Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid

These plump beefsteak tomatoes—tipping the scales from 2 to 4 lb. each—are bursting with larger-than-life flavor. The luscious flesh is deep red all the way through—just the right balance of meaty solids and succulent juice. The smooth texture and rich, old-fashioned flavor make Porterhouse the greatest extra-large beefsteak we've ever bred.
Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Review 21 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Spikeict
Reviewed On:August 1, 2007
Submitted By:Spikeict
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mixed results
Reviewed On:August 1, 2007
"I tried them from seeds for the first time for me. Of 33 seeds 11 germinated in the tomato mix and starter box. 7 were planted but due to the crazy storms and heavy rain only 3 survived. Also due to the rain and flooding they are a month late, but on the three plants there are 28 green tomato's with many more healthy blooms. One of them is the size of a ripe celebraty. I will buy them again next year but maybe the sets, and hope for better weather."
Review 22 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:LLou
Reviewed On:June 10, 2007
Submitted By:LLou
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cautious but optimistic
Reviewed On:June 10, 2007
"I almost didn't order this tomato because of the reviews. Seeds are surprisingly small and not vigerous, but plants have caught up to others and look healthy. Have them planted in the greenhouse and out in a covered bed. Large heirloom type bloom. Early fruit set in both places."
Review 23 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Tomatoman
From:Warwick,RI
Reviewed On:May 12, 2007
Submitted By:Tomatoman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excited about this tomato
Reviewed On:May 12, 2007
"So far the germination rate has been good.I used peat pellets and most of the 14 seeds that came in the package germinated,some quicker than others.I will keep you all posted on how they are doing through out the growing season.I'm very curious to see how many 2-4 pounders I can grow per plant.I have grown some monster tomato plants so this one I'm really excited about."
Review 24 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:GRDavis
From:Atlanta
Reviewed On:July 5, 2007
Submitted By:GRDavis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Far - Perfect
Reviewed On:July 5, 2007
"I Planted 36 seeds in eggcrates and all germinated quickly. Transplanted plants mid March and now I have Huge still green toms on every vine. Most as large as grapefruit and still growing. I will update as soon as they ripen."
Review 25 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:VEGGIEGARDENS
From:MINNESOTA
Reviewed On:May 26, 2010
Submitted By:VEGGIEGARDENS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T BUY PLANTS
Reviewed On:May 26, 2010
"I would not recommend this product at all. I got the plants and followed the directions on the sheet and they did nothing. They are wilted and falling over. This is not good. I bought the seeds and will try from seed next year to see if I have any luck with that. don't buy the plants just get the seeds if you are going to buy them."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jcole
From:upstate NY
Reviewed On:February 28, 2009
Submitted By:Jcole
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
porterhouse
Reviewed On:February 28, 2009
"Huge tomatos with great flavor. These I grow every year."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:buffaloe
From:Brazoria, Texas
Reviewed On:April 3, 2009
Submitted By:buffaloe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed On:April 3, 2009
"I started my seed bed on Dec. 18 2008. I planted all 30 seeds in my ultimate growing system and all 30 seeds germinated, I planted 10 very healthy Porterhouse tomatoe plants Feb. 8 2009. in my garden, my tomatoe plants are growing great with lots of pretty good size tomatoes.on the vines. these plants don't get very tall but huge tomatoes the other 20 plants I gave to family & friends and they report excellent results thanks Burpee I'll be back."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:bthegardener
Reviewed On:June 15, 2007
Submitted By:bthegardener
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far so good.
Reviewed On:June 15, 2007
"So far my Porterhouse plants are doing well. No problems starting the seed and transplanting. Healthy plants are flowering. We will see if i get those big tasty tomatoes!"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:farmerboy
From:Fairmount,IL
Reviewed On:October 27, 2010
Submitted By:farmerboy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:October 27, 2010
"Thank you burpee for a great tomato my grandfather and i have gardened together since i was six and im am now 18 going on 19 this is a great,big,good tasting tomato. my only complaint is that the germination rate is tough i bought sixty seeds and had 30 plants. i set this aside cause i like this variety so much."
