying to produce right into November. The tomatoes were delicious and successful."
Review 4 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:JLTip
From:California near Death Valley dessert
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:JLTip
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's too hot here
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
"It's too hot here but we keep on tryng. Over 110 in midsummer."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Zees
From:Tooele, UT, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:January 13, 2012
Submitted By:Zees
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally!
Reviewed On:January 13, 2012
"Heatwave II's are the most successful and hardy tomatoes that we've grown here in West Utah (read as desert!) in 14 years. Last year they produced fruit before the Early Girls planted on the same day. This gem KEEPS PRODUCING FRUIT even through the summer heat to the end of the season. Great taste, wonderful BLT's and they make excellent salsa. Heatwave I's were a good start - but the Heatwave II's are so much better and so very welcome. We only grow Heatwave's & cherry tomatoes now. Thank you for an answer to upper-desert summers!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Danco35
From:Phx, AZ
Reviewed On:October 3, 2011
Submitted By:Danco35
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
Reviewed On:October 3, 2011
"In Phoenix, I start them indoors in January and transplant in February. This variety grows very well throughout the spring and into summer. When temps get in the 90's I shade them and they continue to thrive and produce. Five plants gave my family plenty to eat and share with neighbors and canned a few too. Meaty and very tasty."
Review 7 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Cajunfarmer
From:Sandy Hook, MS
Reviewed On:August 30, 2011
Submitted By:Cajunfarmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abundant Producer
Reviewed On:August 30, 2011
"I started these plants from seeds in my indoor seed beds under grow lights. I planted them outdoors when they were big enough. They were planted in an area that got no shade and the temperatures were in the high 90's to 102 degrees. I was amazed at how they produced. The plants did not get very tall but some plants had 24 to 30 tomatoes on one plant. They also tasted good. I will definitely be planting these from now on."
Review 8 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:DesertBloom
From:Southwestern Texas
Reviewed On:July 17, 2011
Submitted By:DesertBloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing tomato!
Reviewed On:July 17, 2011
"I recently moved to a desert area of Texas. I have always had a vegetable garden, so I was determined to have one here. I tried two types of tomato: a hybrid roma recommended by another gardener, and the Heatwave. Our summer temperatures this year reached 112 degrees. I don't use sunshades, and I only water once every two days. It didn't slow the Heatwave a bit! The Heatwaves were slower to start producing than the romas, but there was no stopping them once they got going. They're literally dripping with fruit. I've never seen a full-sized tomato produce so heavily. The romas are producing respectably, but I lost several plants to leaf curl and blight. The diseases never affected the Heatwaves. From now on, Heatwaves are the only full-sized tomato I'm growing."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CentralTX
From:Central Texas
Reviewed On:February 18, 2010
Submitted By:CentralTX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Heatwave
Reviewed On:February 18, 2010
"I picked up a packet of these seeds about 6 years ago in my first attempt at gardening. I planted 4 plants and literally had hundreds of beautiful, delicious tomatoes. The summer temp highs in Central Texas are 100-110 degrees and if I plant these in the spring, I have tomatoes from July until November. I have tried other tomatoes since then, but I never get tomatoes like these with any other types."
Review 10 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MrBillsTomatoes
From:Texas
Reviewed On:December 7, 2009
Submitted By:MrBillsTomatoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Texas Tomatoe
Reviewed On:December 7, 2009
"It's been getting hot earlier every year (Heart of Texas). We are replacing our regular crop with Heat Wave because they last longer into early summer(4th of July). They continue to produce blooms at temperatures above 95 degrees when the others shut down."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Nike2422
From:Southern Idaho
Reviewed On:August 27, 2009
Submitted By:Nike2422
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tomato for Southern Idaho
Reviewed On:August 27, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I moved to Idaho from Michigan three years ago and tried growing my usual Brandywine tomatoes here only to watch the blossoms wither and fall off. I think I picked 5 smallish fruits all season. The heat is what did them in, and I looked for a tomato that could tolerate 100+ temperatures. Last year I tried Heatwave even though they're a hybrid and found they did very well. This year I planted them again and they look wonderful, despite the damage they took in early June with a severe hailstorm. The flavor and texture are very good, and this season so far I had one tomato weigh in at 12 oz! They also cook and can very well."
Review 12 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Wadester
From:Seabrook, TX
Reviewed On:May 30, 2009
Submitted By:Wadester
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Early Producer
Reviewed On:May 30, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just planted the Heatwave tomato in my garden two weeks ago, and it already has four tomatoes blooming on it, with more blossums appearing every day. They are not ready for harvesting yet, but it sure sprouted tomatoes early in my little outdoor garden. I can't wait to taste them and report back with the results! It's a hardy plant, is producing well, and is growing vigorously."
Review 13 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:GardenGuyCO
From:Western Colorado
Reviewed On:December 12, 2008
Submitted By:GardenGuyCO
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heat Resistant, but...
Reviewed On:December 12, 2008
"I grew Heatwave because we have long stretches of upper 90 degree or 100 degree heat in July. It really did set more fruit than other varieties during hot spells, so production was good overall. I was not impressed with the texture of the fruit (a bit mealy) or the flavor. It did function well for salsa or sauce, so if you are in a hot area and use fresh tomatoes in cooking, this might be worth a try."
Review 14 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Tiki
From:Sacramento, CA
Reviewed On:December 30, 2007
Submitted By:Tiki
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Tomato
Reviewed On:December 30, 2007
"I planted two of these plants, started from seed this year. I did not have high expectations but this was the best tasting tomato in the garden. Very prolific and out preformed Burpee Big Boy in taste, quantity and disease/heat resistence. I was surprised how long they produced into fall for a determinate plant. Hardly affected by the 100+ degree heat we get her in Sacramento. I will be planting these again this year."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Woodman
Reviewed On:August 12, 2007
Submitted By:Woodman
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad Luck
Reviewed On:August 12, 2007
"I purchased the Heatwave seeds along with Rutgers, Celebrity, Marglobe and Romas. All the plants except the Heatwave have done well. As soon as the temperature got in the upper 90's, all of the Heatwave plants died (sixteen of them). They had great looking tomatoes on them but most were green at the time of dying."
Review 16 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:leee
Reviewed On:January 13, 2007
Submitted By:leee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one great mater
Reviewed On:January 13, 2007
"i live in tn. in the basin area...it was hot and dry all summer well into the 90'sfor 2 1/2 months this tomato out did itself..thanks burpee."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomato, Heatwave II Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:pomodoro
From:mentor, ohio
Reviewed On:October 24, 2006
Submitted By:pomodoro
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heat resistant tomato
Reviewed On:October 24, 2006
"what a surprise..12 hours of constant sun...soil has disease affecting tomatos.....but these babies did it for us....listen to this.....17 plants....we ate tomatos and had enough to bottle 56 jars....we did not have to buy any for our winter storage....a must for the sun drenched garden"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.