Product Reviews

Corn, On Deck Hybrid

And now on deck sweet corn! Ever so tasty breakthrough bicolor variety is perfectly sized—4-5' tall—to spend the summer on your deck, patio, or terrace, adding vertical interest as well as producing two to three delicious 7-8" long ears per stalk. This first-ever container-ready corn is a revolution—one you can enjoy from the comfort of your patio. Simply plant 9 seeds per 24" container and get ready to harvest in about 2 months! Supersweet (Sh2). For best germination results, make sure that soil temperature is above 55 degrees Fahrenheit prior to planting.
Average Customer Rating:
2.521 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Customer Reviews for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Review 1 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KLUMANCHU
From:Butler Pa.
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 23, 2014
Submitted By:KLUMANCHU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Corn Ever!
Reviewed On:February 23, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I must admit I was very skeptical about the claims made about this corn. I planted it in a 8x4x8 raised bed and was pleasantly surprised. I will admit we had a great growing season last year but this corn got huge growing 6-7ft tall easy. Most plants got two ears and they were long ears. It was by far the sweetest corn I ever tasted. I gave a few ears to friends and neighbors and they just raved about it saying the same thing. We got around 5 dozen ears out of that one raised bed. I still can't believe how sweet it was. Ordering some more today and expanding my beds just for it."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Anthony
From:North Potomac, MD
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 4, 2014
Submitted By:Anthony
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sweet corn, fun to grow on my deck
Reviewed On:January 4, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The corn is very sweet, but here are some tips to obtain full cobs of corn. I planted the seeds indoors in large Styrofoam cups under grow lights. Once they were 16" tall, I transplanted them into "Mel's mix" (Google "Mel's mix" or "square foot gardening" to learn more). The stalks grow fast. Here is the real trick: Because corn pollinates using the wind, if you don't have a large corn field, your cobs won't pollinate. You need to help nature. When the tassels on top are ready to shed their pollen, shake them into a plastic container or bag. The pollen will fall off into your container. Swipe your finger to collect the pollen from the container and then apply the pollen on your finger to the silk. Each silk string needs a piece of pollen to develop a kernel of corn on the cob, so just keep smothering it. Google how to pollinate corn by hand. It's easy and not too time consuming. The corn was very sweet!"
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:KCKim
From:Kansas City
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:December 13, 2013
Submitted By:KCKim
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Raccoons Love It
Reviewed On:December 13, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was pleased with the germination and the growth. It looked beautiful on my deck, next to the container water garden (a 2x2x4 galvanized stock tank). The ears developed very nicely. The raccoons loved it. And to think I'd made it all so convenient for them. . . food and water, side by side. Live and learn. I will grow this again next year, but erecting some kind of barrier to keep the raccoons from getting the corn before I do."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:smyrna2013
From:Smyrna, DE
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:October 10, 2013
Submitted By:smyrna2013
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awsome Corn
Reviewed On:October 10, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"2013 was the first time I ever tried to grow sweet corn. I will say that this On Deck corn was by far sweeter than any corn I've had from any local farm stand in a long time. I planted three rows in my 4' by 12' garden bed and all of my seeds came up. Each stalk was well over 6ft tall and had at least 3 ears each, and all of the ears were nice and full and super sweet. I definitely will be growing this again for 2014. Thanks to Burpee for such an awesome corn!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Mom2gingers
From:Tidewater, VA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:October 6, 2013
Submitted By:Mom2gingers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't wait for next season!
Reviewed On:October 6, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was fantastic! Thanks to our 2 four legged gardeners, we ended up with only 9 plants even though all but 1 sprouted. We had 13 super ears & a few odd ones, but I hope that was due more to our uneven rain pattern this spring. They were much tastier & less $$ than what I could get at the grocery store this summer. We are reserving extra space in next summer's garden!"
Review 6 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Cjalonen
From:Seabeck, WA.
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:Cjalonen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice surprise
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I decided at the last minute to plant these in the ground instead of containers and we've been pretty happy with them. It was my first time growing corn, so I'm just happy to have corn at all. Each stalk that grew (only 20 of the 30 seeds in the packet came up) each have 2 ears of corn on them and the ones we've picked and eaten so far are divine. Some that are still left are pretty small and I'm not sure they're going to fill out as well - we stopped pollinating by hand a few weeks back, so maybe they didn't have enough help..."
