Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid

These plump beefsteak tomatoes—tipping the scales from 2 to 4 lb. each—are bursting with larger-than-life flavor. The luscious flesh is deep red all the way through—just the right balance of meaty solids and succulent juice. The smooth texture and rich, old-fashioned flavor make Porterhouse the greatest extra-large beefsteak we've ever bred.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Review 1 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Backyardnutrition
From:oh
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
Submitted By:Backyardnutrition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best i've grown!!!!
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
"I have grown different varieties of beefsteaks for 20 years and I have got to say they got it right with this one. Everyone of my tomatoes were shaped just like in picture for this tomatoe. NO cracks no frightfully misshapen ones, most were softball sized and bigger. In my opinion this is the pinnacle of beefsteaks!! Way to go burpee!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JimR
From:Delaware
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:July 29, 2013
Submitted By:JimR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Tomato
Reviewed On:July 29, 2013
"Picked our first "Porterhouse" of the year "! Over 2 lbs. ! Have plants covered in fruit! Live at the De. Shore and plants are growing in raised beds! Thanks Burpee! Burpee Grows!"
Review 3 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:wwxbill71
From:NJ
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:July 5, 2013
Submitted By:wwxbill71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Tomato!!!
Reviewed On:July 5, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These are the best tomato plants I ever planted.... My co-workers came over last year and was wow with the height of the plant at 7 !/2 feet tall. Plus the size of the tomato. Also they were very good. Big Thanks to Burpee's from Me & my friends."
Review 4 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KMAmbrose
From:Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 13, 2013
Submitted By:KMAmbrose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to Beat this Beauty
Reviewed On:January 13, 2013
"I have grown a lot of tomatoes over the years and this one is just spectacular. I reviewed it several years ago and continue to see great success growing this in a variety of conditions. I have determined that it doesn't particularly like cold or wet feet, but in normal or hot/dry conditions, it performs well. It's not a huge producer compared to some others, but the tomatoes look just like the photo shown, have a great taste with a wonderful balance of sweetness and slight acidity that make a tomato sandwich to top all others. I highly recommend this tomato."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Bafrank
From:Bay Area, CA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:April 27, 2012
Submitted By:Bafrank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never Before!
Reviewed On:April 27, 2012
"I have been trying to grow tomatoes on a small garden ever since moving to CA. All my old Beefsteak types just weren't doing very well. Poor yield and plants dying too early in the season. Last year I tried the Porterhouse. In soil heavily augmented with composted shredded leaves and a little too much fertilizer, the plants took off like Jack's Bean Stalk.
Plants started from seed were about 8" tall when I got them in the ground in early May (late for this region). I used large cages (3'X3'X8' tall square cages made from 6" mesh Steel concrete reinforcement wire) and just let the plants go. By late June the plants filled the cages and were 5' tall. Lot of blossoms but they didn't seem to be setting many. But the plants were lush with multiple 3/4" diameter stalks. I fought myself and didn't reach for the fertilizer bag.
By early August clusters of 5" diameter fruit had formed everywhere from the ground up to the five foot level. The plants were pushing 7+ feet with heavy blossoms. In a few more weeks some were approach full ripeness.
In the usual rush I picked some too early and was disappointed with the taste. I backed off to allow full ripening and the crows, squirrels, and rats discovered my tomatoes. The crows would peck the ripening spots and the squirrels rats would eat holes in the tomatoes. At this point I had 5 plants.
From then until November it was a constant fight to get fruit that wasn't damaged by the animals. The plants were so prolific that there was enough for the animals to eat their fill and for me to get enough (if one ever has enough). Ripe these tomatoes were the best flavor Beefsteak type I've ever had. The birds, squirrels and rats got more than two thirds of my crop. Even at that, I harvested more than 150 lbs of tomatoes.
Now, a most favorable part. These are the first ever plants that did not die off before the end of the growing season. No black spots; no yellowing and withering of the plants. They just continued to grow! I gave two of my peat potted seedlings to a neighbor. Her's have Wintered over and set blossoms in late March. No disease what so ever. Never had a tomato plant before that before!
