Product Reviews

Corn, On Deck Hybrid

And now on deck sweet corn! Ever so tasty breakthrough bicolor variety is perfectly sized—4-5' tall—to spend the summer on your deck, patio, or terrace, adding vertical interest as well as producing two to three delicious 7-8" long ears per stalk. This first-ever container-ready corn is a revolution—one you can enjoy from the comfort of your patio. Simply plant 9 seeds per 24" container and get ready to harvest in about 2 months! Supersweet (Sh2). For best germination results, make sure that soil temperature is above 55 degrees Fahrenheit prior to planting.
Average Customer Rating:
2.72 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Customer Reviews for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Review 1 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:tinygarden
From:Brunswick, OH, USA
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:September 18, 2014
Submitted By:tinygarden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patio Corn
Reviewed On:September 18, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"OMG, this came up way beyond my expectations. I planted it in 3 planters. Unfortunalety a little late in the season due to weather, but it came up. And when I picked it, it was SO delicious, tasted just like candy. I was very pleased with the results. Will definitely plant this again next year. It was so much fun, everyone kept saying it wasn't going to produce but it did and I got a couple dozen ears of corn from it. The early ones sizes were regular size and the others that got planted later were a bit shorter in length, but they tasted scumptuous."
Review 2 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:TheFatChef
From:Base of the Cascades, Western Washington
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 26, 2014
Submitted By:TheFatChef
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9+ feet tall, lots of corn, grown in recycled soil
Reviewed On:August 26, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Started in damp root plugs until they were about 4" tall # about a week#, I grew 3 batches of 10 ea. 10 days apart to spread out the harvest, then transplanted 5 ea.into 10 gallon garbage bag type grow bags. A friend of mine grows medical weed #it's legal here#, but he has a lot of used soil he can't re-use for his medical needs due to fertilizer build up.. I happily take all of it I can get my hands on, it's great stuff, and all organic. I live near Seattle on the western base of the Cascade mountains, I am literally at the base where the clouds stack up and drizzle rain all the time. What I'm saying is we don't have the best, or longest season for corn around here. The last batch of seedlings went outside on July 1st. it's August 26th today, and I harvested my first 5 ears. Great flavor, better than the local farm everyone goes to around here. My plants appear to have 3 or 4 ears per plant, and almost twice as tall as advertised. The plants get full sun from 10 am. until about 6pm. #8 hours per day# I hit them once with some granulated 20-20-20 fertilizer when they were about a foot tall, and I water them every day.
I have no idea why so many reviewers have had such a hard time with this container corn variety, my only advice is get great quality soil, and recycle as best as they allow in your area.. Vote to legalize people, the benefits out weigh the problems. Seek your cure in nature, not in laboratories. I would get off my soapbox now if I hadn't crushed it under my massive weight. The Fat Chef
"
Review 3 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Starlite
From:Wellington, NV
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:August 15, 2014
Submitted By:Starlite
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Great Short Corn
Reviewed On:August 15, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was reluctant but seeded my garden with about 50 plants/seeds.
I was a bit disappointed that only about half germinated.
But 2 months ++ later I had some of the most excellent corn ever.
I could never have grown any corn in my location without this 60-63 day corn.
Not all ears were like the photo but all tasted Great!
One other disappointment... Only 1 ear per plant though it did promise more only not to develop.
Maybe next year with a now better gardening technique.
"
Review 4 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:LittleFarmer333
From:Marmora, NJ
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 12, 2014
Submitted By:LittleFarmer333
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Reviewed On:August 12, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I tried this hybrid this year and just loved it!"
Review 5 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:NYSJT
From:Glendale (Queens), N.Y.
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:August 10, 2014
Submitted By:NYSJT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"On Deck Hits Home Run!"
Reviewed On:August 10, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Planted 10 seeds in TWO 16 " pots ( 5 each)..100% germination. Fertilized weekly, and hand pollinated (just to be sure) when the time was right. Harvested the sweetest and most tender corn that we have ever tasted ( 8 more are still on the stalks) yesterday. Planted new crop 13 days ago ( up and 3 " tall)."
Review 6 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:GuunyT
From:Oregon, USA
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:July 29, 2014
Submitted By:GuunyT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Container Corn
Reviewed On:July 29, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Had 7 ft stalks on 7/4. Ate our 1st ears 7/28. Yum"
Review 7 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:JoanieB
From:Zone 7
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 25, 2014
Submitted By:JoanieB
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right on track!
Reviewed On:July 25, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I had never grown corn before, nor had I ever grown vegetables in containers. Funnily enough, my corn did better than anything except my tomatoes! I planted more than 9 per container because I didn't do a good job of thinning (had about 15 per Smart Pot). I had no problems until this week when the grasshoppers moved in, but I will handle that ASAP, and I feel confident the textbook-type progress I've enjoyed so far will continue. Very pleased!"