Review 7 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:texasmama6
From:fort worth,tx
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 4, 2013
Submitted By:texasmama6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
somewhat great corn
Reviewed On:July 4, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I order this and put the seeds in my earthbox
it grew and grew,i had corns everywhere in late june I harvest about 8
big ears and 3 or 4 small ones!the taste was soooo sweet I did not need
any butter but I did anyway,so today we harvest the rest and was very disappointed
no more big corns and what was left all was dry up even after watering 2 time aday
and I gave them some nutrient also so the first pic is corn looking good for june and
the second pic show what I harvest today 7/4/13
"
Review 8 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HiddenMeadowsGardener
From:Escondido, CA, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:June 24, 2013
Submitted By:HiddenMeadowsGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic taste and great germination!
Reviewed On:June 24, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am a first time gardener and was determined to grow some corn in my 500 sq ft plot. I wanted to try On Deck as I figured it wouldn't need so much space. Seeds were planted directly in the soil and I used a floating row cover to keep bugs from being an issue while they sprouted, and of course, consistent moisture. I had easily 90% germination and the stalks have grown at least 8 feet tall! I fertilized with a balanced organic fertilizer at time of planting, in soil amended with compost and worm castings. Admittedly, I am confused at the dizzying height this corn reached, but since I am not using containers or restricted to a patio, the height has not been an issue. Weatherwise, we've had very little rain, so irrigation is drip tape, and spring has been the usual for this area with fluctuating highs between high 60's and high 80's.
There have been 2 ears per stalk, and they are huge and DELICIOUS! Far superior to the Sugar Dots I also planted. Very few of these ears have actually made it into the pot, as my family keeps stealing them from the garden and eating them raw. I will stick with this variety for next year!"
Review 9 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Lynnk
From:Woodstock, Ga
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:June 20, 2013
Submitted By:Lynnk
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Corn on the Deck, Now that's Cool
Reviewed On:June 20, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Couldn't wait to try this. Some of my friends are waiting to see if I'm crazy. Well it works !! I think 90 percent of seed
germinated so I just added a few extra and now I have 16 plants in 2 long planters on my deck. They are about 5 feet tall
heads have formed and little corn cobs are there. I am thrilled with the results so far , had to take lots of pictures, will
be ordering seed again. I've tried corn in a big bed in the yard and it didn't do as well as this. Thanks to whoever came
up with this.
"
Review 10 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:SusanH
From:Easton, PA, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:June 17, 2013
Submitted By:SusanH
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised
Reviewed On:June 17, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was skeptical after reading the reviews and seeing how shriveled the seeds were, but planted about 10 seeds in a large barrel. They took a while to germinate but every seed sprouted and grew extremely well. I planted green beans in the same container as a companion plant and everything is growing beautifully. Cant wait to see how they produce. I don't understand why so many are having trouble with these. I will be growing them again next year :)"
Review 11 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Leef
From:Mississippi
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:May 27, 2013
Submitted By:Leef
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Corn is growing tall...
Reviewed On:May 27, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I planted 9 seeds and 8 came up (see the picture). The only problem I am having now is that the stalks are falling over and are not standing up straight. This picture was taken a few weeks ago. Any suggestions?"
Review 12 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:alohababe
From:O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed On:May 13, 2013
Submitted By:alohababe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great container crop!
Reviewed On:May 13, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"started the seeds using the papertowel-baggie method as the birds in my area are mean and had 100 percent germination rate.i planted 3 on my front porch with some dwarf sunflowers not really expecting them to have ears but they did! so i actually started a pot and all 9 seedlings are now developing tassles!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:cyberrat
From:Ohio
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:March 19, 2014
Submitted By:cyberrat
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont waste your money
Reviewed On:March 19, 2014
"If you are just wanting corn stalks this is the corn to buy the stalks grew very well but not one ear of corn. I was so disappointed with this. I grew it summer 2013. I had no problems with regular corn that summer. I really liked the of having pots of this growing around the yard. But I also wanted corn which I did not get from it."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HollisterBulldawg
From:Hollister, CA
Reviewed On:March 6, 2014
Submitted By:HollisterBulldawg
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice plant
Reviewed On:March 6, 2014
"We put about nine seeds in several 20 gallon pots and then thinned them to 5 in each pot. The plants grew to about 5-6' tall. Looked like a corn field in the courtyard. Very country feeling. The resulting ears were about 8-12" long, about 3-5 per stalk. Lots of tassles. We did not pick the corn but let it go for the birds. I am reordering for this year. Very satisfied with this plant."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Kryztoff
From:New Jersey
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 24, 2014
Submitted By:Kryztoff
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not produce any fruit.