Anyway, with all my troubles, I harvested more tomatoes with excellent taste from fewer plants than ever before. The really impressive part was the size of each tomato. Even with the large numbers of tomatoes, 3 to 4 lbs each was common and the Porterhouse is the only tomato I am planting again this year!"
Review 6 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:GrillSeargent
From:NC
Reviewed On:July 17, 2011
Submitted By:GrillSeargent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Filet Mignon of Tomato's
Reviewed On:July 17, 2011
"I am very imoressed so far with this tomato. It has done well here in the Raleigh areas of North Carolina.
I have pulled three 2-3 pounders off in early July. Planted them in early May,
They are meaty with not allot of seeds. They are big world class hamburger, blt or lunhmeat sandwhich toppers with classic tomato flavor. I think in terms of flavor I would rate them a close runner up to Brandywine or Lemon Boy but they have their own unique blend.
They do not appear to be a variety that would render a huge amount of tomatoes for canning.
They remind me of the Delicious variety but they seem to be more productve; at least in this year's conditions (semi-dry) and fertilizer mix.
Plants are stout and need caging. I use concrete remesh which I cut into sections and then roll into cylinders. They work great for big tomatoes such as these.
Overall I am happy with Porterhouse and will be planting a few again next year."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Dianarae
From:Georgia
Reviewed On:January 14, 2011
Submitted By:Dianarae
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Big Tomato
Reviewed On:January 14, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have grown the Porterhouse Variety for over 4 years. It is a very meaty tomato with excellent taste and not too watery. Truly a beefsteak! My largest tomato so far has been a three pound. I get lots of 2 pound and last year because it was so hot I had more 1 1/2 pound tomatoes. I encourage you to grow this scrumptious tomato. You will be glad you did.
I have attached two photos of these beautiful tasty tomatoes.
"
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:farmerboy
From:Fairmount,IL
Reviewed On:October 27, 2010
Submitted By:farmerboy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:October 27, 2010
"Thank you burpee for a great tomato my grandfather and i have gardened together since i was six and im am now 18 going on 19 this is a great,big,good tasting tomato. my only complaint is that the germination rate is tough i bought sixty seeds and had 30 plants. i set this aside cause i like this variety so much."
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:buffaloe
From:Brazoria, Texas
Reviewed On:April 3, 2009
Submitted By:buffaloe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed On:April 3, 2009
"I started my seed bed on Dec. 18 2008. I planted all 30 seeds in my ultimate growing system and all 30 seeds germinated, I planted 10 very healthy Porterhouse tomatoe plants Feb. 8 2009. in my garden, my tomatoe plants are growing great with lots of pretty good size tomatoes.on the vines. these plants don't get very tall but huge tomatoes the other 20 plants I gave to family & friends and they report excellent results thanks Burpee I'll be back."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CandyK
From:East Haven, CT
Reviewed On:March 23, 2009
Submitted By:CandyK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tomato
Reviewed On:March 23, 2009
"I started my tomatos from seed and every one of them germinated. All the plants grew to nice size seedlings. I grew 3 in pots, 3 in the ground, and gave several plants to my friends. The 3 in pots did the best, probably because of the cool rainy summer we had here in CT. We had one that weighed 3 lbs 6 oz. Most were well over 2 lbs. Even the 'little guys' were well over 1 lb. My friends had the same results. I'm planting them again this year. Hopefully, the weather will be warmer and dryer!"
Review 11 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jcole
From:upstate NY
Reviewed On:February 28, 2009
Submitted By:Jcole
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
porterhouse
Reviewed On:February 28, 2009
"Huge tomatos with great flavor. These I grow every year."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:dcartner
From:Statesville, NC
Reviewed On:January 30, 2009
Submitted By:dcartner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porterhouse Beefsteak Tomatoes Are the BEST!!
Reviewed On:January 30, 2009
"I have planted the Porterhouse Beefsteak Tomatoes from seeds for the past 2 years with GREAT success!! In 2007 when we were in drought conditions here in NC, they actually did BETTER than this past summer when we had good amounts of rain. The plant doesn't grow very tall but the tomatoes are huge in size, covers a slice of bread easily!!! GREAT taste and large in size makes this a favorite of mine!!!!"
