Product Reviews

Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid

Invite these petite plants onto your patio and get ready to enjoy a bountiful supply of the tastiest little tomatoes ever. The 2' plants fruit mightily—producing as many 2½" fruits as plants twice their size. Patio Princess is just the right size for small pots and a large tub can fit 2-3 plants.
Average Customer Rating:
3.774 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:KCat
From:Ocean County, NJ
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:March 8, 2012
Submitted By:KCat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Little Plant, Tasty Fruit.
Reviewed On:March 8, 2012
"Maybe the hybrid's not entirely stabilized? I had three plants, and their fruit was really quite sweet and juicy to the point of splitting; and very flavorful, especially when allowed to ripen on the plant. I don't think my family got many--I kept taking handfuls and snacking on them while doing the rounds in the rest of the garden! Those three plants produced like mad, and kept it up right through the first frost. I enjoyed them a lot, and recommend them highly for folks with limited space."
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:JimG
From:Lexington, KY, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:August 18, 2014
Submitted By:JimG
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a good tasting tomato
Reviewed On:August 18, 2014
"I won't be growing these in my Earthboxes again. The plant was healthy, and produced well. But the fruit is tough and flavorless."
Review 3 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:GreatGardens
From:Indiana
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:August 9, 2014
Submitted By:GreatGardens
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Productivity
Reviewed On:August 9, 2014
"First of all, I think this tomato should be classed as a "saladette." I grew this in an EarthBox along with a "Patio" hybrid for comparison. The plants are very similar, but the Patio Princess produced roughly twice as many tomatoes. Patio Princess (PP) produces 3-5 oz, *very firm* toms. They are very meaty, and I suspect they would be OK for drying as well as fresh use. These have excellent shelf life, and after they have continued ripening off the vine, they do finally soften. Taste? I would say "OK" but certainly nothing special. Fine for salads, but this won't be your first choice for a slicer or fresh eating. To me the taste is not quite so good as "Patio." Patio is also a softer tomato, but it doesn't have the shelf life of PP.
This year has been a generally cool, wet summer for us. Foliage diseases have taken their toll, especially if plants are crowded, but PP has held up well as have all the plants with rugose (heavy, puckered) leaves. PP is still cranking out fruit. It is a little "tomato factory." Overall, this is an excellent choice for container growing."
Review 4 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:gardener5000
From:Madisonville, KY, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:June 19, 2014
Submitted By:gardener5000
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome-NESS
Reviewed On:June 19, 2014
"I bought the three plants and planted them the third week in april. They were tiny little things and exactly 2 mos later they are huge and already have 80 tomatoes with about 40 more buds waiting. I have to say I am impressed. I planted all three in one pot. I water 1 to 2 x a day. They are in a fairly large pot. Before planting them, I put banana peels, eggshells and coffee grinds in the soil, just a handful of each item. The plants are twice the size of the pic for me. I plan to make tomatoe sauce with them. I haven't tasted them yet, so I don't know how tasty they are, but overall impressed so far!"
Review 5 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Marco
From:St. Louis, MO, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:June 9, 2014
Submitted By:Marco
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent results!
Reviewed On:June 9, 2014
"First, I planted six seeds over a heat mat, and all six came up and thrived. Now this group of six is doing amazing out in the garden. They're all at least 2' tall, very dense and bushy, with tomatoes coming out every which direction. I'm a big fan. I wasn't anticipating this much success, so I'll be giving away tomatoes this year."
Review 6 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:DeenwaldGriswold
From:Washington, DC, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:November 21, 2013
Submitted By:DeenwaldGriswold
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
Reviewed On:November 21, 2013
"I bought three garden ready plants from Burpee and was disappointed with all of them. This plant produced maybe 5 tomatoes the entire season. This will be the last time I purchase plants from Burpee. Perhaps this would have done better from seed."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:goergebear
From:New Jersey, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:goergebear
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Patio Princess 2012 better than 2013
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"Loved this plant last year not so much this year. Have only had 3 tomatos this year last year I had a bunch."
Review 8 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Robb
From:Montgomery, AL, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 20, 2013
Submitted By:Robb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture doesn't lie.....