Reviewed On:February 24, 2014
"The "On Deck Hybrid" both looks and sounds like an excellent idea, but in reality this variety of corn is extremely picky and difficult to grow. I had 5 stalks growing in a 24" well-drained container (and the site says up to 6), and while the corn seeds all germinated, they failed to grow taller than 2 feet and did not produce fruit. The plants sat in full sun all day and were watered regularly. The corn silks emerged, but they never grew past 2 inches. I was extremely dissatisfied, as that planter could have gone to something more productive. I will not be trying this corn again. Varieties that are sown directly in the ground are much better."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:cynnomore
From:Bronx, NY, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 17, 2014
Submitted By:cynnomore
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did Not Live Up To It's Hype!
Reviewed On:February 17, 2014
"I was so excited when this was first offered. Imagine, a corn plant that can grow in a container. My 21st balcony garden has always gotten attention as I have things growing that no one knew was possible on the 21st floor. (I don't know why. People have been gardening on rooftops for decades.) So I thought I'd give them something that would REALLY amaze them. So I ordered the seeds. Well, they did grow and eventually husks were formed, but in all 5 plants, they were empty inside. What a buzz kill! But everyone gave me an "A" for effort."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Burpee:By Burpee ExpertcustservFebruary 25, 2014
A representative from customer service will contact you soon however, poorly filled ears result from ineffective or incomplete pollination. Pollen grains produced on the tassels must fall on the sticky silks for complete pollination to occur. Each strand of silk is attached to 2 kernels, so for each silk that is pollinated, two kernels will develop on the ear. Corn pollen is spread by the wind it is essential to plant in a block pattern, (3 x 3) for proper cross pollination. Poor pollination can also occur from lack of water; hot, dry winds; or damage to silks from insects.
Review 17 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:CallyS
From:Dayton, OH, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:January 8, 2014
Submitted By:CallyS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy & Delicious
Reviewed On:January 8, 2014
"I found this corn to be a very easy grow. I planted 4 pots as recommended, (for pollination) but the squirrels got into the pots and ate the corn seeds. For some reason they left one pot alone and the corn was able to germinate. I didn't expect much from it, not having more corn to pollinate with it, so pretty much ignored it. Imagine our surprise when it grew 5 feet tall and yielded the best tasting sweet corn we had all season. This year I'm planting it again and will take the precautions to keep the squirrels out of it!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Submitted By:Nutfieldmom
From:New Hampshire, USA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 6, 2014
Submitted By:Nutfieldmom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big Disappointment
Reviewed On:January 6, 2014
"I planted 2 tubs with 10 seeds each and the rest in my square foot garden. I also planted a small bed of Trinity corn. The tubs never germinated even though I waited to plant until after the last frost date here in early June. A few sprouted in the garden and never had one ear. The trinity did well but the ears were smaller than expected and it is the end of my effort to grow corn. The farmstand nearby has plenty! Back to my tomatoes....."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:ReluctantPrepper
From:Central Valley, CA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:December 10, 2013
Submitted By:ReluctantPrepper
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Where is the corn?
Reviewed On:December 10, 2013
"I got pretty good germination and the plants grew quickly, but I waited and waited for corn. When I finally saw some small corn cobs devloping, they petered out and dried up while the plant was still thriving."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:BubbaNEPA
From:Northeastern PA
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:December 8, 2013
Submitted By:BubbaNEPA
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
so-so
Reviewed On:December 8, 2013
"I put the seed in pots & put the pots in the garden. It grew, but was never ripe. This item is more for looks. Don't plan on getting a bumper crop."