Product Reviews

Garlic, Sonoran

Sonoran is very early harvesting so you have garlic before anyone else and it grows well in the great American Southwest from Austin/San Antonio all the way to San Diego. If it grows well in the Sonoran Desert, for which it is named. Harvests VERY early - late spring to early Summer - stores until around November-December.
Average Customer Rating:
1.727 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
Customer Reviews for Garlic, Sonoran
Review 1 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:pantlady
From:Montana, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:July 13, 2014
Submitted By:pantlady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ph meter good meter if you do this
Reviewed On:July 13, 2014
"when i first got this meter i did the same thing as every body else and tested water and orange juice and the meter did not move at all so i purchased a digital meter and it did the same thing it would not read any thing other than 7 either even after cleaning the probe of both meters
here is what i have discovered the hard way when you stick these meters in water the probe absorbs some kind of mineral from the water making it not able to register either water or orange juice or any thing else
so here is the solution that i came up with clean your probe ends with a soft scrubby then insert it into viinager that cleans off the probe of all the contaminants on the probe leave it in the viniger till the meter reads about 4-4.2 it might take some time for the vinager to work you might have to use the soft scrubby several times before it works right again then you can test your soil and do not put it into a glass of water because that will contaminate the probe ends again so it will not read any thing
after that you will not have clean it again or to do any thing to the meter just stick it in the ground that cleans the probe automatically with the soil
bottom line "DON'T USE WATER TO TEST THESE METERS"
also make sure your soil is moist use a water meter to measure the moisture before use
because all these meters work of off the ability to transmit electricity through the soil and dry soil does not transmit electricity
NOW BOTH MY METERS WORK and are pretty close to each other in readings
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Douglass
From:Ohio
Reviewed On:June 2, 2013
Submitted By:Douglass
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will return immediatly!
Reviewed On:June 2, 2013
"Stuck it in orange juice that is around 2.8 ph. The tester said it was 6.0.
That is beyond in accurate. Good thing Lowes has a good return policy because that is exactly where this thing is going!
Yeah, yeah, I know..... It's not meant to measure orange juice. But since I work on instrumentation, I know if it has a scale from 1-9 then it should measure anything in that range. The claim is that it measures ph accurately. Not even remotely true!
"
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:SDgardenpal
From:San Diego, CA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:May 22, 2013
Submitted By:SDgardenpal
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible Product
Reviewed On:May 22, 2013
"I tested four different beds which were all certainly in need of some help. After following the directions carefully, the needle never moved. Always stayed right between 6 and 7. It's obviously a piece of junk... but I can't figure out why Burpee sells this. Such high quality products normally. VERY DISAPPOINTED!"
Review 4 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:SandyT
From:LaOtto, IN
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:May 11, 2013
Submitted By:SandyT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a piece of JUNK!
Reviewed On:May 11, 2013
"Like the other reviews, the needle on the tester stays the same for ph no matter what I test. I did two different tests and the results we all the same. I can't believe Burpee even still has this for sale. What a waste of $20!"
Review 5 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:durtyboots
From:Virginia
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:April 27, 2013
Submitted By:durtyboots
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
soil tester
Reviewed On:April 27, 2013
"Like the other reviews, the needle on the tester stays the same for ph no matter what I test. I did three tests, the results were all the same, highly unlikely as one was from the compost pit. On the last sample I added two tablespoons of lime to the 2 cups of soil, mixed it up, let it sit overnight, test results were the same ph 7 fertility 6.5...What gives..How about an answer from you guys or a refund."
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:nancyjo
From:Highland, IN, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:April 7, 2013
Submitted By:nancyjo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
electronic soil tester
Reviewed On:April 7, 2013
"i followed the directions and the reading stayed between 6 and 7 all the time. i'm so disappointed!!!"
Review 7 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Debi
From:Delaware, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:March 19, 2013
Submitted By:Debi
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On the fence with this tester
Reviewed On:March 19, 2013
"I picked this up to get instant readings on the soil of my potted plants and garden. Like the other reviews stated it stays between 6-7 pH with the switch in any position. I would think in the off position the meter needle would drop down. I stuck it in the ground and came back over 2 minutes later with the reading still between 6-7. I tested the soil there with the pH strips and they were 5.5. The instructions say to place soil in container and add water then drain water and stick the prongs in the mud for 2 minutes. This is entirely too much trouble for what I bought this for. I have the tester strips for that. Since purchasing this I found a no name pH meter at a farm supply store for less than half the cost of this one and it reads in 30 seconds. The cheap meter needle drops down on the far left when off. I compared both to the pH strips and I think the Burpee is not functioning properly. I am returning it tomorrow."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:greenfinger
From:new orleans
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:March 18, 2013
Submitted By:greenfinger
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Questionable test results
Reviewed On:March 18, 2013
"The needle NEVER moves from between 6 and 7 on the scale and I mean NEVER. Tried moving the switch. No help. Even in OFF it is still stuck between 6 and 7. I figured it would go to ZERO when OFF. NOPE! Tried soil, tap water, reverse osmosis water, distilled water, chicken drop, cat feces, urine. Still stuck between 6 and 7 everytime. Did you notice in the pictures on this website Burpee's tester is also stuck between 6 and 7. Coincidence? I don't think so. I'm beginning to think there is no circuitry inside this thing."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:LawnGuy
From:MN
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:June 11, 2012
Submitted By:LawnGuy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not seem to work very well
Reviewed On:June 11, 2012
"I used this precisely as the instructions directed, but I am not convinced this works accurately. I stuck it into a glass of lemon and water (testing pH) and did get a reasonable result (3.5) but the result I got for my lawn soil was 6.5, this was much higher than the 5 we got from a professional tester. I am not sure if this is working properly. I wish I new, because I don't want to lime the soil in my yard until I am sure it is acidic. It would be helpful if the instructions were more complete. It might be nice to give instructions on a way to test the tool."
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Burpee:By Burpee ExpertCustomer ServiceJune 19, 2012
This unit is designed to give you an instant read of the free electrons in the soil. If the measurements were taken on different days there could be a number of reasons as to that difference The unit is not meant to replace the professional pH units. Also the moisture in your lawn will play role in read the pH level.
Burpee products are covered by a one year guarantee. Please contact Burpee customer service via their website
Review 10 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:MountainGardner
From:N. Sierra Nevada
Reviewed On:August 4, 2011
Submitted By:MountainGardner
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Reviewed On:August 4, 2011
"When used as directed it works well. Soil must be very wet--muddy. Not designed to measure a lemon. Needs a couple of minutes to read the soil. Very useful for adjusting soil for various plants. The directions recommend using distiller water to wet the soil, I use the well water as that is mostly what plants get here in the summer."
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garlic, Sonoran
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Modemmad99
From:North Andover, MA
Reviewed On:May 22, 2011
Submitted By:Modemmad99
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Electronic Soil Tester -- Does it really work?
Reviewed On:May 22, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Greetings,
After testing the soil in 6 spots in my lawn and getting the same reading in all spots, I because suspicious of the accuracy of this product.
To validate I stuck the probes directly in a lemon. A lemon is about 2.3 pH. Check the image. What's wrong with this picture?"
13 of 23 found this review helpful.