Reviewed On:June 20, 2013
"....these little plants produce like crazy. I bought the 3 plants which were only about 6 inches in march. Now (late June), they have grown to about 14inches high, but have really filled out. Each plant has almost 2 dozen tomatoes at different stages and I've got about 15 sitting in a bowl. These are **not** cherry tomatoes. They are somewhere in between. The flavor is very good when fully ripe, but the skin is pretty tough. For being grown in a pot, these turned out to be much better than I expected. Granted, I'm always pessimistic."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Bwright
From:Moorestown, NJ, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:May 10, 2013
Submitted By:Bwright
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardier than I expected
Reviewed On:May 10, 2013
"I was a little worried about growing tomatoes, since they seem to cause lots of frustration for many gardeners. I got the impression they were fussy and difficult to grow in general.
I was pleasantly surprised with this plant. I am growing these from seed along with other veggies, and my first flat blew over on a windy day, destroying almost all of the little seedlings--except this plant and some pepper plants! Not only was this plant not destroyed despite ending up in a dirt pile on the pavement, but it has thrived without needing much coddling. Strong stem that hasn't gotten leggy despite uneven lighting and steady growth. This will be in good shape for planting out on the deck once we are reliably warm here. Definitely an idiot proof tomato plant for the beginning gardener (thank goodness). : )"
Review 10 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Novice2
From:Augusta, GA, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Submitted By:Novice2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tomato
Reviewed On:May 9, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I started these from seeds this Winter and am now enjoying a great harvest! Will plant these again next year."
Review 11 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
From:Topeka, KS, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
Submitted By:JayhawkGardener
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor Taste
Reviewed On:October 9, 2011
"I found the flavor of these to be too poor to rationalize the effort. If you're willing to keep container plants watered, you can put almost any variety you want into a container. The only advantage is that this plant will keep watering needs down. I found this plant also had poor disease resistance."
Review 12 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:ClaireyBear
From:Rochester, NY
Reviewed On:August 31, 2011
Submitted By:ClaireyBear
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for certain uses!!
Reviewed On:August 31, 2011
"The patio princess has been heavily criticized for lacking flavor- this is TRUE. However, I highly recommend growing these for one or both of the following purposes: sauce making/canning, or dehydrating!! If you want a determinate, early, medium sized slicing tomatoes for sandwiches or salads, this is not it- go with the Early Girl. However, these little guys are unbelievably healthy (even in a year filled with early blight for me), sturdy, and productive. Give them a try- since you need very little space for them, and dry them either in a dehydrator or your oven on the lowest setting (I sprinkle them with a tiny bit of sugar and a healthy amount of herbs-- the aroma is to die for!!), or roast them in your oven and make soup/sauce out of them. Either of those methods concentrates and enhances the flavor, and they are perfectly meaty for either :)"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:NCBrownThumb
From:NC
Reviewed On:February 2, 2011
Submitted By:NCBrownThumb
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will grow again this year
Reviewed On:February 2, 2011
"Last year was my first year for this tomato plant and I will be ordering it again this year. The tomatoes were plentiful and tasty and seemed to be bug resistant, too. Definitely a winner for me!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CherylDC
From:Washington, DC
Reviewed On:January 11, 2010
Submitted By:CherylDC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for urban gardening
Reviewed On:January 11, 2010
"I loved this plant, have grown it several years, and will grow it again. I grew up on a farm with huge gardens but then grew up and moved to the city. I consider myself a novice - at least for the conditions I'm limited to now. I live downtown in a big city and have a large balcony that gets pretty good sun. The summers get very hot and humid.
I started the plants from seeds in late winter and kept them on a windowsill until it was warm enough to put them outside. They thrived, grew to the size the packet said, and got a ton of tomatoes on them. Then around October the plants were starting to look pretty shabby and some leaves were falling off, but to my surprise a whole new plant grew out of each one and started producing all over again! Not as much as in summer, but enough to make it worth maintaining them. We had fresh tomatoes until Thanksgiving! (By us, that's usually when all the leaves are finally gone from the trees for the winter.)
