Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid

Easy to grow and full of vitamins, Burpee A#1 has more flavor and sugar than other carrots, plus it has twice the vitamin A. It's super-sized too—10-12" long, yet still tender and juicy. Taste how good a carrot can be! GARDEN HINTS: Sow seed in deep, well-worked stone-free soil after danger of heavy frost in the spring. Do not transplant because crooked roots may result. A 1,500 seed packet sows a 40' row.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
4 out of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Review 1 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:RoofTopPigeon
From:Flint, MI, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:March 31, 2014
Submitted By:RoofTopPigeon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great No-Till Carrots.
Reviewed On:March 31, 2014
"With the Potentinial for 12"-inch growth these are Great Carrots for No-Till Methods to improve Soil-Areration
GROW these the first year in a New No-till bed; Great Natural TIlliage.
GREAT NO-TILL CARROT'S!!!
"
Review 2 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:dakotaplainsgdnr
From:Black Hills, United States
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:January 5, 2014
Submitted By:dakotaplainsgdnr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Carrots Ever Anywhere!
Reviewed On:January 5, 2014
"In rocky clay-ey sandy silt soil at the bottom of a canyon, carrots did poorly for us until we found Burpee A#1. When properly thinned, it reliably produces carrots better than any on the market. These carrots are not only incredibly tasty, they are nice and uniform with smooth thin skin. The length seems to be limited only by how well I pick the little stones out of the garden bed, and by how deep I get it loosened. I do not want to grow little bitty short carrots, and these are the only ones I have found that will make long roots. Even when planted late, I have always had a good crop with this variety. The only time they make small roots is when I don't get them thinned, which seems to be best when I thin to 2" apart. I can't imagine why Burpee doesn't show this in the catalog I got in the mail. Last year I found some in a big-box store and bought several packets. Glad to see they are here on the website. Please, Burpee, please never discontinue these!"
Review 3 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Cjalonen
From:Seabeck, WA.
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:Cjalonen
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stunted growth?
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"Not sure what I did wrong, but I just couldn't get these babies to grow. (Aren't carrots supposed to be the easiest thing to grow? I'm a failed gardener! haha) I finally ended up yanking the whole batch of finger-sized carrots because I needed the garden space for fall planting, but they ended up very nice in a spicy pickle brine. I'm trying them again for fall."
Review 4 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HuskerMike
From:Waterloo, Iowa
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:November 20, 2011
Submitted By:HuskerMike
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT CARROT
Reviewed On:November 20, 2011
"Over the past 45 years or so of gardening I have tried most varities of carrots and generally found that for my soil, growing conditions etc your Danvers & Nantes Half Longs produced best for me. This year in addition I planted your A#1 Hybrid for the first time. I have just completed my harvest and canning of my carrots The A#1 is OUTSTNDING, nicely tapered, excellent uniformity and best of all the taste is wonderful, both raw and cooked (last night for dinner). When I pealed them I could tell right away that the skin was much thinner and very uniform in texture. As this was a new varity to me I only planted 3- 4 foot long rows, but harvested enough A#1 carrots to can 2qts of whole carrots and 5 pints of diced carrots and have a bag full in the refrigator. Great carrot and I surley will plant more next season.
PS: In our climate I never dig carrots until they have been hit by several hard frosts, we find that this really sweetens them up and that the core turns color to the same as the outside of the carrott. THANKS FOR A GREAT PRODUCT.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:peewee8400
From:Upstat New York
Reviewed On:April 6, 2010
Submitted By:peewee8400
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice straight shaft
Reviewed On:April 6, 2010
"I loved these carrots. They grew nice and straight. The seeds are a little larger so they are easier to handle. Nice sweet flavor and texture."
Review 6 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
From:Pa
Reviewed On:August 13, 2009
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
funky carrots
Reviewed On:August 13, 2009
"I bought a packet of these seeds and they have produced crazy looking carrots, i get a laugh everytime i pull one up! Normally i'd be upset about weird looking carrots but these just crack me up.. i have had some quite straight carrots but they just arent as funny.."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Jessalyn03
From:Southern Maryland
Reviewed On:January 18, 2009
Submitted By:Jessalyn03
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these carrots!
Reviewed On:January 18, 2009
"I've never grown carrots before as I was always scared to try them since I've heard that they were hard to grow. I picked up a packet of these carrots at the store and figured why not. I grew them in a new raised bed which was only dug about 6 inches deep. I was worried that they would not do well however; I was wrong.
First, they had an outstanding germination rate. Second, they were long and thin with an excellent flavor. Third, they did well in both the spring and falll; although, they did slow in the summer but they still tasted excellent.
These are now a staple in my garden."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrot, Burpee A#1 Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:drmar
From:Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
Submitted By:drmar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plant performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yield: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delicious long pointed carrots
Reviewed On:August 26, 2006
"If you like long, thin, pointed carrots with sweet flavor and virtually no core, these are for you.
These carrots grow very long (6" or more) under proper conditions, so if your soil is rocky you will want to sift it at least 8-9" down for best results.
These carrots really do need to be thinned per package directions or they will grow twisted around each other.
No matter what I do, I always wind up with about 10%-20% "mutant" carrots (multiple roots and/or root stunted just below the surface). It has happened to me with 3 different kinds of carrot seed - not just the A#1 - so it is likely due either to my weather or soil conditions. Still, I figured it was worth mentioning as you may want to sow a bit more than you think you will need to get the expected yield.
I recommend that you purchase a Burpee seed sower for these seeds if you don't have one already [Garden Gear section]. It is a frustrating back-breaker to try sowing these seeds without that handy little contraption! If you are a novice gardener, it may be easier for you to purchase carrot seed on tape. [Unfortunately right now Burpee doesn't offer seed tape for the A#1... maybe they will in the future...]"
13 of 13 found this review helpful.