Product Reviews

Okra, Chant Hybrid

Other than delicious, okra's flavor defies easy description. Okra fruits add heft to soups and stews—and are tasty fried or boiled. Growing from 2 to 6'', Okra is at its tastiest, tenderest best when the pods are smaller. Loaded with protein, minerals and fiber, okra is the indispensable ingredient in gumbo, adding depth of flavor and thickness. Indeed the name for okra in Africa—where it originated—is gumbo.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Customer Reviews for Okra, Chant Hybrid
Review 1 for Okra, Chant Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:AnuBean
From:Maryland
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:AnuBean
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stays Tender
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
"Seeds germinate very well. I started seed indoors (which was probably a mistake) to try to get a jump on the season. Okra grew quickly and became a little pot-bound before I planted outdoors. Grew happily outdoors to a height of about 3 feet but weren't very productive. The pods stayed tender even beyond four inches though--which I can't say for the clemson variety. I will definitely try these again and put in more effort to get them productive."
Review 2 for Okra, Chant Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Daveinflorida
From:Rockledge, FL, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 20, 2013
Submitted By:Daveinflorida
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous Fruit, Incredible Production
Reviewed On:July 20, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have never grown such incredible okra. My wife was a little skeptical at first but now she is just shaking her head with glee! We can't believe how much okra these plants have produced. The fruit is incredibly large compared to the standard okra as can be seen in the first photo. I was looking for a good summer crop to grow and this is it here in Rockledge, Florida. Just can"t say enough and it taste better than it looks!"
Review 3 for Okra, Chant Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:okramaven
From:Illinois
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:June 14, 2013
Submitted By:okramaven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okra disaster
Reviewed On:June 14, 2013
"problem with spindly seedlings, seed leaf broke off if any soil was attached, very poor plant yield"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Okra, Chant Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Lou14
From:New Orleans, LA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 11, 2012
Submitted By:Lou14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chant Hybrid Okra
Reviewed On:May 11, 2012
"Virtually every seed germinated! The seedlings look strong and healthy."
Review 5 for Okra, Chant Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:BurpeeGardenExpert
From:Warminster, PA
Reviewed On:November 18, 2011
Submitted By:BurpeeGardenExpert
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delicious, Tender Pods Great for Lots of Dishes
Reviewed On:November 18, 2011
"I sautéed, simmered, fried, souped and canned this variety, and still there was more! My favorite thing about 'Chant' is that the pods remain tender and edible at 5". The extra-long pods make great stand-alones on an hors d'oeuvres platter; they also amount to a lot quickly when sliced, so harvesters on the go can just grab a few and still get dinner to the table on time."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.