Product Reviews

Burpee Greenhouse Kits

Grow perfect seedlings every time with our new Burpee Greenhouse Kit. Each greenhouse comes with a bottom watering tray, seed tray and germination cover. Our complete kit includes the greenhouse, our new Super Growing Cubes and 6 Burpee labels.
Average Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Review 1 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TallyGardener
From:Tallahassee, FL
Reviewed On:February 27, 2006
Submitted By:TallyGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Seed Starter Kit
Reviewed On:February 27, 2006
"This seed starting kit is truly amazing. I got the kit on a Friday planted vegetable seeds that day and by the following Monday half of my seeds had already sprouted. That's just 3 DAYS!"
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:iceenobugs
From:Pasco, Wa
Reviewed On:February 25, 2009
Submitted By:iceenobugs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to any beginner
Reviewed On:February 25, 2009
"Why would I recommend this to any beginner? I have tried many ways to start seeds. I'm an admitted killer of seeds. I purchased this system last year in hopes of changing that image. This is the first seed starting system that has actually worked for me! I liked it so well, I bought 3 more, and plan to buy two more this year. All seeds sprouted in alloted time or sooner and THRIVED! I noticed however, the instructions leave a lot to be desired. It doesn't tell you about the proper placement of the pellets. If the pellets are not placed correctly (flat side down) in the cells before adding water, take care not to move pellets when pouring or they will become hopelessly impossible to remove, unless you cut them out, after they expand in the cells. It's all in the placement of the pellets. The cover, should never be used unless in extreme dry conditions otherwise, the soiless growing medium will certainly mold from too much trapped moisture. Most people, do not know how simple growing with soiless mediums can be. I highly recommend checking into it before starting, so you won't be frustrated. Good Luck."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:nick1e
From:Philadelphia
Reviewed On:July 13, 2006
Submitted By:nick1e
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewed On:July 13, 2006
This customer did not provide a text review.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Caseyy
Reviewed On:March 1, 2006
Submitted By:Caseyy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!
Reviewed On:March 1, 2006
"This product was just amazing. I had planted tomatoes, peppers, even herbs, and from the first 3 days to a week everything had sprouted! This is easily something I will purchase next year."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:glacierac
From:Charlotte, NC
Reviewed On:February 1, 2006
Submitted By:glacierac
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glacierac
Reviewed On:February 1, 2006
"A complete kit that is easy to use. Has a self watering pad that goes under the tray. I set it up 2 weeks ago and have not added water yet. All seeds have sprouted. Very happy."
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:unsightly
From:South Chicago Suburbs
Reviewed On:May 8, 2010
Submitted By:unsightly
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than peat pots
Reviewed On:May 8, 2010
"This greenhouse system worked really well, I had about 97% germination per tray. A couple things: Make sure the pellets are facing the right way before adding the water, they are a pain to reposition after you moisten them. The cells were a little difficult to remove when it was time to transplant, even with a dowel rod. Also, once you fill the bottom of the tray with water you will not be able to move it anywhere else. Make sure it is exactly where you want it before filling. Next year I will put the greenhouse on a sturdy wood tray with handles so I can move it if needed."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:pcthiker
From:Oakland, CA
Reviewed On:April 8, 2009
Submitted By:pcthiker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great at some things; not at others
Reviewed On:April 8, 2009
"The wicking mat does its job extraordinarily well. And I solved the flimsiness issue by putting a tray under the kit. The mat pulls up exactly the right amount of water to keep my seedlings growing well. When I take the plants out of the little cells and move them to 3" peat pots, I leave those pots on the mat, and get similar results. The big problem I had is with the growing pellets. They expand too much for the cells, giving me some difficulty when trying to extract the seedlings. I will be using starting soil after the first year's use. Overall I like the kit well enough that I ordered a second one."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:BrentInOakParkIL
Reviewed On:May 15, 2007
Submitted By:BrentInOakParkIL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for growing plants from seeds
Reviewed On:May 15, 2007
"I bought the greenhouse kit in spring 2006 and used it to grow tomato plants from seeds. It works well but the plastic should be thicker. Some of the plant wells have cracked on the side."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Saunders84
From:Troy, NC 27371, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:April 10, 2014
Submitted By:Saunders84
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok but could be better
Reviewed On:April 10, 2014
"Worst thing about this product it the cells being too small. It does take some time to remove the plant s from the cells with our disturbing the roots. ? That being said I have reused this over and over this season, so no complaints on the durability."
Review 10 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:Scarecrow
From:Sparks, NV
Reviewed On:June 7, 2011
Submitted By:Scarecrow
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Indoor seed starting
Reviewed On:June 7, 2011
"Well it may work some places but not that good in Zone 7. Had all 72 cells planted in stages and had 95% failure overall. 20% of the seeds did not sprout. The system is EZ to use and has great watering. The problem is that you need the hot pad and light system to make it all work. The seeds that sprouted grew to about 2" and stopped growing. It is very hard to get the plants out of the tray in one piece."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:CarolinaHeirloom
From:North Carolina
Reviewed On:April 11, 2010
Submitted By:CarolinaHeirloom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not that Great!!
Reviewed On:April 11, 2010
"Did not have the same success as the Ultimate Growing System. Only about a quarter of the cells sprouted. Probably because the water tray really doesn't keep the cells watered. Better to spend a little extra and get one that you wont have to do a lot of baby sitting."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Shaun
From:Central IL
Reviewed On:June 12, 2009
Submitted By:Shaun
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Functionally Great/Quality Stinks
Reviewed On:June 12, 2009
"The kit started my seeds wonderfully. I even kept them in the containers for quite a long time. However, I'm VERY dissapointed in the quality of the containers. The base is very flimsy requiring 2 hands and even disbursement of cells in it. And the cell packs were so thin that they tore when I got my seedlings out. I was really hoping to use these for several years, not just one."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:Anonymous
Reviewed On:May 17, 2007
Submitted By:Anonymous
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Needs Improving
Reviewed On:May 17, 2007
"I purchased 3 complete kits and filled the cells with Burpee seeds as instructed. I found the cells to be too small & way too thin and they cracked or folded making removal of transplants difficult if not destructive. Concept is good but product specs need improving.."
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:ErinA
From:Charleston, SC
Reviewed On:January 31, 2009
Submitted By:ErinA
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hard to remove the plants
Reviewed On:January 31, 2009
"I purchased this last year. While the greenhouse was great for starting seeds, I found it almost impossible to get the seedlings out of the system to plant them outside. I had to destroy the container to get them out without killing the plants. It did everything it said it would and if the planting containers were re-designed, I would buy it again."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:GunnyW
From:Sylvester, Ga
Reviewed On:June 5, 2008
Submitted By:GunnyW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A Waste of Money
Reviewed On:June 5, 2008
"I purchased the kit this year (2008). I have yet to get a single plant to live long enough to plant. About half the seedlings were killed off by mold. The other half died before they were strong enough to plant outdoors. I was disappointed with the quality of materials used to make the kit, too thin and flimsy. I will not be ordering this kit again, or reusing it next year. Waste of my time and money."
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Burpee Greenhouse Kits
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Brigitte
From:St. Paul, MN
Reviewed On:May 27, 2008
Submitted By:Brigitte
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad purchase choice
Reviewed On:May 27, 2008
"The "dirt" matter produced a fair amount of mold on my new seedlings. Yes, they sprouted like they were supposed to, but they were then killed off by mold. I followed the instructions to a T. Even with no cover on top, the mold continues to grow."
3 of 4 found this review helpful.