Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom

Beautiful and tasty heirloom varieties chosen for a rainbow of colors and range of flavors from mild to sweet to tangy. The mix is composed equally of Bonny Best (red), Brandywine Pink (pink), Golden Sunburst (yellow), Black Krim (purple), Evergreen (green) and Djena Lee's Golden Girl (orange).
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Review 1 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:New2Gardening
From:MN
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 18, 2014
Submitted By:New2Gardening
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lots of Flavors
Reviewed On:September 18, 2014
"I started the tomatoes indoors by a window sill I later transferred them outside. They are really easy to grow and the taste is amazing. I got various sizes and shapes out of my batch. I am so pleased with it I'm buying it again for next year!"
Review 2 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:NLPfoodie
From:Mahopac, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 26, 2014
Submitted By:NLPfoodie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overwhelmed with Tomatoes!
Reviewed On:August 26, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I planted these indoors in late march using a Burpee seed starting system and had fantastic results! Basically everything sprouted (including ribbed zucchini, cucumbers, basil, california peppers, and my sweet nasturtiums - some of which are pictured)...at this point I am overrun with HUGE tomatoes but who can complain about that? The tomatoes are delicious have been keeping me busy with salads, bruschettas, salsas, even sauce! While not "sauce" tomatoes, I roasted up a mixture anyway and turned them into sauce which my boyfriend raved about. My grandfather religiously used Burpee seeds as do I, so thank you for helping me to successfully carry on his tradition. He'd be proud!"
Review 3 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:figgie4ever
From:DC
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:October 4, 2012
Submitted By:figgie4ever
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bad Picture!
Reviewed On:October 4, 2012
"The picture showed here is extremely inaccurate. The tomatoes sown in the various colors are not actually the tomatoes tat you are buying."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Jenna
From:Cheektowaga, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 22, 2012
Submitted By:Jenna
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One color short of a rainbow
Reviewed On:August 22, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this package of seeds and planted every seed. To my amazement every seed took! I myself kept 28 plants and gave the rest away to friends. However because of this I can say for sure that not every tomato that was represented in the package was present, specifically the "Green Sausage" variety. I was just a little disappointed because I've never seen a tomato quite like that before. I will say the seeds I did get are amazing. With my TLC every plant I kept is taller than me! I'm 5'3 so that's saying something."
Review 5 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:southerngardener
From:Raleigh, NC, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 16, 2012
Submitted By:southerngardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tastes Great!
Reviewed On:July 16, 2012
"I recently bought a house and this was my first year vegetable garden. I LOVE heirloom tomato and could not wait to try this one out. I was excited because I was not sure which plants I would get.
Planted the seeds late winter (it was rather warm winter here) and moved them outside around easter. I was getting such awesome tomato but since i did not know which ones were growing, I was not sure of the ripeness. (hindsight, should try one variety to grow first, then go for the mix)
I windstorm knock some of my early crop off and I had to eat some green. Even then, there are SOOOO delicious. I can eat them like an apple, right off the plant or with some basil and balsamic vinegar. They are perfect for slicing. Since I am not sure which ones I am growing, I can tell they are ripe right around a yellow-red stage. Already planning planting twice the number of these next year."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:RitaPDX
From:Portland, OR
Reviewed On:October 20, 2009
Submitted By:RitaPDX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tomatoes
Reviewed On:October 20, 2009
"I am a new gardener, this is my first vegetable garden. Still, I got 3 healthy plants from the package. One of them is Omar's Lebanese and it produced 3 amazing fruits, each between 20 and 24 oz. The second is Dutchman Pink. This plant we nicknamed as slow poke since it took forever to have fruit on it. I took one of the tomatoes and put it on the kitchen counter while it was still pink. When it ripened, we ate and it was delicious. The third is full of fruits but they will probably not ripen. All in all, nice package and I will use the rest of the seeds next year."
Review 7 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:RBowen
From:Virginia Beach, VA
Reviewed On:September 18, 2009
Submitted By:RBowen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Variety & Easy to Grow
Reviewed On:September 18, 2009
"I decided to plant a few tomato plants on my balcony one day and figured it would be cheaper to grow the plants from seeds. As a kid my parents always had a large garden and every spring we would plant our tomatoes in Dixie Cups and then transfer the seedlings outdoors once the weather was acceptable for the plants. As a kid we would normally only yield about ¼ of what we planted. I was shocked when almost every seed I planted sprouted into healthy plants. I kept three plants for my self and gave the rest of the seedlings to anyone who wanted them. The results have been the same across the board; everyone has large healthy plants producing fruit about the size of a tennis ball."
Review 8 for Tomato, Rainbow Blend Heirloom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:youngsmith
From:N. NJ
Reviewed On:August 25, 2009
Submitted By:youngsmith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Different mix
Reviewed On:August 25, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The mix on my label lists some different varieties than the label on this site.
I planted these from seed in the early spring in peat pots then transfered to various sunny locations around the yard. NJ has been exceedingly wet this year and all my neighbors complain that their tomatoes are not producing or have a disease.
Every one of these plants have produced, but only 1 tomato has ripened so far. I think it is the Dutchman (pink) or it is 4 tomatoes merged together?
I gave it to my grandkids to finish ripening on their window sill. And to allow the only other fruit on this plant to ripen.
All the plants are healthier looking than any other year. All but this one are heavy with tomatoes. The fruit on some are starting to split because of the rain - any advice?
My daughter posted a pic of this on facebook where it is creating quite a stir.
"