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Wog1
From:St George, UT, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:October 8, 2012
Submitted By:Wog1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The below are great.
Reviewed On:October 8, 2012
"Burpee has three tomato varieties that I just love. Brandy Boy, 4th of July, and Porterhouse. I live in the high desert in the southwest corner of Utah and is difficult to get the larger tomatoes to set fruit in our impossible heat (zone 8). We often have heat that is 110 degrees F and that is a crusher for many tomatoes. I have grown Porterhouse and Brandy Boy for two years now with excellent results. Where others fail they shine through. My best tomato though is still the original Goliath."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:GardenGeek
From:Long Island, New York, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 1, 2014
Submitted By:GardenGeek
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Another good one from Burpee
Reviewed On:February 1, 2014
"Burpee won me back with Orange Wellington tomato, which I still consider the best I have ever grown (see my review). And I have another great thing to say about Orange Wellington, but can't seem to update my prior review, so will say it here. The end of season Orange Wellingtons, the green ones we all ripen to extend our harvest, turned out to be excellent keepers, with some of the best flavour of any after season ripened tomatoe!!
Now to Portehouse. I got HUGE show piece tomatoes from my plants, just like the picture. And really great flavour and texture; just one, makes a meal. Reason enough to grow again. But while the initial fruit set was heavy, the plants did peeter out as the season continued, while Orange Wellington kept on going strong.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Backyardnutrition
From:oh
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
Submitted By:Backyardnutrition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best i've grown!!!!
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
"I have grown different varieties of beefsteaks for 20 years and I have got to say they got it right with this one. Everyone of my tomatoes were shaped just like in picture for this tomatoe. NO cracks no frightfully misshapen ones, most were softball sized and bigger. In my opinion this is the pinnacle of beefsteaks!! Way to go burpee!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:stormshadow
From:CT
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 24, 2013
Submitted By:stormshadow
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor growth
Reviewed On:January 24, 2013
"Planted these tomatoes last year next to Delicious, Brandy Boy and Black Krim. The other tomatoes were fabulous--but the Porterhouse didn't even reach a decent height and produced stunted fruit. Never again."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:CimarronTomatoWoman
From:OK panhandle
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:January 19, 2013
Submitted By:CimarronTomatoWoman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Producer
Reviewed On:January 19, 2013
"I grew this in 2011; against drought, wind, low humidity, and ungodly hot. I even swapped plants with someone I gave a plant to, that said 'it's just looking terrible' after a week so I dug it out and gave her mine that I hadn't planted yet..and planted that one.
At end of season... I had a Brandywine red that produced over 20 over 1#... and one at 1.52# #entered in weighoff#. And many more over 12 oz. A Mexico that took over the world and produced three, one at 1.72#. The Porterhouse, gave 8-12 oz and 30-40 fruit.
They were full, ripe, and gorgeous, the plant gave a moderate number of fruit, and they were fairly consistent. Nice and meaty and juicy, they were great burger tomatoes. The plant I traded out? She had issues getting 4-5 oz. I took one over to show her, what came off the plant she said looked terrible...
I mention the other tomatos to give what sort of conditions all the tomato plants in my patch had; and what others produced against this. I'm not saying that 2-4# isn't possible with this variety but if I couldn't break a pound with this one and other plants were... I'd say that the 12-16oz being held in that picture shown is on the high end of what you can expect.
I did not have bug issues with this plant, though I plant Nemagone marigolds with my tomatoes always. It's a cage plant, use a big sturdy cage. I had tried to stake it and had to add a cage when it got to fruilting. It got medium height #4-6 feet# and should be on 5' radius planting #5 feet to next plant minimum# I did afternoon sun control so I don't know if it will sunscald, it didn't seem to have enough leaves to prevent it, it's not an overly open plant but it doesn't make a canopy #a fruit zone and leaves above#
I grow early to late producers, determinant to semi to indeterminant, and a variety from salad/eaters to slicers to sauce/canned to competition. I have issues of climate and weather and have to adapt and accomodate accordingly.