Review 8 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Submitted By:BillieR
From:Ypsilanti, MI
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:July 17, 2014
Submitted By:BillieR
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really wanted to like this corn, but...
Reviewed On:July 17, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"...the germination rate was really bad, only about 25%. I followed the directions for in-ground sowing and got 9 plants out of 32 seeds. If any ears develop, I will probably have to hand-pollinate since the plants are fairly far apart. I hope to get at least a few ears, but unless 1) I get results, 2) get them before critters do, and 3) it is the most outstanding corn I've ever tasted, I won't be trying these again."
Review 9 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:AngieMac
From:Fort Lee, VA, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 10, 2014
Submitted By:AngieMac
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wonderful Germination
Reviewed On:July 10, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'm a first time gardening living on a military base and not wanting to deal with housing office rules on in-ground gardens, I opted for all container gardening. I planted this corn (along with all other produce) in Smart Pots that I got from my local nursery and I had 100% germination! I was ecstatic having never grown anything before this year but house plants. We've had an unusually wet summer but lots of high temps also. My corn plants aren't even a foot tall and I planted them 30 days ago. I have moved them farther away from the porch and around the corner so they get sun ALL DAY long, I suspect that they only got afternoon sun may have been my problem. Some fertilizer and a new location should help, I hope. Just wanted to share my germination success. This newbie gardener is happy so far. I enjoy giving things a try even if nothing happens. I consider it part of my learning and loads of fun! Will continue again next year."
Review 10 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Submitted By:OCDGardener
From:Louisiana, USA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 3, 2014
Submitted By:OCDGardener
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent taste, Easy to Grow, Poor Yields
Reviewed On:July 3, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This corn is extremely delicious. (I'd describe it as sweet, juicy, and milky). Corn will be ready to harvest in about 60 days. Each stalk produced one full sized ear of corn that was 7 inches in length with 16 rows of kernels.
The main drawback to this hybrid is that it produces only one good sized ear per plant. I grew about 8 plants in an Earthbox container, and I wonder if I would have gotten more ears of corn if I planted the plants in the ground or used a larger container.
I also agree with others: the germination wasn't the greatest, and I ended up resowing seed. I estimate my germination was about 60%.
When the plants matured, I was watering in the morning and afternoon. I placed the Box in a windy location so I didn't have any problems with pollination. Heck, it was so windy that the Box was turned over on at least two occasions.
Although the taste of the corn was excellent, I'm still not convinced that the five ears of corn that I've gotten so far were worth the time (two months) and space used to grow the plants."
Review 11 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:debb0421
From:D/FW, TX
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:June 28, 2014
Submitted By:debb0421
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loving This Corn!
Reviewed On:June 28, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We read about this corn in The Dallas Morning News and were excited to try it. I planted with the moon on 4/29 and I have 8 large ears as of today, 6/28. I've never grown corn and even if it didn't produce, I love the look of the plant on my patio. I'm excited to harvest and try my corn! There was enough seed for 3 households with one pot each. And we all planted about 2 weeks apart in different parts of Dallas/Fort Worth so we're a bit of a trial. I'm really enjoying this and will definitely plant again next year! Now, I just have to figure out when to harvest.. ha!"
Review 12 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:VegContainerGardener
From:NJ
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:June 19, 2014
Submitted By:VegContainerGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deck Corn Bumper Crop!
Reviewed On:June 19, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Last year we grew the Deck Corn, we had two containers with ten plants each. We harvested over two dozen sweet delicious ears of corn. It was easy to grow with daily tender loving care.
Again, this year we are growing the corn, except we are growing three containers hoping for three dozen corn. The corn is already two feet high."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:KLUMANCHU
From:Butler Pa.
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:February 23, 2014
Submitted By:KLUMANCHU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Corn Ever!
Reviewed On:February 23, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I must admit I was very skeptical about the claims made about this corn. I planted it in a 8x4x8 raised bed and was pleasantly surprised. I will admit we had a great growing season last year but this corn got huge growing 6-7ft tall easy. Most plants got two ears and they were long ears. It was by far the sweetest corn I ever tasted. I gave a few ears to friends and neighbors and they just raved about it saying the same thing. We got around 5 dozen ears out of that one raised bed. I still can't believe how sweet it was. Ordering some more today and expanding my beds just for it."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:Anthony
From:North Potomac, MD
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:January 4, 2014
Submitted By:Anthony
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sweet corn, fun to grow on my deck
Reviewed On:January 4, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The corn is very sweet, but here are some tips to obtain full cobs of corn. I planted the seeds indoors in large Styrofoam cups under grow lights. Once they were 16" tall, I transplanted them into "Mel's mix" (Google "Mel's mix" or "square foot gardening" to learn more). The stalks grow fast. Here is the real trick: Because corn pollinates using the wind, if you don't have a large corn field, your cobs won't pollinate. You need to help nature. When the tassels on top are ready to shed their pollen, shake them into a plastic container or bag. The pollen will fall off into your container. Swipe your finger to collect the pollen from the container and then apply the pollen on your finger to the silk. Each silk string needs a piece of pollen to develop a kernel of corn on the cob, so just keep smothering it. Google how to pollinate corn by hand. It's easy and not too time consuming. The corn was very sweet!"