I did nothing for them except water and fertilize them. I'm not a plant expert, but I don't think they were diseased at all. (Another type of tomato I tried seemed to do well, but then all of the fruits turned dark at the ends when very small and then fell off.) And for those who say that the tomatoes are comparable to grocery store tomatoes... well, there is a grocery store right here in the lower levels of my condo building, and I have to say that there's nothing like walking right past it and coming home to pick my own tomatoes still warm from the sun. I'm glad that there are other flavors and varieties available for those who enjoy them, but for this transplanted country girl, they are a beautiful taste of home.
They inspired me to try other things on my balcony and my mom gets a kick out of telling people about our hanging garden. :-) (snipping lettuces, herbs, radishes, flowers, peas, green beans, baby eggplants, strawberries, lemons, etc.)."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:grandpasgarden
From:Wooster, OH
Reviewed On:September 20, 2009
Submitted By:grandpasgarden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bush Tomato
Reviewed On:September 20, 2009
"Like Koshki I don't understand the negative reviews. Perfect size for container gardening. The maximum height of my plants reached 24 inches. I had to stake mine but only because there were so many tomatoes on the plant at one time! I plan on buying more next year."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:mda06
Reviewed On:August 11, 2009
Submitted By:mda06
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
(Nearly) worst tomato ever
Reviewed On:August 11, 2009
"I have a small garden which makes it hard to rotate crops and have had problems with tomato blight so I thought I would try growing some patio style tomatoes in containers. I had high hopes for the Patio Princess. The plants were beautiful - dark green and very healthy looking. The plants were loaded with fruit. So far so good. As the fruit ripened to perfect blemish free, bright red specimens, (no blossem end rot as I had mixed in a little lime in the soil) I had high hopes. But when I tasted the fruits of my labor I was extremely disappointed. Absolutely no taste-no better than store bought in the middle of winter. Texture was very firm with no juiciness and sort of pale colored. I let subsequent fruits stay on the vines for many days after they turned bright red. It made no difference - the same tasteless result. Would definitely not recommend to anyone. I tried a different patio style tomato last year with similar results. Is it not possible to come up with a good tasting patio tomato??"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Koshki
From:Southeastern Michigan
Reviewed On:February 9, 2009
Submitted By:Koshki
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with the Princess
Reviewed On:February 9, 2009
"I'm surprised at the negative reviews this has received. The only real problem I had with the Princess plants is that they needed a cage to support them! I'll use a short cage (like for peonies) this year to keep them off the ground. They were prolific, and I was quite happy with the fruit. I put three plants each in two pots last summer, and I think I'll plant a third pot this year. They were still sprouting new shoots and sending up blossoms in November! They are not big beefsteak or heirloom tomatoes, but they serve a very nice role in my garden."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:RachelInCali
From:Pleasanton, CA
Reviewed On:October 18, 2008
Submitted By:RachelInCali
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my, this is a great little plant!
Reviewed On:October 18, 2008
"The tomatoes have great flavor, and over all the plant produced about three times as many fruits as did my others, which were three times as big! Also, the bugs didn't like to eat this one as much as the other tomatoes. Hmm...well, I'm absolutely growing this one again next year!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Timothy
From:Southwest Oklahoma
Reviewed On:September 20, 2008
Submitted By:Timothy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Try a different determinate for pots
Reviewed On:September 20, 2008
"The only positive I found to this plant is that its self restricting size helps reduce water needs. For potted plants this is handy. One year I grew Better Boys in pots and had to water them 3 times a day in the 100+ heat. Other than that, this plant offers no benefits.
These tomatoes tasted the closest to store bought tomatoes among all home grown tomatoes I've ever grown. The plants were susceptible to disease and temperature extremes. The yields were low. When production tapered off, I planted a second round to see if the plants were really this bad. The second batch was identically bad.
I think these were not meant for extreme weather zones.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomato, Patio Princess Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Maude
From:Chicago, IL
Reviewed On:August 13, 2008
Submitted By:Maude
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
Reviewed On:August 13, 2008
"The plants are beautiful and very sturdy, so I had high hopes for the tomatoes, but they have turned out to be a big disappointment. First of all a lot of the fruit had blossom end rot. Now as I am getting what appears to be ripe fruit, the insides do not appear ripe and are tasteless. I have never grown tomatoes before that are completely ripe looking on the outside but when you cut into them are white. We grew these plants last year and they were very good- what happened?"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.