I will definitely be growing this one again for 2013, as it proved to be a good solid mid tomato that gives a good eating fruit. No major issues with cracking or catfacing. You may be able to tune this one in a better climate and weather to get it in the range given in the description, but I'd say 12-16 ounces is reasonable expectations for what you'll get if everything's great and 8-12 if things are good.."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KMAmbrose
From:Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 13, 2013
Submitted By:KMAmbrose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to Beat this Beauty
Reviewed On:January 13, 2013
"I have grown a lot of tomatoes over the years and this one is just spectacular. I reviewed it several years ago and continue to see great success growing this in a variety of conditions. I have determined that it doesn't particularly like cold or wet feet, but in normal or hot/dry conditions, it performs well. It's not a huge producer compared to some others, but the tomatoes look just like the photo shown, have a great taste with a wonderful balance of sweetness and slight acidity that make a tomato sandwich to top all others. I highly recommend this tomato."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:DougakaMrTomato
From:Annandale, VA
Reviewed On:December 30, 2008
Submitted By:DougakaMrTomato
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone wants these
Reviewed On:December 30, 2008
"I love to grow tomatoes. Have grown this variety for the last two years with outstanding success (have always bought plants, did not start from seed). Produces large meaty tomatoes that cover the entire slice of bread, simply the best for BLT's. Last year a retired neighbor ask me to order him 3 plants. We had a contest who could grow the biggest Porterhouse. I won with a 31 oz tomato! This year another neighbor wants to try these. I have never had as many folks clamor to know what variety of tomato I am growing as with this Porterhouse beefsteak. Will be back for more in 2009."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Utahgardner
From:Sandy, Utah
Reviewed On:October 27, 2007
Submitted By:Utahgardner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porterhouse not just steak
Reviewed On:October 27, 2007
"I love large tomatoes. I've tried most of the large varieties offered by not only Burpee, but by others as well. Without a doubt, the porterhouse is th top of the line. Great taste, very little splitting, and it maintains the round shape well. I have received many favorable comments from friends that I give tomatos to each summer. Our growing season is about over so my family and friends will miss the best tomato ever until next year. Thanks Burpee"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
Reviewed On:September 9, 2007
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid Performer
Reviewed On:September 9, 2007
"I planted 8 varieties of Tomatoes and all did well through the first harvest with regular watering, pruning and tomato cages. The porterhouse produced less #'s but more volume (in pounds of tomatoe flesh) than any of my other varieties. The biggest was about 3 pounds and the averge was probably 1.5-2 pounds. All but about 3 of these tomato's had a nice shape. Late in the season when my other tomatoes started splitting and coming in "cat faced" due to drought conditions with intermittent heavy rain showers these held out the best by far. Better yet, It is now 9/9/07 and I still have 7 green porterhouse tomato's that are looking to end up over 2 pounds at harvest. The best thing about this variety, however, is how long it lasts once picked. These tomato's take a freakishly long time to get soft and go bad, even after slicing!
I found I could pick one of these and eat it 3 weeks later and still have firm flesh and solid slices. I was very pleased with this tomato and hope Burpee will continue to carry it. I started it from seed and every seed produced a plant. The fruit set early and the first harvest was around June 20th. Plants grown in a raised bed with Miracle Gro Garden soil.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:ox1111
Reviewed On:September 8, 2007
Submitted By:ox1111
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good and bad
Reviewed On:September 8, 2007
"The plants seem very fragile till about a foot and a half in size. The fruit has very good flavor the insects think so to most were last to insects. I grow six types of tomato and these were the only ones that the insects ate even with pesticides. The plant did not grow very full or large and the plant did not produce many tomatos but they were big and tasty. Taste is to me classic tomato a little acid and a little sweat and pretty meaty."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Hawkeye
Reviewed On:August 10, 2007
Submitted By:Hawkeye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:August 10, 2007
"Planted 6 seeds indoors in mid March,all seeds germinated. Set plants out May 8. Got ripe tomato's 30 July,very large fruit,most are smooth but a few are narley.Excellent flavor.one tomato sliced will feed the family."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.