Review 13 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:wwxbill
From:Ewing, NJ
Reviewed On:January 14, 2009
Submitted By:wwxbill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This plant is a very very good plant. I give it A+
Reviewed On:January 14, 2009
"Very big tomatoes. Everyone should buy."
Review 14 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:DougakaMrTomato
From:Annandale, VA
Reviewed On:December 30, 2008
Submitted By:DougakaMrTomato
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone wants these
Reviewed On:December 30, 2008
"I love to grow tomatoes. Have grown this variety for the last two years with outstanding success (have always bought plants, did not start from seed). Produces large meaty tomatoes that cover the entire slice of bread, simply the best for BLT's. Last year a retired neighbor ask me to order him 3 plants. We had a contest who could grow the biggest Porterhouse. I won with a 31 oz tomato! This year another neighbor wants to try these. I have never had as many folks clamor to know what variety of tomato I am growing as with this Porterhouse beefsteak. Will be back for more in 2009."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:gardenperson
From:Iowa
Reviewed On:September 13, 2008
Submitted By:gardenperson
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomatoe as Expected
Reviewed On:September 13, 2008
"Purchased seeds for garden of 2008. Had a germination rate of 98%. Gave plants to friends to try in their gardens as well as my own. Excellent results by everyone. Big tomatoes, many to a plant, and well tasting. The size is what was advertised. One slice from these tomatoes covered a slice of bread for a BLT sandwhich. Will continue to plant in garden with other tomatoes I usually plant. First attempt was a success."
Review 16 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:AvidGardener
From:Olathe, KS
Reviewed On:January 21, 2008
Submitted By:AvidGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic tomato
Reviewed On:January 21, 2008
"I grew the Porterhouse Beefsteak tomato this past year (2007) for the first time. I was looking for a huge meaty tomato with great taste & I found it in this tomato. I will grow this tomato every year in the future. I shared some with my elderly neighbor & he was amazed at the size, texture & taste. If you are looking for a tomato that will cover an entire slice of bread with one slice, this is the one. They are very prolific producers. I did not have problems with getting spots on them & rotting before they were ripe."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Gill
From:Andover,Ma
Reviewed On:December 28, 2007
Submitted By:Gill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exxcellanttttttttt
Reviewed On:December 28, 2007
"I had excellant succcess with the Porterhouse Beefsteak Tomato , I north of Boston,Ma on New Hampshire Border with cool nights early they grew like crazy,I started indoors I had to give away some ,but best of all the tomatoes tasted great and as big if not bigger than the pictures . 2 1/2 to 3 Lbs most not just a few. I use the Sea Magic on all my vegetables it really works ."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KAmbrose
From:Upstate, NY
Reviewed On:December 16, 2007
Submitted By:KAmbrose
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! These are BIG tomatoes!
Reviewed On:December 16, 2007
"I purchased these last season and I had some germination issues, but I think I figured out the problem. These seeds really do not want to germinate when they are chilly. I initially planted them in peat pellets and placed them on the windowsill in my office. They didn't germinate at all and other varieties were way ahead of them. I ordered another pack and planted those, but I didn't give up on my first ones. As the windowsill got warmer, I started to see little sprouts and they quickly caught up to my other plants. I grow a lot of tomatoes and give plants to my friends, family and coworkers and everyone raved about the HUGE tomatoes this produced in abundance. My father and father in law have already put in their orders for me to grow them plants this year. Well done, Burpee!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Utahgardner
From:Sandy, Utah
Reviewed On:October 27, 2007
Submitted By:Utahgardner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porterhouse not just steak
Reviewed On:October 27, 2007
"I love large tomatoes. I've tried most of the large varieties offered by not only Burpee, but by others as well. Without a doubt, the porterhouse is th top of the line. Great taste, very little splitting, and it maintains the round shape well. I have received many favorable comments from friends that I give tomatos to each summer. Our growing season is about over so my family and friends will miss the best tomato ever until next year. Thanks Burpee"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomato, Porterhouse Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BillD
Reviewed On:September 29, 2007
Submitted By:BillD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beauties!
Reviewed On:September 29, 2007
"I live north of Boston and had excellent results with the Porterhouse plants. The beauty shown here weights 2.5 pounds. I also had great yields and had to give quite a few away!"