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:KCKim
From:Kansas City
Region:Midwest
Reviewed On:December 13, 2013
Submitted By:KCKim
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Raccoons Love It
Reviewed On:December 13, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was pleased with the germination and the growth. It looked beautiful on my deck, next to the container water garden (a 2x2x4 galvanized stock tank). The ears developed very nicely. The raccoons loved it. And to think I'd made it all so convenient for them. . . food and water, side by side. Live and learn. I will grow this again next year, but erecting some kind of barrier to keep the raccoons from getting the corn before I do."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:smyrna2013
From:Smyrna, DE
Region:Northeast
Reviewed On:October 10, 2013
Submitted By:smyrna2013
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awsome Corn
Reviewed On:October 10, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"2013 was the first time I ever tried to grow sweet corn. I will say that this On Deck corn was by far sweeter than any corn I've had from any local farm stand in a long time. I planted three rows in my 4' by 12' garden bed and all of my seeds came up. Each stalk was well over 6ft tall and had at least 3 ears each, and all of the ears were nice and full and super sweet. I definitely will be growing this again for 2014. Thanks to Burpee for such an awesome corn!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Mom2gingers
From:Tidewater, VA
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:October 6, 2013
Submitted By:Mom2gingers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't wait for next season!
Reviewed On:October 6, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was fantastic! Thanks to our 2 four legged gardeners, we ended up with only 9 plants even though all but 1 sprouted. We had 13 super ears & a few odd ones, but I hope that was due more to our uneven rain pattern this spring. They were much tastier & less $$ than what I could get at the grocery store this summer. We are reserving extra space in next summer's garden!"
Review 18 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:Cjalonen
From:Seabeck, WA.
Region:Pacific Northwest
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Submitted By:Cjalonen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice surprise
Reviewed On:August 28, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I decided at the last minute to plant these in the ground instead of containers and we've been pretty happy with them. It was my first time growing corn, so I'm just happy to have corn at all. Each stalk that grew (only 20 of the 30 seeds in the packet came up) each have 2 ears of corn on them and the ones we've picked and eaten so far are divine. Some that are still left are pretty small and I'm not sure they're going to fill out as well - we stopped pollinating by hand a few weeks back, so maybe they didn't have enough help..."
Review 19 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Submitted By:texasmama6
From:fort worth,tx
Region:Southeast
Reviewed On:July 4, 2013
Submitted By:texasmama6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
somewhat great corn
Reviewed On:July 4, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I order this and put the seeds in my earthbox
it grew and grew,i had corns everywhere in late june I harvest about 8
big ears and 3 or 4 small ones!the taste was soooo sweet I did not need
any butter but I did anyway,so today we harvest the rest and was very disappointed
no more big corns and what was left all was dry up even after watering 2 time aday
and I gave them some nutrient also so the first pic is corn looking good for june and
the second pic show what I harvest today 7/4/13
"
Review 20 for Corn, On Deck Hybrid
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submitted By:HiddenMeadowsGardener
From:Escondido, CA, USA
Region:Southwest
Reviewed On:June 24, 2013
Submitted By:HiddenMeadowsGardener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic taste and great germination!
Reviewed On:June 24, 2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am a first time gardener and was determined to grow some corn in my 500 sq ft plot. I wanted to try On Deck as I figured it wouldn't need so much space. Seeds were planted directly in the soil and I used a floating row cover to keep bugs from being an issue while they sprouted, and of course, consistent moisture. I had easily 90% germination and the stalks have grown at least 8 feet tall! I fertilized with a balanced organic fertilizer at time of planting, in soil amended with compost and worm castings. Admittedly, I am confused at the dizzying height this corn reached, but since I am not using containers or restricted to a patio, the height has not been an issue. Weatherwise, we've had very little rain, so irrigation is drip tape, and spring has been the usual for this area with fluctuating highs between high 60's and high 80's.
There have been 2 ears per stalk, and they are huge and DELICIOUS! Far superior to the Sugar Dots I also planted. Very few of these ears have actually made it into the pot, as my family keeps stealing them from the garden and eating them raw. I will stick with this variety for next year!"