Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Rutgers

The legendary Jersey tomato, introduced in 1934, is a cross between J.T.D. (an old New Jersey variety from the Campbell Soup Co.) and Marglobe. Its flavor, both for slicing and cooking, is still unequaled. Red fruits are slightly flattened. Tall vines, Fusarium resistance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
2 out of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Rutgers
Review 1 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Raspberryguy
From:Pennsylvania
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:September 17, 2014
Submitted By:Raspberryguy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great learning tool
Reviewed On:September 17, 2014
"Planted Rutgers to start my 5 year old grandaughter in gardening, I thought it would show her the seed-to-table route taken by garden vegetables, and she could pick a few tomatoes here and there.
She and I planted 2 plants which we had started indoors, outside by a 6 foot high wooden fence in her yard. Between those 2 plants, which are now higher that the 6 foot fence, she goes out with a pail and brings in 6 or 7 tomatoes every 2 or 3 days!! This has been going on for almost three weeks and she asked the other day, 'Poppy, when will the plants be wore out'?
She is learning now about bumper crops and already wants to plant the same kind of tomatoes next year. Another lifelong gardener. Thanks, Burpee!!"
Review 2 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Wryter
From:Arizona, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:August 15, 2014
Submitted By:Wryter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best tasting ever!
Reviewed On:August 15, 2014
"I have to disagree with Citizen Kate from Kansas. Here in Kingman, AZ, summer temps from late June through early September regularly top 100 and often hit 112, and it's very dry. Needless to say I look for tomatoes that are heat and drought tolerant, while still being productive. Rutgers fills the bill. I started my Rutgers indoors on Feb 19 and moved them into the garden on March 6. At first I was disappointed because they developed so slowly and weren't setting any fruit, but in late June it took off and by July 18 I was harvesting my first of literally dozens of delicious 1 1/2" to 2" tomatoes. It's now August 15 and I just picked twenty vine ripened tomatoes from this SINGLE plant this morning and there are more than a dozen more forming as it is indeterminate and blooms and sets fruit continuously. Next to my cherry tomatoes it is the most productive tomato I've ever grown here.
This is my favorite tasting tomato -- and I grow several varieties (all heirlooms, so I can save the seeds) to be certain of getting a crop. I'll be growing these from now on. Oh, I'm from SE Kansas originally and we never had trouble growing any tomato so I suspect Citizen Kate's problem stems from overwatering or a mineral deficient soil."
Review 3 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:CitizenKate
From:Kansas, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 26, 2014
Submitted By:CitizenKate
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tasty tomatoes... not great in hotter climates
Reviewed On:July 26, 2014
"This variety is not very hardy in the climate I live in, where we usually get several days with highs in the 100's. They started out great, cranking out lots of new growth and setting lots of tomatoes, but as soon as the highs were getting into the upper-90's, they started developing all kinds of problems.
The one tomato I got from the two plants had a very good flavor, but I won't be raising any more of these here."
Review 4 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jamm
From:Western PA
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
Submitted By:Jamm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all-purpose tomato
Reviewed On:August 29, 2013
"Every year I like to try new tomato varieties but I always plant some Rutgers. I have yet to find a tomato that can beat the Rutgers for both taste and functionality. It is not only my favorite sandwich tomato because of the fantastic taste but it is also a good canning tomato. It tends to be more meaty with less seeds. It gives my salsa wonderful flavor. The only downfall is that the plants do get very large. If you have a small space this may pose a problem. For me I will continue to plant these wonderful tomatoes each year."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Grandaddy
From:Brooks, GA
Reviewed On:January 19, 2013
Submitted By:Grandaddy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tomato
Reviewed On:January 19, 2013
"No doubt the best tomato. Never water the plant, only the roots. Let the "Good Lord" water it. I want taste not beauty. Had friends to laugh at size, but what you want in a tomato is taste not size, put 2 or 3 slices on that sandwich!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:PAGarden
From:Pennsylvania
Reviewed On:March 9, 2011
Submitted By:PAGarden
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tasty Tomato
Reviewed On:March 9, 2011
"This tomato performs very well in my garden. The plants produce many tomatoes in a reasonable amount of time. Also, the tomatoes have a great taste and are just the right size. The only drawback I've discovered with these tomatoes is that mine seem to grow quite tall and they are a heavy plant; therefore, they require a good bit of staking, but I will continue to grow them!"
Review 7 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:archangel
Reviewed On:March 28, 2010
Submitted By:archangel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb taste
Reviewed On:March 28, 2010
"I have been gardening since 1996 and have grown many varieties of tomatoes during that time. I have found that as a slicing tomato there is no equal to the rutgers. I also use is with great success in sauces, salsa and stir frys.
Do yourself a favor and give this one a try, you will not be disappointed.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:LakeErieGarden
From:Lorain, OH
Reviewed On:November 4, 2007
Submitted By:LakeErieGarden
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You can find better heirlooms
Reviewed On:November 4, 2007
"I know Burpee knows their plants but they missed the mark saying this is "unequaled". Look, if you want a pretty good tasting tomato, this will beat almost every hybrid out there, but this does not at all compare to many of the other heirlooms out there."
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Ontario
Reviewed On:February 5, 2007
Submitted By:Ontario
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed On:February 5, 2007
"This is the only tomato I grow. Great to eat off the vine. Great for canning too. Nice size, no problems with splitting like the big tomatoes."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tomato, Rutgers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plant performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Peewee
From:Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
Submitted By:Peewee
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plant performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yield: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't take the heat
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
"Rutgers did not do well this hot summer which had several 100+ days. The taste is good but the plant cannot take the heat nor produce as well as the hybrids. One of my Rutger plants produced only one ripe fruit.
BTW, my family has been growing Rutgers since the early days it was introduced. When he was young, my (now deceased) grandfather planted two acres of tomatoes as a cash crop every year and Rutgers was always one of the varieties he planted."
9 of 11 found this review helpful.